We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Brittany vacation”
Review of Coat Aillis

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brittany
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coat Aillis
Ranked #222 of 838 Specialty Lodging in Brittany
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our Brittany vacation”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our group of six women rented the Maison Principle at Coat Aillis where we stayed for a just over a week. Simon and Pauline were exceptional hosts and helped in every way to make the stay pleasurable.
The house was huge and decorated with original art and loads antiques. This couple spent a lot of time and effort getting their Gite in good working order. The kitchen seemed
to be one of our main gathering spots. In addition to food prep, this is where we had the best internet connection.
The immediate surrounding area is farm land, but it is just a short ride (or walk) to the beach.
The beaches in Brittany are fabulous, every one we visited at had a slightly different flavor, their commonality being the incredible colors (especially at sunset).
This, my first trip to Brittany left me with an indelible impression, one that I look forward to enhancing in years to come.
Paula P

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    11
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
51
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just back from another great trip to Brittany . We have now stayed in all the Gites at Coat Aillis. This time it was Les Etables, and again we found everything you could want there. The Gite is spacious with loads of character. Even on a cold November day the Gite remains warm and cosy thanks to a fantastic log burner that belts out the heat if needed. All wood sourced locally by our very helpful hosts Simon and Pauline. If you want peace and quiet in a beautiful rural setting than this place is for you. Close to some wonderful coastline and great beaches like Tregastel you can spend all day lazily exploring all the wonderful sights around you. We have discovered many great restaurants nearby, we particularly like a couple in Morlaix just in behind the viaduct, great Plat de Jour ,seafood excellent everywhere we ate. Hope to come back next year as we are missing it already.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rollo1Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Maison Principle at Coat Aillis was exactly what we wanted. Our house was one of three that are available. Maision Principle was spacious and charming. The kitchen which we used a lot was well appointed with dishes and all sorts of cooking utensils especially once we found the drawer in the kitchen table. We cooked some fabulous meals in the oven and it was a pleasure to have a dish washer.

The surrounding gardens and fields are lovely. The owners, Simon and Paulien were very helpful. They suggested outings as well as restaurants. They went out of their way to assist us from suggesting excellent restaurants (La Maison de St. Efflam) to helping us with wifi.

We look forward to returning to Coat Aillis and beautiful Brittany.

Joan

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakenheath
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have stayed here a few times and have always had an excellent stay. The children love the playroom and the pool and we enjoyed the location and the gite. Pauline and Simon are lovely hosts and have always gone out of their way to help us. There are beautiful local beaches, we especially like Locquirec, and excellent restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teri g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, united kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is the 5th ti me that we have visited Coat Alliss and it never fails to impress - really comfortable accommodation (we have stayed in almost all of the gites on site) and every facility you could think of, including fully equipped kitchens and bathrooms. Always 2 bathrooms per gite which is a big plus. We have stayed at Coat Alliss on our own and with friends and none of us has ever had a problem. The gites are always clean and ready for our arrival. Each gite has its own individual charm and character. The proprietors, Paulien and Simon, are always welcoming and helpful. They really want you to enjoy your holiday and are always available without being obtrusive. The grounds are magnificent and really well kept and the swimming pool is a real bonus and a fantastic sun trap. We look forward to returning early next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kendoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

There are around 6 gites in characterful converted farm buildings around a lovely, clean pool which has greenery all around. Lots of people were happily using it and I heard no-one complain about it. Children can also play in the orchard and enjoy the chickens, or in a large children's play area. The play equipment, slides and swings as I remember, are very solid good quality wood. The gites have their own garden areas, mostly pretty private and ours had a lovely view. For younger children there are some plastic outdoor toys, I think a sandpit and toy cars. The decor is rustic French with retro furniture. It isn't a hotel with white sheets and fluffy white bath robes, but I really liked the individual cosy atmosphere, and I'm sure it's very environmentally friendly to reuse rather than throw away. If you like modern minimalism you will likely be happier elsewhere, but we loved the homely relaxed atmosphere and have booked to go again next year. Other guests staying last August were on repeat visits. On our first day we hadn't realised that the supermarket would be shut on a Sunday, and so Simon and Paulien gave us wine and food and to cook for that evening.

There are loads of beautiful beaches within 10-15 minutes drive and the scenery is beautiful - like Cornwall without the crowds. It was easy to park everywhere and for food there were great markets and restaurants. We had sunny weather, but it seemed as if there were plenty of museums etc for rainier days. We travelled by ferry from Portsmouth and on our first day visited Le Mont St Michel and then made our way to the gite. Returning to St Malo was an easy 2 hour drive. Yes, the gites are not all painted in Farrow and Ball colours, but for the location, the indoor and outdoor space and the facilities they are really good value. Everything in our gite was clean, and on main changeover day I looked around all but one of the other gites and they were all places I would be very happy to stay in. Personally, the quality of my holiday is not affected by whether the walls are painted blocks or painted plaster. There were no breeze blocks in our gite and I can't remember if there were in others, certainly I saw no unpainted walls. My children, (7 and 9) made friends with other children and also enjoyed the table tennis table in the games room, there was also a pool table and table football. Lots of other bits and pieces there but not super smart. I am really pleased to have found what I consider to be the perfect family holiday and have been recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is the 2nd time we have been to Coat Aillis, and we love it, it's one of the only places that I feel I can let my hair down, my son is safe and so happy. Pauline and Simon are pure entertainment and made us feel at home the second we got there.
They have two lovely dogs that where so gentil and lovely with my little boy. The gites are really homely, we love the way they have put them together.
I would recommend this place to anyone who wants a true family holiday with lovely walks, beautiful scenery, fantastic beach's and a real opportunity to relax and unwind.
Maybe someone needs to learn how to make afire, because we never had a problem!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouiseVeltman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brittany hotels
3.4 mi away
Grand Hotel des Bains
Grand Hotel des Bains
#1 of 1 in Locquirec
333 reviews
7.7 mi away
Ti al Lannec Hotel Restaurant & Spa
44.4 mi away
Chambres d'Hotes Ti Ar Yer
Chambres d'Hotes Ti Ar Yer
#325 of 1,466 in Brittany
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
86.4 mi away
Le Moulin du Bois
Le Moulin du Bois
#357 of 1,466 in Brittany
20 reviews
102.7 mi away
La Grand'Maison
La Grand'Maison
#470 of 1,466 in Brittany
18 reviews
108.8 mi away
No photo provided
Le Ricordeau
#80 of 130 in Ille-et-Vilaine
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coat Aillis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coat Aillis

Property: Coat Aillis
Address: St. Sebastien | Plestin -les - Greves, 22310, France
Location: France > Brittany
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 838 Specialty Lodging in Brittany
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
6 gites sleeping 4-14 with pool,sauna, games room set in idyllic countryside yet only a 2 minute drive to the beach. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing