We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Courtine

La Courtine
Ranked #2 of 133 Restaurants in Dinan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ipswich, Suffolk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

On the strength of the previous reviews we booked this restaurant early evening while visiting on holiday just after Easter. It is a very small venue with the menu of the day on blackboard on the main wall. A limited but well chosen menu, fantastic value and beautifully cooked. Service was also excellent - the young man who did all the waiting himself did a great job and there was a good choice of wine and other drinks to go with the food. I would certainly go back and try lunch next time!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greengage50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    100
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best meal of my life!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Delicious! Charming! So fairly priced! So friendly and courteous!
Best meal ever, so gorgeous!
Doesn't open until 7, so do not be discouraged if it appears closed earlier!
What a find! So looking forwar

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JerJerBeaverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Found this little restaurant by accident. Well hidden in a little side street.
What an amazing find, were so impressed went back again during our short stay.
Run by 2 brothers, one front of house and the other the chef, both contributing in equal measure to the relaxed ambience of the restaurant. Allowed us to practise our very poor French with such patience but his English allowed us to make informed choices from the wonderful menu. Delicate dishes full of flavour and amazing value! Set menu 22 euro for 3 courses, 17 euro for 2.

We will most certainly be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J0anneJ0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pays de la Loire, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Camembert Ice Cream! Oh my word, just perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

You must book for this lovely little place as it is always full and when I tried to just turn up for a repeat evening two days after my original visit, (most places have room on a cold, rainy Monday evening) it was full. The service is great and the food excellent, perfectly presented and well priced. We had originally planned to have just two courses but rapidly upgraded to three...with a starter that included the delicious Camembert. The other courses were also lovely with a great mix of flavours and generous portions.
A real gem!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sueskenyatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An all-round perfect evening...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We booked this restaurant for our final evening in Dinan after reading TA reviews and it succeeded our expectations; the small restaurant did not feel crowded and the table was set out beautifully. Excellent service was provided by the owner (who's brother is the co-owner and chef) which matched the food which was of impeccable quality and unbelievable value.
Both the wine and the apperatiff were very good and we could not believe we had enjoyed such a lovely meal in a lovely atmosphere for so little.
This restaurant deserves the top spot - the majority of diners were French and appeared to be local which was a positive sign, if we return to Dinan we will not think twice about dining here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank emilysandbach94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Courtine also viewed

Dinan, Cotes-d'Armor
Dinan, Cotes-d'Armor
 
Dinan, Cotes-d'Armor
 
Dinan, Cotes-d'Armor
Dinan, Cotes-d'Armor
 

Been to La Courtine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing