We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Hotel Oceania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Oceania
Ranked #3 of 60 Hotels in Clermont-Ferrand
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Clermont, in the middle of the Masif Central, is off the beaten track, therefore to find a really good hotel, is surprising but good news. The room was spacious, the bed large and comfortable, the shower wonderful! Any breakfast that can start with REAL orange juice and good coffee, can't go wrong. There is an aroma steam room and jacuzzi. The hotel is a 5 minute stroll from the main square. Very convenient. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    324
    79
    13
    7
See reviews for
142
302
25
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Great value for the price, single room with somethink you could call a view and inventive room separation with a half open connection to the bath, nice surprise and stylish. Great bed, nice breakfast, can absoluteley recommend !)

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank B V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I stayed 2 night at the Oceania Hotel in Clermont Ferrand for business. The Hotel has been completely renovated and the room I stayed was absolutely great. I had dinner at the restaurant of the Hotel and I was impressed by the quality of the food: excellent. The Breakfast this morning has been a wonderful surprise: the best scrambled eggs I have ever ate (and I am difficult). The whole Buffet needs to be rated 10/10. Business lunch at the Hotel, and again the food was excellent. i recommend as well the desserts!
Maybe the only think which was not perfect was the pillow but this Hotel delivers excellence! A very good job from the Management.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mich255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed here seven years ago whenthe hotel was under old management and or left a lot to be desired. However I was pleasantly surprised to see the modern changes and renovations on my most recent trip to France. The rooms are a good size with completely modern bathrooms. The brunch offering has something for everyone and the hotel is walking distance to the Place de Jaude.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zena2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I was in Clermont-Ferrand recently for business and stayed one night at the Oceania. It was a good hotel for a business traveler, the location was easy to find, the rooms are recently renovated in a modern style, the lobby is spacious and there is secure under ground parking which is a really nice feature (though you have to keep your eyes open to find it - park first then go upstairs to check in). The staff were pleasant enough and certainly not overbearing. At the front desk they speak English.

The part of town was nice, clearly in the area where a lot of university students hang out and there is a large bookstore next door. It is walking distance to restaurants (I recommend Les Kancres @ 4 rue St Vincent de Paul if you want a nice meal and the proprietor speaks English).

If I find myself in Clermont-Ferrand for business again the Oceania is likely where I would stay. If you are on a personal vacation, the hotel will be fine, but I would search for something with more character and perhaps in the old center of town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

En route to the South of France I selected a hotel on bookings.com and hoped for the best! After 8 hours from Calais we arrived tired - and a bit emotional. Our main concern was a car full of camping guy and a hotel that appeared to offer no parking. Thankfully a quick trip to reception confirmed the parking is under the hotel! So we parked our car securely without having to empty it.

The room itself was lovely, obviously recently done and very fresh. Great shower - just what we needed after a long drive.

Unfortunately (and annoyingly) the restaurant was closed but we ate locally.

Would stay again if I need a stayover in C-F.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londonN7boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stopped over here on our way to the south of France without a reservation. We were shown to a lovely room which had just been renovated and it was all very modern. There was tea/coffee making facilities as well as WiFI. There was secure underground parking for the car right under the hotel which was a bonus. We had dinner in the hotel's lively dining room where the service was slick and friendly. I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clermont-Ferrand hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Clermont Ferrand Centre Jaude
Mercure Clermont Ferrand Centre ...
#1 of 60 in Clermont-Ferrand
641 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Suites Clermont Ferrand Polydome
Novotel Suites Clermont Ferrand ...
#4 of 60 in Clermont-Ferrand
606 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Litteraire Alexandre Vialatte
Best Western Plus Hotel Litterai...
#13 of 60 in Clermont-Ferrand
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Campanile Clermont Ferrand Centre
Campanile Clermont Ferrand Centr...
#2 of 60 in Clermont-Ferrand
283 reviews
3.0 mi away
Novotel Clermont Ferrand
Novotel Clermont Ferrand
#5 of 60 in Clermont-Ferrand
958 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Lion
Hotel Le Lion
#9 of 60 in Clermont-Ferrand
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oceania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oceania

Property: Hotel Oceania
Address: 82 boulevard Francois Mitterrand, 63000, Clermont-Ferrand, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Puy-de-Dome > Clermont-Ferrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Clermont-Ferrand
#2 Romantic Hotel in Clermont-Ferrand
#2 Business Hotel in Clermont-Ferrand
#2 Luxury Hotel in Clermont-Ferrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oceania 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Clermont Ferrand Centre is located in the city centre, right next to the town hall and close to the Place de Jaude and the Polydome exhibition and convention centre. An ideal location for business travellers, this 123 room hotel offers eightmeeting rooms for your training days and seminars, and enjoys stunning panoramic views of Puy de Dome plus the convenience of the tram. Our restaurant serving traditional cuisine is open every day except for lunchtime on Saturdays and Sundays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Oceania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Clermont Ferrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing