We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Base For Exploring Dinan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de la Porte Saint-Malo
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Dinan
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Great Base For Exploring Dinan”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is a gem of a hotel for any planned visit to the beautiful walled town of Dinan. Kath and I stayed here for three nights during a recent motorcycle tour of Brittany, and enjoyed the hospitality of the owners and the comforts provided by this characterful small hotel. The hotel has been created by the sympathetic conversion of four stone-built terraced cottages. In addtiton to the comortable bedrooms, the breakfast room and open-plan lounge area provide a surprising amount of space for this type of hotel. The breakfast itself was particularly good, with a range of petit-pains and meltingly fresh croissants & delicious jams.
The hotel is literally five minutes walk from the restaurants located in the old town, and is ideally placed for the two 'official' walking tours of Dinan.
As mentioned by other reviewers, car parking is limited. However, touring motorcyclists and cyclists are very well catered for, with free secure parking.
Dinan makes a great stop for a first/final night after/before taking the St Malo ferry. Kath and I will defintily be returning to Dinan - and we will be looking no further for accommodation than the Hotel de la Porte Saint-Malo.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samphireskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    103
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
74
143
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Chosen because of its excellent feedback this 15 room hotel certainly lived up to expectations.
We travelled there by car and the journey looked simple on the map but with its narrow cobbled streets, some of our fellow guests had had problems finding it. Hence a sat nav, even an old one like ours (Dinan has changed little over many years) proved invaluable to find Rue St Malo without getting lost.
My wife and I had a double room that was pretty spacious, light, very clean and with a fresh smell. The double bed had a firmish matress and was very comfortable – I slept well on both nights of our stay. The en-suite bathroom was similarly spacious with a decent sized bath within which was the shower. There was also ample storage/wardrobe space and having free wi-fi available was very useful. We found a small veranda close to our room with a table and chairs where we enjoyed a picnic lunch. As has been our experience with other French hotels, there were there were no tea/coffee making facilities or a fridge.
The hotel does not provide lunch or dinner but does provide a very good continental breakfast buffet for 8 euros per person when we stayed. As other guests have commented, the owners are very welcoming, helpful and both speak English.
It provides a good base for looking round Dinan and many of the top rated restaurants are within easy walking distance as are a whole variety of shops. Overall, we were delighted with our choice which we felt was good value for money. We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Docja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfail, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Pleasant hosts, great freshly cooked breakfast with large double room. Easy walking access through town gate to charming medieval town. Our room had pleasant views over roofs into the countryside. A little difficult to find but GPS was reliable. Parking is limited to a very small public car park across the street or on the narrow nearby streets.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allandeb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel was situated in a very convenient location (once we found it!). The owners were very welcoming and helpful, giving us a good idea of where to go and eat. Breakfast was a typically good French breakfast - lovely bread and croissants. Bedroom and bathroom were fine. Car parking was very convenient. We'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here in mid June en route to La Vendee. Liked it so much we stayed on our way back to the Channel Ferry some week later.
Run by a charming couple who go out of their way to accommodate your needs. A great selection at breakfast, a mini bar run on an honesty basis; so unusual and refreshing in this day and age - all in all a real find and all at a reasonable price

Room Tip: The Garden rooms are loveley and overlook a courtyard/terrace/garden where you can take drinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STAMFORD c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had just one night stop over here on the way to the Ferry but wished we had booked for longer! This little hotel (15 rooms) is charming and perfectly located just two minutes from the ancient ramparts and St Malo gate into the old city. The hotel is simply but beautifully decorated and maintained,the small breakfast room and lounge area having a nautical theme, lots of lovely prints of boats, and tables with crisp white linens. We don't take breakfast but it was laid out with fruits, yoghurts, Croissants... far more than the standard hard rolls, ham and cheese you so often encounter in european hotels! Our room overlooked the cobbled street and I was a little concerned at the potential for traffic noise but the owners reassurance that this stopped by the evening was accurate and it was a very peaceful area. The room itself was spotlessly clean, large and airy, in creams and white decor and had a large shower/bathroom en-suite, plenty wardrobe space, a very comfortable bed and satellite TV...although all the channels were French ones. My only little niggle was no coffee/ tea making facilities in the room...but then thats pretty standard in Europe....and the owner Laurent ( not sure i spelt that correctly!) helpfully supplied a tea tray for us in the afternoon! There is no parking at the hotel but directly across the street is a free carpark so no great worry there.
As to location, this has to be one of the best in the price range. A five minute stroll brought you deep into the centre of the medieval city of Dinan which is simply stunning with its narrow alley ways and steep cobbled streets leading down to the waterfront cafes and shops...and don't miss the view from the road bridge! There were lots of artisan shops, cafes, Creperies and restaurants to choose from along with the fabulous churches, museum, chateaux and ancient houses. With only one night in town we made our way to La Cantorbrey, a traditional restaurant which is not the cheapest but worth every penny for the most fabulous food and ambiance.
We loved ours stay here and plan to go back for longer next time. Fro price, location and just the nicest little hotel and location we'll be booking at hotel De La Porte Saint-Malo!

Room Tip: The owner was happy to show us a couple of free rooms and allow us to chose!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesBluejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

It is hard to add anything that hasn't already been said in previous reviews the hotel is clean the staff are friendly and its in a perfect location,and if you are concerned regarding the safety of your car for a modest 3 euro you can use a lock up garage around the corner.We did not have breakfast so cannot comment
There has been some comments regarding finding this hotel when using a sat nav, and it all depends on which road you enter Dinan on,if you are coming from the direction of Rennes your sat nav will direct you over a bridge and ask you to turn right and then try to direct you through the cobbled streets of the town which can be a little confusing, my advise is not to turn right after the bridge but turn left, your sat nav will for a short while ask you to do a U Turn, carry on going around the town wall in a clock wise direction and with a few minutes your sat nav will direct you right to the hotel, if you prefer to use your map it could take you some time to locate

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dinan hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Dinan Port
Mercure Dinan Port
#1 of 16 in Dinan
613 reviews
0.4 mi away
ibis Styles Dinan Centre Ville
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 16 in Dinan
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Arvor
Hotel Arvor
#3 of 16 in Dinan
615 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel le Challonge
Hotel le Challonge
#5 of 16 in Dinan
379 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel & Residence Hoteliere Duguesclin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Porte Saint-Malo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Porte Saint-Malo

Property: Hotel de la Porte Saint-Malo
Address: 35 rue Saint Malo, 22100, Dinan, France
Location: France > Brittany > Cotes-d'Armor > Dinan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Dinan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Porte Saint-Malo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de la Porte Saint-Malo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing