We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$103
$98
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (754)
Filter reviews
754 results
Traveler rating
325
342
64
17
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
325
342
64
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolthe riverlovely locationdinan portthe air conditioningsteep walkmodern hotelmain townriverside locationopposite bankold townplenty of parkinggood sizecomfortable roomexcellent parkinglarge showerst malo
Filter
Updating list...
254 - 259 of 754 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I booked a table so was expecting a smooth transition to our table. A waiter seated us and then another came and said "this is reserved you will have to move". Under sufferance we moved. I double checked the table was in fact booked before we booked, the waiter said "yes". I can't work out what this place wants to be. It has the really snooty waiting staff you expect in a top class restaurant but the difference was they didn't do anything. We served ourselves our own water and wine...very odd. The food was good. The menu clearly states starter and main or main and dessert is €21. We ordered one starter, two main and one dessert - no doubt you can do the maths. The waiter brought a bill charging the a la carte prices. I checked with him and pointed out the error. Unbelievably, he threw my bank card on the table and disappeared, reappearing shortly witha new bill but guess what he only acknowledged one "prix fixe" and charge full a la carte price for the other. I was past caring so I paid. I could tell he was fed up at not getting a tip.

In summary, what a shame - the food was excellent, the weather and location was excellent but for reasons I cannot fathom the waiting staff were snooty without the service.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Gingetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Once again we had a wonderful experiemce with a Best Western hotel. We arrived in this beautiful village of Dinan looking for a hotel with secure parking as we have been travelling for over 3 months with lots of luggage. The tourist information said it was impossible to get private parking so we headed out and were fortunate to find this hotel on the river side and only a 10 minute walk up to the walled city. It was perfect, the rooms were large and comfortale and very modern, with tea and coffee provided. The off street parking was very secure, and the location was perfect, very quiet but close to restaurants and cafes, and a short walk to the town centre.

Room Tip: The walk up to the village centre can be difficult for less active/mobile people, however there is a little train that goes down to the street across from the hotel and back up to the village.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gayle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is a pleasant hotel next to the river, with very nice views.

The rooms are plain but adequate. We paid a little extra for a room with a terrace overlooking the swimming pool.

Positive points - the location as said above; pleasant and efficient staff, plenty of private but free parking, in-room safe and tea/ coffee making equipment.

Not much negative - lack of drawer and shelf space, which is common in hotels these days and a real irritant to me.

On arrival the receptionist asked us if we wanted a table for dinner, as there were only two left, and for the following night there were none. This did not affect us as we were going out, but I must say that I would not be very pleased if I checked into a hotel and they could not provide me with dinner if I wanted it.

Room Tip: pay extra for one with a terrace
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lawrieinnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This hotel is excellent from every aspect ,great receptionists ,beautiful food and staff willing to make your stay as enjoyable as possible ,the staff have a very caring attitude towards customers and the restaurant staff were excellent ,the food overall was superb ,and the hotel location is lovely ,with lovely walks .

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool were very quiet
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernadette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This is a lovely hotel in an idyllic location. It lies directly on the river Rance, with all the boats tied up in the so called ‘port’ opposite. The views are lovely, and it is very tranquil sitting by the river and walking alongside it.
There were a couple of things that we were slightly disappointed about:- mainly the rooms are a bit small and there is not a lot of storage space for a long stay. We were there for a week, and had a lot of things with us as the weather was so variable. There is a decent size hanging wardrobe with one and a half shelves over it. We just about managed. I think for most people it would be easier as they wouldn’t be there for so long, or have so much stuff!
Having said that, the refurbished rooms are very nicely done, the air con good, (you have to close the window to get it to work, no one told us and we kept saying it wasn’t working!) There is a safe in the wardrobe. The shower was quite good and has a choice of a fixed head or flexible. No baths, but I knew that in advance. The bath towels are rather small, but that was easily remedied as they are happy to give you large towelling bath robes to use during your stay. The bed was enormous and very comfy. Everything was very clean with clean towels daily and clean bedding every other day.
There are a lot of nice little touches that make up for anything lacking. Firstly, there is a kettle and cups with little biscuits in the bedrooms, something that we haven’t seen in French hotels before. Secondly a small fresh bottle of water is left every day. Biscuits are also available in a bowl at reception to help yourself from. English newspapers are available daily by reception for anyone to take.
The staff in this hotel really help to make the stay good. Everyone was very charming and helpful and spoke excellent English. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. One even found a recipe online for me!
Outside there is a pleasant little pool, quite warm, and sunbeds and umbrellas, plus a little area to sit and have a drink. The pool has a lid that closes at night and when it is cold, to keep the heat in.
The food in the hotel is very good. Breakfast is self service, with a really good choice of cereals, fruits, yoghurts, cold meats, cheese, breads, cakes, croissants, scrambled eggs and cooked meats, and more. So many delicious things to ensure putting on weight!
We ate dinner twice in the hotel and the food was excellent too. The prices were not expensive and matched the other restaurants opposite, all of which also had good food. The service in the hotel restaurant and bar was good at all times.
Dinan centre is a 15-20 minutes walk up a cobbled street overhung by medieval houses, - breathtakingly lovely. There is a great market on Thursdays, and the castle – museum and old walls are worth a visit. Down by the river, on the opposite side of the hotel is a lovely house once owned by a local artist who left it to the town. It is open as a museum of the time and full of her paintings. Also worth a visit.
Altogether a lovely place to visit and a good friendly hotel to stay in with good food.
By the way, if you are going soon ring the hotel and get directions as the little bridge leading to that side of the river is closed. Although they sent us directions we still got hopelessly lost even with two sat navs, mainly because that side of the river is in Lanvallay, the next little town. So if you are using a sat nav put in Lanvallay not Dinan.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the swimming pool are nicer.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank musicmaam2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews