We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”
Review of La Courtine

La Courtine
Ranked #2 of 137 Restaurants in Dinan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
monmouthshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We recently had three nights in Dinan, and anticipated our visit to La Courtine. We had read the reviews, which as all contributers are aware, do not always add to the pleasure of the occasion.
However, and we have eaten in many restaurants over the years we have been visiting France,
but our experience at La Courtine can only be described as one of the best. It is a small restaurant covering about 30 people, but the options, of which on the night we were there, (a Thursday) offered five choices for all three courses, all of them making a decision difficult.
However the service, and food were nothing other than excellent, the brother serving was a wonderful example of efficiency, attention to detail, explaination to menu enguiries, and also his English is very good.
How they manage to produce such superb food, in comfortable surroundings at the price of 22 euros is behond some of our other experiences.
I highly recommend this restaurant, and if I/we return to Dinan, I would not consider to eat anywhere else. Wonderful, it is in our top 10

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clementMonmouthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    105
    14
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very good value for money”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Don't be put off by the appearance, up an alleyway and seating for about 20max. The food and the service was very good. The staff work very hard, it is run by 2 brothers and a kitchen assistant. We have eaten here on 3 occasions over the years each time it has jhad different owners but always worth a visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank BernieGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We visited dinan for three nights, managed to fit in the 'tripadvisior' 123 for dinan! Great little restaurant, good choice on menu, enjoyable three courses especially the deserts. very reasonably priced. The waiter was extremely attentive, courteous and helpful with translating the menu. The restaurant was full by 8-30 so may be advisable to book a table to guarantee this venue.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank halksworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good for Dinan. But slightly underwhelmed.”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Hmmmm. We were quite excited about visiting La Courtine having read the Trip Advisor reviews.
It sits up a quiet cobbled alley and is pretty from the outside. Inside is themed in black and red with a small bar at the entrance. The restaurant was empty when we arrived, but filled quickly - and the service was attentive and friendly. The food though, whilst nicely cooked, didn't excite. We tried to work out afterwards why, but simply came up with the feeling that it was ok to good, rather than great. Scallops and chorizo were well enough cooked with a nicely dressed salad. Filet mignon ok but slightly tasteless. Duck similar - and a bit fatty. My pudding (a chocolate semi-cooked job with good caramel ice cream) was the best of the meal, my husband's pear was pretty, but, again, didn't hit the heights. The wine list was young and quite small, so again not great (but sort of get used to this in Brittany). So, while it's great to see Dinan adding to its range of good restaurants, we were surprised at its number 1 rating from Trip Advisor and it wasn't the best meal we had in Dinan. Maybe it was just that menu, and we should try again?

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AECGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere, Shropshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Meal Ever!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I visited La Courtine with my wife and two friends last week. The 22Euro menu offers three courses of excellent food and with a reasonably wide choice (plenty of fishy and meaty dishes as well as several inspiring desserts). The atmosphere in the small restaurant was warm and friendly and the waiter was attentive and extremely friendly. Genuinely this is the best three course meal I have ever had at a fraction of the cost of any UK restaurant I have eaten in.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Courtine also viewed

Dinan, Cotes-d'Armor
Dinan, Cotes-d'Armor
 
Dinan, Cotes-d'Armor
 
Dinan, Cotes-d'Armor
Dinan, Cotes-d'Armor
 

Been to La Courtine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing