We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mr. Robert

Mr. Robert
Ranked #29 of 133 Restaurants in Dinan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $32
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
DjerbaSperwoman
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“First class food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We visited this restaurant that various contributors had said was good and were so pleased we did. The food was excellent, tasty and well presented and the service was friendly and efficient.
Very good value for the quality of the food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DjerbaSuperwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    113
    24
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely romantic meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

This was our second favourite meal while staying in dinan, superb location, we visited during the day and booked a table (the one with the birdcage above) for the evening. We were made to feel extremely welcome, the fresh cut flowers around the restaurant were a real bonus and the smell was devine. The menu was excellent and all three courses thoroughly enjoyed. Thank you for a lovely evening.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank halksworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Wonderful Gem in Dinan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

We ate at this restaurant on 21 Aug 2012 we were guided by reviews we read on trip advisor! Was hard to find as it is tucked imto a small corner in the centre of Dinan next to the Mere Poulard shop. It is a small unasuming little restaurant and we probably would have walked past it. The food was French with a more modern/ exciting twist snd the prices between €20-35 for fixed price courses. I ate the beetroot with goats cheese ice cream starter, a bit of a strange combination, but it was delicious, the wine was fantastic as well as the "kir bretagne" apperitif we had before hand. I had seabass as a main course and again it was delicious! We eere given a complimentary cucumber mouse in between courses to clear our palate snd again could not fault the wonderfull flavour! The food was very well presented, not huge portions , in fact the portions were just perfect! We made it to dessert and did not feel Too full as you can with large meals! The staff were very attentive and professional ! All in all a great dining experience at a very reasonable price and it is a welcome departure from the standard french restaurant and creperie fare served to tourists!! Well worth looking up! We will be back!!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jinxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best we found in Dinan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Based on Trip Advisor we tried Mr Robert and some other Dinan restaurants. Mr Robert was, in our minds, undoubtedly the best for food, pleasant surroundings and service. Hurrah... somewhere we can enjoy eating in lovely Dinan which can be a bit sparce on the decent food front . It was a hot evening, so we sat outside in the pretty square. The service was great and genuinely thoughtful (top ups of ice for cold drinks as soon as that we had became puddly, top ups of (good) bread and adequate amounts of butter, helpful explanations of the details of the dishes ... The amuse bouche ( a cold cucumber cream with an amazing leaf that tastes of oyster) was good. We both went for the scallops menu - and they were perfectly cooked, with sensible sized (not mean as can be the case with scallops sometimes!) portions and interesting accompaniments (broad bean risotto, a slightly oriental salad, a small tart lime sauce and celery (celeriac?) purée. The flavours all worked without overpowering the scallops. Yum. Cheese was good as was a wonderful peach parfait pudding. So we were very happy bunnies and will be returning. It'll be a tough choice whether to return to the scallops or, on a slightly cooler evening, to opt for some of the interesting meat dishes.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AECGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brillant!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

What can we say - other than we had perfect meals accompanied with wonderful and friendly service. The Noix de Saint Jacques au Citron Vert sur Purée de Cèleri - were the most wonderful scallops I have tasted in quite some time - Brilliant!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thereandbackagain094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Robert also viewed

Dinan, Cotes-d'Armor
Dinan, Cotes-d'Armor
 
Dinan, Cotes-d'Armor
Dinan, Cotes-d'Armor
 

Been to Mr. Robert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing