We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Comfort Hotel Dinard Balmoral(Dinard)(Great Value!)
$106
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$196
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$333
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel De La Vallee(Dinard)(Great Value!)
$155
$151
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$110
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel du Parc des Tourelles(Dinard)(Great Value!)
$98
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Crystal(Dinard)(Great Value!)
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (702)
Filter reviews
702 results
Traveler rating
404
194
77
20
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
404
194
77
20
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar hotelindoor poolsea viewroom serviceold stylefitness centerboiling waterhistoric buildingwithin an hourstaff were so helpfulnougattea bagsgood sizeeach eveningfantastic hotelstayed for nightscomfortable rooms
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 702 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Great hotel with friendly helpful staff. Bedrooms, good size and spotless. Wonderful breakfast buffet. Would recommend this hotel to any one with its perfect location good size pool every thing one would expect from a 5 star hotel. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: rooms with a balcony and sea view well worth extra cost
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorkshirelad14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualiteGH, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear "yorkshirelad14",

I am extremely grateful to find out your comment on Tripadvisor.

We utmost every day so our teams provide you with the best benefits and I am delighted to see good results.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Franck MARIE
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Dinard is close to Saint Malo, beatiful city with walls. So it´s okay to stay at Dinard, because the hotel is better than anyone at Saint Malo and you can also go to Mount St Michel.

The hotel is very comphortable with a big room and big bed. Excelent breakfast with a beatiful view!
You can walk down to shore and see Saint Malo and a lot of naval boats and yatchs.

You have a pool to swim and fitness center with bikes to use.

I would go back for sure!!!

The city itself is small with a casino and some restaurants (i ate at creperie Le Dauphin and it was very good!).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FernandoPMachado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualiteGH, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear "FernandoPMachado",

I am glad to see that you enjoyed your last stay in Dinard and I thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
Our hotel has just begun a new season after a winter break.
It has been a long time since your last stay, and we will, for sure, be more than happy to welcome you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Franck MARIE
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

3rd time of staying here. fantastic place, really friendly helpful staff - most have been there several years, so they are like their own little family, and all want to help the guests. Most speak English. Rooms always spotless, even the chambertmaids take pride in their work.
Great breakfasts, lots of choice. Reetaurant serves really good French food. Room service food is also wonderful.
Stayed in September, pool was virtually empty most days.
Parking a little expensive per day, you have to let them valet park it, but they look after your car in the hotel's secure car park.
Great location overlooking the bay with with views of St Malo. There is a road between the hotel and the beach / sea, but not a problem to us.
Several restaurants and shops in the town which is a 10 minute stroll from the hotel.
Would definately stay again.

Room Tip: If you can, book a seaview room, they have a small balcony overlooking the bay. You cna lay in bed looking at the bay, which has very high tides so the view constantly changes. If having a seaview room make sure its not on the first floor as you are right above the bar. Executive Seaview rooms are bigger and are in the other part of the hotel (slightly quieter). Rooms don't have aircon but ask if you need it, as they have portable units
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualiteGH, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear "Neil D",

I am delighted that we still have your confidence and I renew our thanks for your loyalty and for your new comment.
We definitly looking forward to your next stay in Dinard.

With kindest regards,

David DEVANTOY-MANDIN
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just returned from a short, three day break at this hotel and can highly recommend it.

It's location is perfect, the public rooms, bedrooms and pool area are what you'd expect from a 5 star hotel. The buffet style breakfast was exemplary.

Best and most important of all are the staff who make you feel welcome and are always polite and friendly.

Check out Brittany Ferries, they have some great hotel and ferry package deals.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtoZers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualiteGH, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear "AtoZers",

I warmly thank you for your nice comment. It reflects what our teams work on a daily basis: the well-being of our clients!
Waiting for your next stay in Dinard.

With kindest regards,

David DEVANTOY-MANDIN
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Lovely room with a very comfy bed, nice bathroom and minibar/safe in room. There was a very narrow balcony but we were on the top floor, so we didnt really use it apart from to let a bit of air into the room. There is valet car parking (€20 per day). There is also a swimming pool on site. The food in the restuarant was very good, but also very expensive, so if on a budget this would not be the hotel to come to. I though that the breakfast choice, while OK, could have been better. The hotel is centrally located in Dinard, and its nice to do the coastal walk from opposite the hotel round the headland back into the main town. Apart from being a bit expensive, this was a very good hotel which I would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualiteGH, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear "kelty_in_Brum",

We would like to thank you for your comment and are looking forward to your next visit in Dinard.

Best regards,

David DEVANTOY-MANDIN
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews