We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le d'Avaugour
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Dinan
Certificate of Excellence
FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

We arrived by car in Dinan after a long day's travel. At the front desk we were given a warm welcome by Fabian and Celine and subsequently we met Nickolas Caron who cared for our every need in a most gracious personal and friendly manner. The hotel is small, modern and yet cozy. Our room was immaculately clean, quiet and restful. It overlooked a large patio with a view of the castle ramparts. Breakfast was served in the dining room or on the patio. The hotel is conveniently located next to the old town so one can walk to all of the interesting sites.
When in Dinan the Hotel Le d'Avaugour is a wonderful place to stay.

.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamar32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    47
    27
    6
    2
See reviews for
25
74
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

Lovely location right in the centre. Rooms and public areas very tastefully decorated.
Staff and in particular the front desk could not have been more helpful. Fabien was outstanding.
Val n Tony from Oz

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jubilee107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

This is a centrally located hotel, perfect for strolling the very charming streets of Dinan. Our room was small, as they are in France, but the bathroom was large and spotless. The best feature is the absolutely lovely garden area, perfect for breakfast or a pre-dinner drink. The public areas are spacious, as well. Thanks to Nicholas Caron for his hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBCSSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york, western australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

Chose this hotel based on availabilty, as we were sailing from St Malo the following morning. What a charming surprise! Dinan itself is wonderful, lots of restaurants, masses of great buildings to admire and history to soak up.

Our room was fresh and welcoming, great comfy bed. Superb garden to relax and enjoy a drink. Mostly what brings this hotel to be one of my favourites is the friendliness of the staff. I didn't get the young lady's name who welcomed us, but she deserves a raise Nicholas! great job.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank york8491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

The owner had made comments by email to the effect that one night was not enough for our stay in that region -- what business is it of his to comment on my travel plans? And when we declined the 14-euro breakfast for the morning, he made more comments. Because of this, it was not pleasant to be around him. I had trouble unlocking my bedroom door (the lock was very temperamental) and he showed irritation that he had to come up and help me. The room was nice with two big windows overlooking the garden, and the beds were comfortable. We did not eat in the restaurant but he recommended a great place overlooking the river and city walls. I liked Dinan, the castle and winding streets are very picturesque.

Room Tip: We only saw one room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieJ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

This hotel was wonderful. We had to park across the street when we first got there. The person at the desk warned us we would have to move the car since the market was the next day in the parking lot. He watched the spaces out front of the hotel. When one became free he called our room and stood in the spot until we came down to move the car-Amazing service. The room was a delight. A bit noisy on the main street, but we did not want to pay the extra 40 Euros to be on the garden side, which I am sure was a lot more quiet. The breakfast the next morning was delicious, fresh fruit, amazing croissants andother breads and much more. The woman even remembered how my husband liked his coffee the next morning. Great convenient location to the old town and restaurants. We would go back in a heartbeat. Thanks to all

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginnietraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

We spent two delightful nights here: room overlooking lovely garden on ramparts was delightful including excellent bathroom; perfect continental breakfast, pleasant lounge with contemporary decor, efficient staff and owner. Excellent restaurants across the square e.g. Cantorbery recommended by the hotel; easy open-air parking across the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view room - extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliftonMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dinan hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arvor
Hotel Arvor
#2 of 16 in Dinan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel le Challonge
Hotel le Challonge
#5 of 16 in Dinan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Dinan Port
Mercure Dinan Port
#1 of 16 in Dinan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 16 in Dinan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.2 mi away
ibis Styles Dinan Centre Ville
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Porte Saint-Malo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le d'Avaugour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le d'Avaugour

Property: Hotel Le d'Avaugour
Address: 1 Place du Champ clos, 22100, Dinan, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Brittany > Cotes-d'Armor > Dinan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Dinan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le d'Avaugour 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le d'Avaugour**** is in the heart of Dinan, in a historic stone townhouse set on the town ramparts. It offers charming rooms and suites fitted with all modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le d'Avaugour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le d Avaugour
Le d Avaugour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing