We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Near Train Station, Great Staff, Great Room”
Review of Hotel Abalys

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Abalys
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Brest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here. Our room was very comfortable, the staff helpful and friendly and the hotel's location made it easy to come and go from. Breakfast was adequate with a selection of Bretton pastries, fresh fruit, meat, cheeses and juices. Certainly would recommend staying here if visiting Brest.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heartstoyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Abalys
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 244 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I found this very comfortable for our weekend stay in August. Nice, clean room, very nice people being very helpful. A good breakfast selection. Hotel is centrally located, so you are close to most things in Brest. One minor negative is an elevator that only fit one person. We found it best to load our suitcases into the elevator, climbing the stairs and calling on the elevator on third floor to get the luggage up :-) Another minor negative is the slow pc supplied in the room. The wifi worked excellent on our laptop though.b

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel more quiet than on the front. Seagulls being the source of noise!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Torger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed here, in part based on this site. Glad we did. As stated in other reviews the rooms are quite small, (it is France after all), and the lift is comically small. Everything else was very positive though. You are 2 minutes walk to the main station. 5 minutes walk to the main tramline and city centre. Rooms were very clean. No noise. Staff were probably some of the most genuinely nice hotel staff I've met. Took time to advise on places to eat, timetables, online check in for airport etc. Even sent up a free breakfast because some work was being done on the hotel door. In short a decent budget hotel greatly improved by fantastic staff.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back on the 1st floor which had a larger bathroom than the one at the front.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thegodbotherer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Our room was quite small, and I took a nasty fall coming out of the shower as water had leaked onto the floor (no bath mat supplied). We had a lovely view from our small balcony of the park and distant sea view. The free Wifi worked well. I asked if there was a safe to keep our money in, and a lovely elderly gentleman arrived and carried a huge strong box up to our room, stowed it under the bed, and gave me the key! There was no charge for this. The receptionist spoke English and was very helpful. There is an excellent restaurant one minute away called Le Ruffe. We couldnt figure out how to get into the very large car park opposite the Hotel, but managed to park easily in the car park in the road round the corner. We left early the following day, so cannot comment on breakfast. Would definitely stay here again if in Brest.

Room Tip: The sea view room at the front was charming and cost €58
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed at the Abalys for 5 nights in one of the rooms at the top floor at the rear (very quiet).
There was a computer in the room, as well as wifi everywhere.

The hotel is family owned and runned and the atmosphere very friendly. Good advice is given at reception for restaurants, shopping etc.
The breakfast is copious and a good deal for 8 euros.

The downside is the size of the rooms, which are very small. Also, as an another reviewer remarked, there is a funny smell at times...

When I come back to Brest, I'll might try another hotel to compare.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Divehigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Located 100 metres from the railway station, and on the main street, the hotel is small yet cosy.

Breakfast is complimentary and may not have a good spread.

Rooms are very small and the luggage is difficult to manoeuvre inside the room if you have more than two standard size luggages.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abeghatak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

stayed here three nights after crossing the channel. this is a very cheap hotel, and much more than worth the money. if you are already expecting a two-star hotel in france, there's nothing really that you can say against it. we got probably one of the most sympathetic welcomes experienced. the lift is tiny, the room was tiny, bright & colourful, the bathroom had a bath, we had a view of the street and the sea in the third floor and we ordered pizza from room service. the hotel is about a five minute walk from the main train station, it's about a fifteen minute walk to the harbour with all the great restaurants, and a great place to start exploring the city (the hotel provides a map and some excellent recommendations too - do try the fish restaurant around the corner up the road north-west). we will not consider any other hotel when we come back to brest.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geijscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brest hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Brest Centre Port
0.3 mi away
L'Amiraute
L'Amiraute
#1 of 36 in Brest
325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Continental
Hotel Le Continental
#10 of 36 in Brest
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oceania Brest Centre
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Brest Centre Port
0.3 mi away
La Paix Hotel Contemporain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abalys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abalys

Address: 7 avenue Georges Clemenceau, 29200, Brest, France
Location: France > Brittany > Finistere > Brest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brest
#5 Business Hotel in Brest
#7 Family Hotel in Brest
Price Range: $58 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Abalys 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Abalys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abalys Hotel Brest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing