We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel de la Porte Saint-Malo
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$152
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveler rating
169
103
14
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
169
103
14
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade jamsbreadgarden roomold townsmall hotelyogurtno liftgreat hostseuro breakfastheight of summerstayed two nightsfive minute walkfantastic stayan ideal locationlovely townstreetcentre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 293 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have just spent two nights at this gorgeous hotel in this idyllic town and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a lovely room with a courtyard on both sides and the room was nice and comfortable. Stephanie and Laurent are the perfect hosts, making us feel very welcome and they provided all the information we needed for our stay. They even tried to help out with our rental car problem, which was beyond the call of duty. This hotel is ideally placed just outside the old city walls and is the perfect place to stay in his picturesque lovely town. We highly recommend it to all!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Recently stayed with 2 companions on our annual cycling sojourn to Brittany. A beautiful hotel just outside the Porte de St Malo gate. Easy walking into town.Quaint and charming hotel, very comfortable room and bathroom. Breakfast area and public spaces very clean and well furnished with a small but comfortable lounge area adjacent to reception. Very good value for money and nothing too much trouble for the owners who went out of their way to offer advice on restaurants to try etc. The welcome we had when we arrived with loaded bikes on a very hot September day was amazing and enabled 3 weary travellers to secure our bikes and back packs quickly and enjoy one of our favourite towns in Brittany. A delightful hotel,run by lovely people. Will use again for sure!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent G, Propriétaire at Hotel de la Porte Saint-Malo, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Bonsoir

We deeply wish to thank you for your message. We keep one very good memory of your passage at our hotel. We hope to welcome you again soon with your friends or your family!!

Stéphanie et Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Warm welcome from the owners. The hotel was comfortable, clean and good value for money. It was within easy walking distance of the old part of Dinan. The only criticism I would make was that the bathroom was a bit small.
A perfect hotel for an overnight stop before catching the 10:30 ferry from St Malo to the UK

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DC1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We recently spent two nights at this charming hotel. While a bit difficult to find (even with, or perhaps because of) a GPS, the location and parking situation couldn't be better. The owners were friendly and helpful and there was a little library in the lobby/common area with all sorts of guide books and info on the area available for perusal. I am certain that on a cold winter's night sitting by the fire place would make for a fabulous evening, however in our case we were just as grateful for the A/C in our room. The breakfast was indeed excellent, with homemade jams and croissants and plenty on offer. We had a superior room that overlooked a little courtyard. The one suggestion I would make to the owners would be to upgrade the towels--and perhaps a little night-light in the bathroom. Our room was spacious and the bed extremely comfortable. You cannot go wrong here. If I am ever fortunate enough to return to Dinan, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent G, Propriétaire at Hotel de la Porte Saint-Malo, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Bonsoir,

Thank you for taking the time to write this nice comment.
It makes us really happy. We hope to welcome you again!
Again thank you

Stéphanie and Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our family of two adults and one child (4-years-old) stayed two nights at this quaint hotel a month ago. We had a triple room, and we slept comfortably each night. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Upon check-in, Stephanie helpfully gave us a map and showed us the town's main attractions on it. The hotel is located about a 5 or 10-minutes walk into the main part of the town, and the walk is quite a pleasant one. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden are quiet, but there are hardly any traffic on the road once it gets dark.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Expat_Gourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews