We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where you want to be!”
Review of Hotel Arvor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Arvor
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Dinan
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Where you want to be!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We should have written this review 9 months ago, but better late than never....

First a little about your reviewers. We are a couple in our early 40s, and have travelled extensively through work and business.

We stayed for two nights in late May 2013.

THE PROS:

- LOCATION - This is situated right in the lovely town. Step out and you can begin your enchanted walk.

There is parking right at the hotel, but it is very tight and will almost certainly be full. But, they always somehow managed to jockey cars to find space (one of the reasons to always try to get as small a car as possible in Europe). RESERVE your parking in advance, given the limited space.

- BUILDING - Charming exterior, and a bit of a labyrinth inside --- Classic, urban old world.

- ROOM - Tasteful decoration, clean and a little bit tight (as typical in Europe)
- bathroom decent and warm shower.

- HOSPITALITY - Always helpful, though sometimes a bit difficult to find

- VALUE - Very good. Much better than any hotel in brand hotel.

THE CONS:

- Wifi was officially available in the room, but didn't take


SUMMARY: A very good choice for a stay in Dinan: great location, clean, good comfort at a good price.

TRIP TIP:
Have galettes at Crêperie Ahna! It's about a 5 minutes stroll down from the hotel. Great variety and delicious, probably the best we had from Rouen to here. (Better than Paris.) It fills quickly too!

Also, from the other edge of the old town, walk down to the water and walk to the rivers edge which is so picturesque. There is also a lovely little town just a little ways down the river (I can't recall the name). We drove (about 10-15min), but it would be a gorgeous bike ride along the river to it, or even a long walk.

Beautiful area :)

Enjoy!

GlobalTime

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank GlobalTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    228
    63
    13
    5
See reviews for
104
369
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, CA
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is a lovely little hotel in the very heart of the old city. We parked our car in the tiny lot and never used it again. Reception desk people were so friendly and helpful. Rooms were fine --it is an old building, so our room was small, but we were only there to sleep. Breakfast was the typical French style --a basket of breads, good coffee, yogurt, jams. I think it was $10 E which is terrible, but typical. We enjoyed a Vietnamese restaurant less than 1/2 block away --SUCH a nice change from the typical Normandy food. We actually ate there two nights. (never did get the fascination with a crepe for dinner ). Love the medieval ambience of old town Dinan and just walked about on the ancient ramparts, etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgal5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

hotel is nice and located just in the center. receptionist is really kind and helpful.
Room was little small but clean and warm and toilet amenities were ok for one person but not for 2 people (toothbrush and toothpaste not provided). Breakfast was ok, but a little bit pricy. We choose the hotel because of the reviews and we were expecting something unforgettable, being in Asia for long term may have been risen our expectation and I was a little disappointed once we did the check in.
I'd say that globally hotel is nice and good but misses its "magic" that it seems to be looking for.
If you are traveling by car I would suggest to reserve your spot on the parking area of the hotel (5 euro is less that what you could pay in other parking area)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frikkinaincina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Dinan on a weekend away and had a wonderful time. The first night we stayed in La Maison Pavie. One of the owners had a small hotel La Puis d'Angle near Chaumont en Vexin which I'd stayed in while working in the area. The new property in Dinan has the same little touches of detail which just made it a joy to stay in. Clean, very comfortable and good value for money!!!
Jerome recommended a nearby creperie for dinner which I'd also give 10 out of 10 especially after a glass of their vanilla infused rum, sensational!!
Then sadly no room in the Inn for our last night and Jerome recommended Hotel Arvor which again ticked all the boxes.
Dinan is a beautiful medieval city with spectacular views of the river from t he town walls! A relatively easy drive from Dunkirk and a fabulous weekend!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrogatedazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxime J, Propriétaire at Hotel Arvor, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your welcoming comments. We do indeed have a lovely location and hope many visitors enjoy it as much as you .
We hope to see you again if you come back in Dinan,
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We saw this hotel on the Brittany Ferries offers website. We like Dinan and thought it would be a good place to take my mother and her friend.
The hotel proved to be a really good choice: close to the old town. Our rooms were small but comfortable and nicely furnished. The breakfast was more than adequate with delicious homemade jams, croissants and tasty French bread.
The bar was quite pricey and much smaller than anticipated but comfortable and cosy.
The only downside was our trip was Sunday to Tuesday. Many restaurants and shops were closed. The lady who checked us in gave us a leaflet with local attractions. She suggested a few restaurants we should find open- unfortunately she was wrong and we struggled to find suitable places to eat and shop. It didn't spoil the trip completely though.
We would certainly stay here again on a visit to Dinan.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazda5Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, USA
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Although we prefer mostly B&B-type accommodations when traveling in Europe, an occasional small boutique hotel is a welcome break. Hôtel Arvor on the edge of Dinan’s medieval quarter was perfect. Our room was a beautiful corner room with windows on two sides, providing a wonderful view of the old clock tower, etc. What a location! Just stroll down the street and you’re immersed in history and surrounded by amazing old buildings. The hotel staff was wonderful, offering maps and dining suggestions. For dinner, we chose a great restaurant about a half block from our front door. If you’re traveling by car, on-site parking is available in advance at a very reasonable rate. We paid for breakfast in the morning which fit the bill. (I guess I should add this footnote: we traveled a full month throughout France, seventeen different accommodations, and not a single uncomfortable bed or inadequate bathroom. In fact, all were amazing. And yes, we reserved all accommodations in advance, always checking TripAdvisor when available.)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbgrimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxime J, Propriétaire at Hotel Arvor, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear robbgrimm,

Thank you for this comment, we are glad you liked your stay and you room.
We always do our best to keep our room at a high level of cleanliness.
As you wrote it, we have the advantage to be located right in the historic center, wich permits our guests to be next to everything they might need during their stay.

We hope to see you again if you come back in Dinan,

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were in Paris for two weeks and decided to take a side trip to Dinan. We chose the Hotel Arvor because it is a Fodor's pick. It was a great choice. I had read some TA reviews and they caused a few concerns before arrival, but all was good. At check-in, we were received warmly and the young woman at the front desk deserves a special mention for her helpfulness. We had reserved a parking place (important!) and although it was tight, she guided us skillfully into place. Our room was comfortable and spotless. The hotel's location is perfect, in the old town, and everything you could want was in easy walking distance. If you want to see a historic town in northern France, I recommend Dinan and if you go to Dinan, I recommend Hotel Arvor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigSky50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxime J, Propriétaire at Hotel Arvor, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Bonjour BigSky50,
Thank your very much for this kind message,
we are very happy you had a nice stay with us in Dinan wich is a unique and wonderfull town to visit and to live.
Thank you for recommending Hôtel Arvor, we really hope to welcome you again when you come back in Brittany .
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dinan hotels
0.3 mi away
ibis Styles Dinan Centre Ville
0.5 mi away
Mercure Dinan Port
Mercure Dinan Port
#1 of 16 in Dinan
628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 16 in Dinan
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Challonge
Hotel le Challonge
#5 of 16 in Dinan
381 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Connetable
Le Connetable
#7 of 16 in Dinan
247 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel & Residence Hoteliere Duguesclin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arvor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arvor

Property: Hotel Arvor
Address: 5 rue Pavie, 22100, Dinan, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Brittany > Cotes-d'Armor > Dinan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dinan
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dinan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arvor 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the Mediaeval city of Dinan, opposite the " Théatre des Jacobins" The hotel welcomes you on this exceptional site, steeped with history. The 18th century rennaissance style building was built on the site of a Jocobin convent. In this hotel of charm, like the family home you will be seduced by a warm and charming atmosphere. 24 rooms and suites offering a magnificant view over this historic center and the celebrated "clock tower", a symbol of the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Arvor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arvor Hotel Dinan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing