We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful service and good food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Tomate

La Tomate
Reserve with
La Tomate is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 133 Restaurants in Dinan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
long island
Level Contributor
105 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful service and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

The young waitess was very patient and friendly explaining in detail the menu items. She helped to create a lively and wonderful setting--all the other diners were obviously enjoying themselves. The vegetable soup was outstanding, my nicoise salad was excellent and the pizza looked great.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank gil014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    90
    23
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

The food was full of flavour but slightly overpowering at times. I went with my family, there's four of us and we all struggled to eat our main after the tapas starter.
The tapas were not what we are familiar with as they were more like a selection of pâte dips, although they were nice.
Possible overuse of sundried tomatoes, would have proffered fresh ones.

Helpful?
Thank Keith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Very good meal and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Cant understand why so low in the ratings, we had a very good meal and plenty of it this week, we have eat in about 10 restuarants this week and its in my top 4 for food and service. The tapas is lovely a must try!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

We both had pizza, and it was, to be honest, not very enjoyable. Both were rather oily. My companion's was quite burnt round the edge, while mine wasn't very hot. Both our pizzas included anchovies, and while they are a strongly-flavoured fish, in this case they completely dominated the pizza. We've had quite a few pizzas, and these stood out as poor. A few days ago, we had been at Pizzeria Cecco, nearby, which is much better, and we would recommend.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank iancr77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st pierre de plesguen
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The tapas are a must-try!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

We shared the tapas as starter and although they are not what you might expect if you expect a selection of Spanish style tapas, they were absolutely delicious! It was perhaps good that only a limited amount of toasted bread was provided as they were quite filling.
If you just want to sit on the terrace with a glas of wine, we recommend ordering the tapas too.
we both had pizza as main, which was actually a bit too much after the tapas.
Great decor and fantastic setting; friendly and efficient service.
will definitely go back again

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sthompson35720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tomate also viewed

Dinan, Cotes-d'Armor
Dinan, Cotes-d'Armor
 
Dinan, Cotes-d'Armor
Dinan, Cotes-d'Armor
 
Dinan, Cotes-d'Armor
 

Been to La Tomate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing