We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Dinard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Hotel is very nice, very traditional, room are not very big but you do have separate toilets and bathroom.
The room was very hot and no air conditioning, shame as it was very hot.
Pillow were very soft too.
Good thing was the car park (at a charge)
It is ok for 1 or 2 nights.

Room Tip: must of rooms have see view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerseyLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualiteGH, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear "JerseyLB",

All the Grand Hôtel Barrière's team is joining me to thank you for your feedback.
It is true that the last few days were very hot, but we hope we still have your confidence and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon in Dinard.
Kindest regards,

David DEVANTOY-MANDIN
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (691)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 691 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012

I never write reviews, only ever read them. But this hotel was so good I felt I should write one. Grand Barriere is a beautiful hotel with great service. Room was serviced three times a day. All the staff were friendly, helpful and very attentive. Food was delicious - the only slight niggle was that our half board menu never changed. However, there was a different "chef's suggestion" every night which I usually had and they were all lovely. Beds were really comfortable. Indoor pool was the nicest I have ever experienced at a hotel. Hotel staff made children very welcome and catered for them well. Dinard is a great place to stay with children (mine are 12 and 8). Lovely beaches and interesting shops. Nice walks and boat trips.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Holidaymaker0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualiteGH, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Dear "Holidaymaker0712",

Thank you for such a nice feedback. All the Grand Hotel Barriere's team is looking forward to welcoming you again soon in Dinard with your family.

Kindest regards,

David DEVANTOY-MANDIN
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The welcome by the hotel staff was friendly.
No coffee facilities in the bedroom and we would have expected a bit of a bigger bathroom for a superior room in a 5 stars hotel.
Clean room and comfortable bed but decoration a bit dated. Very good valet parking although quite expensive.
Amazing breakfast and great location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank axeld210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualiteGH, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Dear "axeld210",

I would to thank you for your comment.
We hope to see you again soon in Dinard and make you discover other room categories in the Hotel.

Best regards,

David DEVANTOY-MANDIN
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

First visit to this particular Barriere, and definitely will not be our last. Loved it!! Service was excellent, reception was friendly efficient and very helpful. We were upgraded to a superior room which was a bonus. Small balcony with sea view. Perfect. Well appointed rooms, comfortable beds - plenty of space. Spotlessly clean. Good housekeeping service. Covered swimming pool very clean and loads of towels.
The gardens although small were beautifully kept, with a few sun loungers. Large terrace with tables and chairs. Easy access to the St. Malo, Dinan, Ferry and great 'promenade' all around the edge of the town coastline. Well situated in the town. Easy to find. Main drawback is lack of parking, and the fee for secure parking is 22 euro per night, which is a bit steep, as there is no alternative. Street parking is impossible as the residents are usually parked first. We were half board, and on reflection now knowing the amount of seafood restaurants in St. Malo etc., we would next time, book bed and breakfast and perhaps have one meal at the Hotel. Having said that the food was excellent and the service first class. The oysters and lobster and sole were amazing!
The Bar 33 is very good, with jazz music and a good atmosphere - inside and out. Again the staff were very efficient and friendly.
We shall definitely return and much prefer this Barriere to the others we have have visited so far!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Time Travellers' Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Dear "Time Travellers' Wife",

I love reading this kind of comment. They are the evidence of the efforts that our teams provide every day to satisfy our customers.
In addition, you describe very well our establishment and for all of this, we thank you again.
I forward to welcoming you soon again to Dinard.

Warmest regards,

David DEVANTOY-MANDIN
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We hadn't booked this hotel but found it after a long day of travel. We got a sea view room with nice amenities but no air conditioning. You pay to park your car. You pay for Wi Fi. They had a very nice breakfast with a good selection of food, not included in your stay. You might find it the best place in the area but pretty much everything will be a la carte. The duvets were way too hot for summer sleep.

Room Tip: Be aware you will pay for extras at every turn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pejncj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Dear "Pejncj",

We thank you for your comment submitted to the attention of Internet users.

What you tell is quite correct.

However be aware that a large number of package are bookable online or by phone. Some include breakfast, other meals, others still include some activities. Then everyone is free to find which suits him and the best rate throughout the year.

We look forward to your next stay at the Grand Hôtel Barrière so that you verify this by yourself.

Best regards,

David DEVANTOY-MANDIN
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Our three-night stay at the Grand Hotel Barriere was an excellent experience starting with the warm welcome from valet Joel (sp?) and Emanuelle at reception to the handsome dining room offering delicious food and fine service as well as the beautiful views of St. Malo from our room. The most exceptional experience was the chef's offer at our second dinner to prepare an apple tart tatin for dessert which was not on the menu but is one of my favorites. We hope one day to return.

Room Tip: We felt choosing a room with a full view across the water was worth the extra cost. What charm we f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualite-GrandHotel, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2012

Dear "susan b",

We are delighted that your stay went well, and we have forwarded your thanks to our teams.
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon in Dinard,
Yours sincerely

David DEVANTOY-MANDIN
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This hotel/resort is simply top drawer in every respect. All of the staff that we encountered during our brief 2 night stay were some of the kindest and most helpful in all of my 20+ years of international travels e.g., Sophie, Thierry...

In all honesty, I'm actually a bit selfishly ambivalent about singing too loudly the praises of this resort and Dinard at large - since It's mystifying to us as to why this absolutely stunning /elegant town does not seem to get the same level of international recognition / buzz that other towns in the Emerald Coast enjoy; Our group unanimously preferred Dinard to any of the other "usual suspects" of the area that seem to get all the attention in the travel forums etc. We definitely would love to return to this very special part of France and would consider no other hotel. Thank you all for a truly unforgettable stay!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bremar67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualite-GrandHotel, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2012

Dear "Bremar67",

We thank you from the bottom of the heart for this very sincere testimony that we have shared with pleasure with our team.
We will be more than happy to welcome you again in Dinard and show you that our beautiful region still has many secrets to deliver.
Waiting for your next stay,

Sincerely,

David DEVANTOY-MANDIN
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dinard
0.2 mi away
Royal Emeraude Dinard - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Castelbrac
Castelbrac
#1 of 22 in Dinard
395 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Thalassa Dinard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Le Grand Hotel des Thermes Marins de St-Malo
2.3 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#4 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,922 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#6 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel

Address: 46 avenue George V | Bp 70143, 35800 Dinard, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Dinard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dinard
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dinard
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dinard
Price Range: $236 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1859 the majestic, white facade has contemplated Saint-Malo bay. The first hotel built in what was to become THE sea-side resort on the Emerald Coast was initially named the Hotel de Dinard, before becoming the Grand Hotel Barriere de Dinard. Renovated by expert decorator Jacques Garcia, the hotel offers the utmost elegance, comfort and finery. Situated 45 min. Away from Mont Saint Michel, Dinard the "elegant" is all yours: the sea air and spray, the palm trees, the sea gulls, the beaches, the golf clubs by the sea, the Casino, Port BRETON tennis courts, midnight strolls, Dinard market and the hotel's heated pool, wellbeing at the ESPACE BIEN ETRE, Sauna and steamroom, lazing on the terrace and in the gardens facing the bay, summer jazz brunches, cocktails at "333 cafe", dinners at the blue. B, facing the sea, buffet breakfasts watching the sun comes up: could this sum up the good life combined with discrete luxury? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Dinard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing