We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aux Jardins des Thevenets

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aux Jardins des Thevenets
Ranked #2 of 7 Vichy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

As always we make a stop on our way to the south of France. This year we stayed one night in this restbathing place and it was the best stop we ever made.
Lynn and Olivier make you feel right at ease by simply being themselves.
The garden that surrounds the restored buildings is full of wildflowers which gives the whole even more charm.
This is a place I will tell all my friends about.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    15
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
60
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have only recently returned to England after a wonderful trip through France and Spain. We visited Aux Jardins des Thevenets on our way through and it was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. The location is exceptional and the house and grounds look beautiful after being lovingly and artistically restored by Lynn and Olivier. We had a really warm welcome and immediately felt at home in this beautiful old house. We stayed in the Rouge room which was fabulous with a very comfortable bed and lovely bathroom. We were really lucky as Lynn cooked the most amazing meal that evening which we shared with other guests, the food, wine and the company were terrific, Lynn and Olivier are wonderful hosts. We had to move on the next day, sadly, but we have some lovely memories of a perfect stay including a delicious breakfast to send us on our way. Thank you both very much, you are exceptional hosts and it is so good to read the other reviews showing how much all your guests have appreciated the time and work that you put into making their stay so enjoyable. Also, Lynn, a very big thank you once again for finding and returning my purse, I am so very grateful to you for all your help.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had a fantastic night here. Beautiful location and a really special place full of fascinating and quirky artworks in a wonderfully restored home. We were in the Rouge room which was peaceful and really comfortable. But what made our stay so memorable was Lynn and Olivier's warmth, charm and hospitality. The food was delicious and the wine copious! Our breakfast was the best we had on our entire holiday and we met some really fun and interesting people.
Despite being on crutches I was also able to sample the delights of the lovely pool.
Without doubt this was the best stay of our holiday and we'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markandhelen777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is our second visit to this wonderful place. Lynn and Olivier are the most genuine people and made us feel so welcome. Their home has a lovely feeling to it and tastefully decorated.
Lynn creates delicious dinner and great breakfast. All the guests were entertained with pre-dinner drinks and we have thoroughly enjoyed each others company.
We will be going back to our house in South of France in September and cannot wait to visit
Aux Jardins des Thevenets. Merci Beaucoup Lynn et Olivier.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had a very special 'last night' in France with Lynn and Olivier. The weather was awful outside (in May!) but we had a delicious dinner by the open fire and were looked after so well, we forgot about the rain! The rooms are beautifully furnished and the beds so comfortable! We enjoyed ourselves so much that we have already booked to return again in August...and this time stay for long enough to explore more of the local area...hopefully in more clement weather. We really can't recommend this place more highly!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussiebrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staplehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

A long drive from Calais to Barcelona was broken with an idyllic overnight stop at this fantastic property. Lynn and Olivier were so welcoming!! The house is extremely comfortable, furnished with love and full of really interesting arty bits and pieces. The highlight of the stay was the hospitality - pre-dinner drinks and fabulous homemade nibbles with the other guests outside the wisteria clad farmhouse - followed by a wonderful 4 course dinner cooked by Lynn. English, German, French guests plus the owners found bits of forgotten language to discuss everything and nothing! It was a genuinely memorable evening. Of course, breakfast the next morning was equally high quality with the best croissants I've ever tasted. THIS PLACE IS A GEM. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunis
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Lynn and Olivier Chaulieu have created, little by little and with much care and thought, a most beautiful haven of peace at the Jardins des Thevenets. From the warm welcome to the cosy, tasteful rooms and the imaginative, delicious dinners and breakfasts, all is sincerity, authenticity and serenity. True nourishment for the soul and body! I strongly recommend staying for dinner if Lynn offers a "table d'hotes" during your stay. She is an excellent, thoughtful cook (I even dare to say "chef"). The pool, in season, is probably the most beautiful I have ever seen. There are art exhibitions regularly, as both Lynn and Olivier are serious art lovers. Everytime we have stayed at the Jardins des Thevenets there are interesting guests and memorable conversation around the dinner and breakfast tables. I can't recommend staying here enough: a delightful break from our hectic daily lives.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank shermok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vichy hotels
3.7 mi away
Vichy Celestins Spa Hotel
4.0 mi away
Arverna Citotel Vichy
3.9 mi away
Hotel de Grignan
Hotel de Grignan
#3 of 30 in Vichy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Mercure Vichy Thermalia
4.0 mi away
Kyriad Vichy
Kyriad Vichy
#15 of 30 in Vichy
3.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel De Biarritz
Hotel De Biarritz
#4 of 30 in Vichy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aux Jardins des Thevenets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aux Jardins des Thevenets

Property: Aux Jardins des Thevenets
Address: Chemin des Thevenets | Espinasse-Vozelle, 03110 Vichy, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Allier > Vichy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Vichy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovation of this 17th and 19th century homestead allowed for the installation of five bedrooms each with on-suite bathrooms. All rooms are tastefully decorated with a mixture of old and new. The walls are doted with numerous South African and French artists and in summer we exhibit artist in our house and around the pool. One of the outbuildings that housed horse-drawn carriages in the 19th century, today is home to a beautiful pool. This all, surrounded by 9 ha of woods and fields conducted organically, will allow you to spent a quiet relaxed moment not even 10 minutes from the spa town of Vichy.Your total wellbeing is our aim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Aux Jardins des Thevenets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing