We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place for family holidays” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Moulin de la Touche

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Moulin de la Touche
Ranked #103 of 751 Specialty Lodging in Brittany
Nailsea, Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place for family holidays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at Le Moulin de la Touche in July 2012 - the sunny week. There were 14 of us - 8 adults and 6 boys, mostly aged 11/12 staying in Mill and Bank cottages.
The site itself was all that we hoped for, having browsed every page of the website: the cottages were lovely if a little basic/rustic, the pool was better than expected, the football field was excellent, the games room a little less so perhaps, but still great to know it was there, and for the odd game of table-tennis. The lawn and river were just fabulous - really peaceful setting for adults, and at the same time a wonderful world to be explored for the kids.
Our hosts were welcoming and helpful, and their teenage sons played football with our group's younger boys really well, making the early evening football matches one of the many highlights.
On the slightly negative side, the village of Plouguenast has little going for it except for an excellent boulangerie (when it's open) and a supermarket which provides all you could need if you don't want to venture further afield. We didn't try the restaurants in the village, but found some excellent ones in nearby towns, in particular the Magic Cauldron in Moncontour.
The wider surrounding area has loads to offer, from a lake with various water-based activities, to medieval towns with fantastic character, architecture and restaurants, plus of course, numerous beaches to the north and south - though we only went north.
Most of our party spent much of the week on site, where the boys had a great time swimming in the pool, paddling and kayaking in the river, playing football, table-tennis, volley-ball, badminton, boules, darts and all sorts of made-up games (and boyish shenanigans) in the beautiful surroundings, while the adults relaxed in the sun and enjoyed the local food and drink.
All in all, we had a week to remember for a long time, and hope to return some time in the future.
Le Moulin de la Touche is a perfect place for family holidays: great for adults and children alike.

Room Tip: Look carefully at the cottage floor plans before selecting the one for you. Also note that one room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
49
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We spent a long time trying to find somewhere for a family get-together for a 60th birthday celebration - there were 27 of us, aged from 7 months to 70 years. Wanted somewhere not too far from the ferry ports. We eventually chose Le Moulin de la Touche. The booking was well handled and easy, the owners Tim and Ruth were friendly and helpful. We arrived after a long journey from Scotland to be warmly welcomed by our hosts who were always on hand to help, but never intrusive. The cottages and surrounding areas were absolutely splendid, better than we hoped, including the whole family getting to see the otters in the river. The weather was disappointing, but the indoor playroom was a great and fresh bread from the village, together with Pizza Night were an added treat. We had never tried this before and it was the first time we had all spent longer than a day together, so we were worried it would not work, but our fears were unfounded, thanks to the lovely place and people which catered brilliantly for our wide age range - everyone loved it. Highly recommended. Thank you Ruth and Tim.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanandBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Roche sur Yon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Tim & Ruth were brilliant! Nothing too much trouble. We spent the first night in Bank Cottage (as booked) but access to the back was impossible for our 17 year old dog, plus we found the stairs a bit steep for us, so the next day, Tim & Ruth very kindly let us move next door, into Willow Cottage, which was absolutely perfect for our needs. The chickens made friends with us and the dogs; the weather was pretty kind to us, and hubby was in his element fishing in the river.
Another bonus was the extra peace & quiet, being early in the season. There was only us in the pool; Hubby spent 90% of the time fishing from the back of the property; idyllic, although he says the trout were too small!!!!!!
Because we already live in France (Vendée), our friends were keen to pay us a visit, and Tim & Ruth were so accommodating when they turned up (and stayed for 2 nights) - no extra cost or anything. We will definitely be going again - hopefully many times. Thank you Ruth, Thank you Tim.
A bientot!

Room Tip: Access to the back of Bank Cottage is by steep steps into the little courtyard: not really suitable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandieLaRochesurYon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We took the mill for a week in July, we went with grandparents, 4yr old and border collie. Only one hour drive from St malo it was easy to find. The cottage was clean and is in beautiful surroundings. The little stream runs past and we used their kayaks to go down to a grassy park for a picnic. There are lovely gardens and the football pitch was perfect for wearing out little boy. The best part was the pool area, it has a dome shaped removable cover which meant that even if over cast or raining we could use the pool, then when it was nice and sunny it could be removed and slid back. The games room had the biggest selection of DVDs plenty for kids and adults alike.

We used the BBQ regularly and there was a nice wood burning stove inside.

Tim and Ruth were very helpful and friendly, giving numbers for the local vets for the passport check before heading home.

The only comment is that if this cottage was full I think an additional toilet would be needed but for the five of us it was fine.

There is a big intermarche in the village which is a couple of minute drive, the boulangerie is walking distance. We went to a big new park called aquarev in loudeac which was not too far away, perfect for kids, play areas and tennis courts set around a lake, perfect for picnics.

This place would be perfect for families at any time of the year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Wow what a fantastic time we had, accomodation was fantastic setting brilliant, thank you Tim and Ruth for letting us share where you live. Absolutely recommend it for a large party of people .

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

Warmly welcomed by our hosts who were extremely helpful and friendly. Wonderful location, with a lovely river view from the cottage. Accommodation was well looked after, clean and tidy. Good facilities lots of activities on site with swimming pool, woods, river walks and plenty of space. Can highly recommend it for family or group holidays, or even a quiet retreat.

Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed in Bank Cottage in August 2011, 2 adults and our 3 young girls. We really enjoyed our holiday. The girls loved the pool and playing in the grounds.
The owners were very helpful and kind. They helped us find local attractions and also booked take aways from the local pizza van.
We found the cottage to be clean, well supplied and comfortable. Excellent bathroom and comfortable bed. The surroundings were peaceful and it was lovely to wake up to the sound of the river running outside the house.
We had lovely evenings sitting outside our cottage in the evening sunshine eating food from the BBQ with a glass of wine,

The surrounding countryside is lovely. Rural, and great for walks in the woods which are literally on the doorstep. It was easy walking distance to the town for shops/restaurants. There is a good network of roads for travel further afield, We have already recommended this to others who are looking for a great venue to enjoy the delights of northern France

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brittany
9.0 mi away
Hotel des Voyageurs
Hotel des Voyageurs
#1 of 4 in Loudeac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hostellerie de la Poterne
Hostellerie de la Poterne
#1 of 4 in Moncontour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
57.8 mi away
La Grand'Maison
La Grand'Maison
#341 of 1,409 in Brittany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Le Clos des Hortensias
47.7 mi away
Le Moulin du Bois
Le Moulin du Bois
#502 of 1,409 in Brittany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
82.0 mi away
Chambres d'Hotes Ti Ar Yer
Chambres d'Hotes Ti Ar Yer
#540 of 1,409 in Brittany
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Moulin de la Touche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin de la Touche

Property: Le Moulin de la Touche
Address: The Val | Plouguenast, 22150, France
Location: France > Brittany
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 751 Specialty Lodging in Brittany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
6 Beautiful Riverside Properties .....Sleeping up to 4, 6, 7, 10, 14, & 20 people. These properties form part of a ten acre watermill estate located in the pretty village of Plouguenast ideally situated to explore both the coastal area and inland beauty of Brittany. A pretty trout fishing river runs though the estate which is situated in a valley of outstanding natural beauty which contains both parkland and forest areas. 25 minutes from the nearest coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Moulin de la Touche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing