We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Chez la Mere Pourcel
Ranked #11 of 137 Restaurants in Dinan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $33
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
monmouthshire
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This restaurant was listed as one which we were considering, during our three night stay in Dinan, and when it was recommended by the hotel receptionist that it was her favourite, we went one evening.
It is situated in Place des Merciers, a very attractive part of the old town, and the interior of the restaurant itself is excellent. The staff are attentive and professional.
Regrettably the choices we made can only be described as moderate.
The house pate was not just cold, but frozen, and subsequently tasteless, the lamb shank, served in a iron pot was OK, but some additional vegetables, other than the potatoes served with the shank, would have been welcomed. My wife's choice of duck, was tough in texture, and lacked supporting vegetables.
Again, the desserts were poor, cold, practically frozen chocolate, which detracted from what is a very attractive space.
Of our three dinner experiences in Dinan, this was the lest memorable.
I/we would not return

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clementMonmouthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    222
    56
    27
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“evening meal”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The food and surroundings were very good but the attitude of the staff could have been much better!We had duck and lamb shank cooked with vegetables in iron pots and the meat was very tender and the whole taste was excellent.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Elegant dining and excellent VFM in the heart of Dinan”
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

The dining room is a lovely space - tall, baronial - giving a real sense of occasion. The menu is full of classic French cuisine - everything we had was beautifully cooked and presented. We chose the 'Menu Complet' which included an aperitif, choice of starter, main and desert from the a la carte menu, 50cl of wine and 50cl of water per couple, and coffee for €35pp, which we felt was excellent vfm.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daddyfact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very tasty”
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Oysters, salmon, meat, panacota (ordered twice) - very tasty and fast. We are happy ;) steak with mashed potatoes (mashed could be ordered by request) is perfect!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Khmelevskoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had a tea break here on a cruise ship excursion in May. The tables outside were enjoyable but the tea was tasteless. The croissants were tasty though. Obviously hard to judge the food as we only had a little snack but the building is historic and perhaps it is worth trying for lunch when back in Dinan.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steph2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez la Mere Pourcel also viewed

Dinan, Cotes-d'Armor
Dinan, Cotes-d'Armor
 
Dinan, Cotes-d'Armor
 

Been to Chez la Mere Pourcel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing