We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arverna Citotel Vichy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arverna Citotel Vichy
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Vichy
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Once we found it we experienced a warm reception, help with our luggage to a spacious room with bath and balcony. There was plenty of hanging space, so a longer stay would have been a comfortable one. We were given good personal advice on where to dine, in addition to the booklet provided on arrival. The directions given on google maps were poor. Suggest using the IBIS site to get to the IBIS Vichy and then the sign for the Averna is 300m up Av. Victoria, on your right. If arriving by rail, it is just a short walk down from the station.

Room Tip: Pay for the upgrade from basic. Ours was well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarlingtonBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    114
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
74
180
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Global
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed a night on our way to Toulouse, now with a 11 month old we can't make the long trip all in one go. First time in Vichy a small town, with a cute downtown. The hotel is very conveniently located right in the heart of downtown but on a quiet street. We arrived early (12:00) because it was raining and they fixed up the room right away. They even upgraded us to a suite because we were traveling with a baby. The car park is 100 meters away and the owner offered to park the car for us. Then recommended a great crêperie just a block away for lunch. Overall a very pleasant stay in Vichy thanks to the hotel, since we spent a lot of the time in the room due to the rain.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadPaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We booked this as an overnight stay between Brussels and Agen-big mistake-firstly the whole of Vichy appeared to be dead on a Sunday night, and when quizzed the patron of our hotel simply shrugged his shoulders and recommended not one, not two but a total of three restaurants that he not only refused to book on our behalf, but that we later discovered, were all actually closed!.. We ended up in a (n independant, wood fired) pizza joint, which was actually rather good fun, but only by chance, and solely a result of our own assiduity and perseverance the only other hostelry we tried was a bar offering rugby on TV, but the worst, gassiest, weakest lager (and pretty much nothing else) that I had experienced since Wembley stadium (and that's saying something)...
The hotel itself appears to be stuck in about 1973... Lots of brown velvet, and rather tired decor... The showers were good, and the breakfast was better than normal (for a French hotel), with a decent selection of cold collations-but on the whole, I shouldn't just avoid the hotel, I should bypass the town!...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adams5905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier F, Propriétaire at Arverna Citotel Vichy, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Sir,
I wrote the review that you posted lately on Tripadvisor about our hotel.
You did not appreciate your stay in Vichy either at the Arverna Hotel and I ‘m sorry for that.

I agree with you that Vichy is not a very lively city in the evening specially on a Sunday of November.
It was a pity that you arrived in town late. I’m sure that you should have had another point of view if you had been checked in earlier than in the evening .
The queen of spa town is more animated in the course of the day as all shops, theaters, spas, are opened. Thousands of people coming from around visit Vichy every sunday of the year.

Regarding your comment about restaurants, we usually give to our guests a map of Vichy with a list of restaurants (days and hours of opening). Seven of them are opened on Sunday in the evening .
We did select and taste all the restaurants shown in the list and we don’t understand why we could have refused to reserve a table for diner in one of them at your request.
Concerning the decor that you described as tired and stucked in 1973, I'm also very surprised as since we have been running the hotel, my wife and I, we did every year, many works of renovation. We know that all is not perfect and the appreciation of decoration is personnal . We try every day to improve the comfort of our hotel.
In 2012, most of the rooms have been renovated and I assure you that there is no any brown velvet in the hotel as you wrote . Most of guests appreciate what we did and tell us about. Since, we have been awarded by contributors having written reviews on Tripadvisor about the Arverna Hotel.

Despite all of that, I thank you for your remark about the breakfast that you did appreciate.
I could not say anything about quality of a lager beer but I apologize that it reminded you a bad experience at the Wembley Stadium.


Best regards,
D.FOLIARD
Owner of Arverna Hotel, Vichy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Something tells me there are other mom-and-pop hotels in Vichy that are just as good as this one -- a likely candidate is just across the street, in fact -- but this property has achieved that coveted critical mass of positive tripadvisor reviews so that people come because, well, people come. It's a good choice, especially from the standpoint of location, on a quiet street just off the main drag, an easy walk to Vichy's pleasant sights from its heyday as an upper crust spa resort. Rooms can be very small, even by French standards, but the bathroom is one the nicest modular installations I have seen anywhere, spotless, beautifully tiled, and very cleverly laid out. Beds are comfortable with high quality sheets. The welcome at the desk is indeed warm, with good advice about parking options and directions as needed. As usual in French hotels, the breakfast is totally not worth it, with cafes and croissants close by on the main street.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chalouisduletz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
120 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Amazing location, lovely staff and the attention to detail was remarkable. I let my son crawl on the hotel floor it was so clean!!! The rooms were charming and recently updated. Would stay here again if in Vichy no question about it. My husband chose it because of the trip advisor reviews and they were right....

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doctorheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 811 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Hello again Folks,

Please find my review of the Hotel Arverna Citotel, Vichy. If you find the review of any help at all, please click the helpful green button at the end. THANKS!

We stayed at the hotel on Sunday 14th July, 2013.

We found the hotel with ease and was able to park directly outside on the street, free of charge, because it was a Sunday.

You could be excused for driving straight past this hotel, because the hotels appearance is not its strongest asset in my opinion, so I’m glad we read other TA reviews, prior to booking.

We were met by the Couple who run the hotel and they were very friendly and helpful indeed. Offering maps, informing of firework celebrations that evening and also a international horse show jumping competition down the road.

We left reception via a small lift and made our way to room 107 on the first floor. Once in the corridors, the hotel sparkled with new furnishings and carpet.

Our room was charged at 69.50 euros and was superb value for the money. It also had under gone recent refurbishment, although there were no tea / coffee making facilities and no safe that I recall. There was no bath, just a shower.

I have not made any comments on a/c, so I presume we had it and it was not an issue. We also enjoyed a lovely view of the rear courtyard, where guests could enjoy breakfast.

The hotel is in a leafy avenue, just off a main road where there are some bars and restaurants. The main town is a short walk away.

This is a little gem of a hotel and the couple who run / own the property, really made us feel welcome and we would both strongly recommend it.

Vichy itself:

It was our first visit here and we only stayed for an afternoon / night, so we do not pretend to be experts on it. We chose our stay here for geographical purposes, for our journey down to Spain. We was hoping that there would be more bars and restaurants to choose from and possibly more pedestrian areas.

The main hub of bars and restaurants were beside busy roads and junctions, which we thought a shame.

Horses for courses I suppose ?

Helpful associated reviews:

I have also reviewed Pizzeria Le Massilia, Vichy. If you benefit from either review, please give me some helpful votes. THANKS J

Gary.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruddstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Beautiful Vichy and nice spot for a hotel, near the center and pedestrian area with lovely cafes and brasseries. Lovely rooms and good wifi, nice hosts who speak good English. Free parking in nearby underground parking lot. Pretty quiet street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CleaJ_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vichy hotels
0.3 mi away
Vichy Celestins Spa Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Grignan
Hotel de Grignan
#3 of 30 in Vichy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Vichy Thermalia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Vichy
Ibis Vichy
#7 of 30 in Vichy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Biarritz
Hotel De Biarritz
#4 of 30 in Vichy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trianon Hotel Vichy
Trianon Hotel Vichy
#5 of 30 in Vichy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arverna Citotel Vichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arverna Citotel Vichy

Property: Arverna Citotel Vichy
Address: 12 rue Desbrest, 03200 Vichy, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Allier > Vichy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Vichy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arverna Citotel Vichy 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City hotel completely renovated, member of the Independent CITOTEL network, over 220 establishments in France, the Vichy ARVERNA CITOTEL will seduce you with the comfort of its modern rooms and its location in a quiet street in the center of the spa town. 23 contemporary rooms - all air conditioned - double glazing - free wifi - -secure Garage- Elevator - Lounge bar - Business Corner - meeting rooms- garden ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Arverna Citotel Vichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing