We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant find - pretty location”
Review of Mercure Dinan Port

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Dinan Port
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Dinan
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A pleasant find - pretty location”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This review is a bit late as we stayed in June for three nights after travelling up from the South of France. My husband had previously stayed here on a golfing trip and I was pleasantly surprised how good it was for our short stay.

Our spacious double room overlooked the inner courtyard swimming pool and was modern, clean with a very good bathroom. The hotel is situated riverside, with good outdoor space to enjoy snacks and drinks whilst watching the world go by. A very pretty setting with quaint little cafes dotted along the pavement walkway on the way to town. Yes, the cobbled road leading up to town is steep, but you don't have to be a mountain goat to climb it, although I'm sure it would help!
There is a fantastic restaurant (can't remember the name) just at the start of the 'climb', on the left. Tables outside and open fire cooking inside. It was always busy, lunch and dinner, we had two wonderful meals there and highly recommend it.

If you do go up into town, there are some little artisan shops on the way and historic buildings. Great for photographs. Like many French towns, it had great restaurants, shops and a fair bit to see.

The hotel restaurant was very good in the evening, and breakfast was fine too although a
little chaotic first thing in the morning when we were there. All in all a great stay, staff very helpful and would definitely return.

Room Tip: A Room facing the pool, with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    282
    53
    14
    4
See reviews for
71
419
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed here in November. This was an excellent find. Superb location next to the River, very close to excellent restaurants, although the Hotel restaurant was very good, itself. Nice walk (provided you are OK climbing cobbled streets for 15 mins) to the old town, where there is lots to browse.
The hotel had an outside pool but we had a every evening in the Jacuzzi for 15 mins - fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilHield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The rooms were comfortable and clean, the breakfast was good, but compared to other properties around it is a bit soulless. Don't be deceived the town is a mighty walk up a very steep hill, we are all fairly fit and found it a challenge especially in the rain, being slippery. Admittedly it is a quiet location, but it is a bit too quiet, maybe different in the summer? The heart of Dinan is definitely up the hill and the so called port are a few pontoons at best.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisandKayCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Nice modern rooms. Very clean and comfortable. Good showers and plenty of hot water. Nice but small swimming pool and good gym. Helpful staff. However,breakfast too expensive. Four of us had a good breakfast nearby for marginally over what it would have cost for one at the hotel.

Room Tip: If you have children they have some rooms that are adjoining
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed here before, but this time we booked a room with a balcony. Very nice it was too. The rooms are beautifully refurbished and spacious. Huge bathroom with walk in shower, and the balcony overlooked the pool. We've always encountered friendly staff which are happy to help. Breakfast was impressive, with a huge selection of continental items, cereals and even sausage, eggs and beans. Put simply, it's a comfy friendly hotel with lovely food. (And free wifi!). Will stay again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ski25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was the best hotel we stayed in during our recent visit to France. All of the rooms have been refurbished and are first-rate. And the air conditioning system is also first rate. And the breakfast is fabulous, with lots of choices, both hot and cold. And the staff is also first-rate. In a nutshell, you will not be disappointed in this hotel. We loved it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luvglf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dinan hotels
0.6 mi away
ibis Styles Dinan Centre Ville
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arvor
Hotel Arvor
#3 of 16 in Dinan
622 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 16 in Dinan
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel le Challonge
Hotel le Challonge
#5 of 16 in Dinan
381 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Connetable
Le Connetable
#7 of 16 in Dinan
247 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel & Residence Hoteliere Duguesclin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Dinan Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Dinan Port

Property: Mercure Dinan Port
Address: 26 Quai Des Talards, 22100, Dinan, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Jerzual)
Location: France > Brittany > Cotes-d'Armor > Dinan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dinan
#4 Family Hotel in Dinan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Dinan Port 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Dinan Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Jerzual
Best Western Dinan
Dinan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing