We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good budgethotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Volcan Hotel Ville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Volcan Hotel Ville
Ranked #32 of 61 Hotels in Clermont-Ferrand
Elne, France
Level Contributor
189 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Good budgethotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Very helpful and friendly staff. Hotel is right in the center, close to the restaurants. Nice view from our room (404) over the city. Cheap parking in the nearby secured parking. We will visit again!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patrickoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    39
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
13
25
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darjeeling, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Nice location, it is walking distance from tram station and nearby Place de Juade about 5 mins walk. The rooms aren't plush as it appears in the photographs. It is simple and very basic. The room is stayed in 104, did not even have a heater. It was cold in the month of September and I had to leave the bathroom blower on for heating!There was no one in the reception when I left early morning around 5.00 am, and I had a difficult time, as my taxi did not arrive and had I not taken my key card, I would be locked out with my luggage inside! Overall and average hotel but well located to explore Clermont-Ferrand nearby attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Navraj P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed there over a weekend and really appreciated its central location. Perfect to discover Clermont-Ferrand walking.
Rooms were a decent size, clean and had a flat screen.
Just make sure to ask for a room at the back at weekends: there is a night club close by so I think it could get a bit noisy.
Staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back at weekends: there is a night club close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loraine73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

A comfortable reasonably economic Hotel ,difficult to find at first attempt .Convenient to main Square and old quarter.Efficient staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keirhardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Stayed for a rugby weekend and this hotel was spot on. Rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. You are close to a multitudes of bars, eateries, the town square and even the tram stop. If your driving there is a underground carpark just opposite at a reasonable rate.

Room Tip: stairs are pretty narrow as is lift, so if health not 100% definitley look for room on lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fightingdentist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

The hotel is in a very central location a few minutes walk from the cathedral and main square (but it is around a 25 min walk from the station, but we travelled by car so this wasn't an issue). There are plenty of cafes, bakeries, bars, bistros etc to have breakfast and lunch. We ddin't have breakfast at the hotel as it was quite expensive (over 8 euros per person).

The rooms were a good size, very clean and well equipped with a hairdryer, television.

Staff were on the whole very helpful. One lady in particular at reception was extremely helpful as we had a problem with our hire car and she helpfully dealt with our hire car company over the phone to explain in french.

There was no bath in the bathroom but there was a good shower which was all we needed.

A shame that there were no tea and coffee facilities in the room but on the whole a great stay and would recommend this budget hotel in a good location.

Room Tip: ask for room on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank culture_vulture_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarratt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Rooms are basic, but comfortable, and we had a very good shower. Breakfast was above expectations and staff friendly and helpful. Great location 5 minutes from the Cathedral and 2 minutes from the tram. Thoroughly recommended as good value for money and location.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clermont-Ferrand hotels
0.4 mi away
Privilodges Carre de Jaude
Privilodges Carre de Jaude
#13 of 61 in Clermont-Ferrand
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apart Hotel Les Laureades
Apart Hotel Les Laureades
#45 of 61 in Clermont-Ferrand
3.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Lion
Hotel Le Lion
#11 of 61 in Clermont-Ferrand
4.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Bordeaux
Hotel de Bordeaux
#35 of 61 in Clermont-Ferrand
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dav' Hotel
Dav' Hotel
#37 of 61 in Clermont-Ferrand
4.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kyriad Clermont Ferrand Centre
Kyriad Clermont Ferrand Centre
#36 of 61 in Clermont-Ferrand
3.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcan Hotel Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcan Hotel Ville

Property: Volcan Hotel Ville
Address: 6 rue Sainte Rose, 63000, Clermont-Ferrand, France
Location: France > Auvergne > Puy-de-Dome > Clermont-Ferrand
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 61 Hotels in Clermont-Ferrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Volcan Hotel Ville 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Volcan Hotel Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcan Hotel Clermont Ferrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing