We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great holiday”
Review of Coat Aillis

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brittany
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coat Aillis
Ranked #274 of 887 Specialty Lodging in Brittany
Reviewed October 19, 2012

There are around 6 gites in characterful converted farm buildings around a lovely, clean pool which has greenery all around. Lots of people were happily using it and I heard no-one complain about it. Children can also play in the orchard and enjoy the chickens, or in a large children's play area. The play equipment, slides and swings as I remember, are very solid good quality wood. The gites have their own garden areas, mostly pretty private and ours had a lovely view. For younger children there are some plastic outdoor toys, I think a sandpit and toy cars. The decor is rustic French with retro furniture. It isn't a hotel with white sheets and fluffy white bath robes, but I really liked the individual cosy atmosphere, and I'm sure it's very environmentally friendly to reuse rather than throw away. If you like modern minimalism you will likely be happier elsewhere, but we loved the homely relaxed atmosphere and have booked to go again next year. Other guests staying last August were on repeat visits. On our first day we hadn't realised that the supermarket would be shut on a Sunday, and so Simon and Paulien gave us wine and food and to cook for that evening.

There are loads of beautiful beaches within 10-15 minutes drive and the scenery is beautiful - like Cornwall without the crowds. It was easy to park everywhere and for food there were great markets and restaurants. We had sunny weather, but it seemed as if there were plenty of museums etc for rainier days. We travelled by ferry from Portsmouth and on our first day visited Le Mont St Michel and then made our way to the gite. Returning to St Malo was an easy 2 hour drive. Yes, the gites are not all painted in Farrow and Ball colours, but for the location, the indoor and outdoor space and the facilities they are really good value. Everything in our gite was clean, and on main changeover day I looked around all but one of the other gites and they were all places I would be very happy to stay in. Personally, the quality of my holiday is not affected by whether the walls are painted blocks or painted plaster. There were no breeze blocks in our gite and I can't remember if there were in others, certainly I saw no unpainted walls. My children, (7 and 9) made friends with other children and also enjoyed the table tennis table in the games room, there was also a pool table and table football. Lots of other bits and pieces there but not super smart. I am really pleased to have found what I consider to be the perfect family holiday and have been recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 66 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is the 2nd time we have been to Coat Aillis, and we love it, it's one of the only places that I feel I can let my hair down, my son is safe and so happy. Pauline and Simon are pure entertainment and made us feel at home the second we got there.
They have two lovely dogs that where so gentil and lovely with my little boy. The gites are really homely, we love the way they have put them together.
I would recommend this place to anyone who wants a true family holiday with lovely walks, beautiful scenery, fantastic beach's and a real opportunity to relax and unwind.
Maybe someone needs to learn how to make afire, because we never had a problem!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LouiseVeltman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Coat Aillis is the perfect place for a family or couple who love a totally relaxed atmosphere. The few gites along with a fab pool, games room and orchard make a great environment for children to have enough to do and explore without parents worrying where they are. Simon and Paulien and their sons are perfect hosts who would do anything to help and find nothing a problem. The surroundings are rural and there is a 15-20 minute walk through, what feels like, a deep forest to get to a beach. There is plenty to do and to see in the area and thoroughly recommend it to - well -everyone!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SheilaWWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Our 3 boys voted this the best stay in France. Pool, games room, chickens, dogs, playground, plenty of free roaming space in safe country side. Near the most amazing coast line, towns, markets, etc. But, it is the hosts Pauline & Simon who make the place. Nothing was too much trouble and they were so welcoming. It was fun and we'd go back in a flash.

Room Tip: Be explicit when booking if you need reliable internet connections- makes a difference to which gite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Coal Aillis is a lovely place - very relaxed and family friendly. The heated pool is excellent - it's a fair size, shallow at one end for younger kids but with a good deep end for diving and has a moveable raised cover which means you can swim in all weather. The games room is also a major bonus - pool, table football and table tennis, plus lots more, somewhere the kids could play for hours without needing supervision. Owners are very hospitable and bent over backwards to make our stay a good one. I lost the key on the first day and they didn't bat an eyelid - just made sure all was ok. The owners converted all of the accommodation themselves and have created a place with charm and character . Having raised children in the area they are also great at recommending a variety of things to do and see.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

summer 2012

The area around Plestin is superb with fabulous beaches and lots of creperies to choose from.
The accomodation however was disappointing as the gite was uncomfortable and not very clean. The beds were hard and bed linen looked tired and old. Some of the sheets looked as if they had not been changed,(Hairs were on the sheets). The gite itself was dark and gloomy apart from the conservatory.

Although we enjoyed the pool the sauna was not working and the toilet area dirty. The games room had seen better days too and could have done with a facelift.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Coat Aillis is very well located in a pleasant rural location about a mile from the coast, near Plestin-les-Greves. The area is perfect for walking, beach or visiting whatever you fancy. We covered Morlaix, an attractive former port with a centre full of period buildings, Guingamp for a Bastille Day fete, Plestin for the big Sunday market, and various bits of the coast and inland for scenery and historic sites. We stayed in Les Etables, converted from a former stable into a rustic gite with two double bedrooms. Since there were only the two of us we only needed the ground floor which has one of the double bedrooms and a walk in shower etc. The gite was pretty much as expected from the web site, comfortable and plenty of space. Simon and Paulien were very friendly and helpful, as were their two soft dogs who came to see us occasionally. Also on the site there are several other gites, most of which appear to be rustic style, a good pool, a simple games room and some kids swings etc which will keep kids amused when needed. Several other gites were occupied but the gite still felt decently private.
So overall, an enjoyable and comfortable stay with some nice people, despite some rather iffy weather. The gite was exactly what it said 'on the tin'. What more could you ask?

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brittany hotels
44.4 mi away
Chambres d'Hotes Ti Ar Yer
Chambres d'Hotes Ti Ar Yer
#387 of 1,483 in Brittany
20 reviews
102.6 mi away
La Grand'Maison
La Grand'Maison
#509 of 1,483 in Brittany
18 reviews
86.5 mi away
Le Moulin du Bois
Le Moulin du Bois
#431 of 1,483 in Brittany
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
108.8 mi away
No photo provided
Le Ricordeau
#81 of 139 in Ille-et-Vilaine
1 reviews
48.4 mi away
Le Moulin de la Touche
Le Moulin de la Touche
#193 of 887 in Brittany
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coat Aillis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coat Aillis

Address: St. Sebastien | Plestin -les - Greves, 22310, France
Location: France > Brittany
Hotel Style:
Ranked #274 of 887 Specialty Lodging in Brittany
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
6 Gites Sleeping 4-14 With Pool,sauna, Games Room Set In Idyllic Countryside Yet Only A 2 Minute Drive To The Beach. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing