We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful”

Restaurant Chez Pablo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was actually our third choice, but the other two were closed. Purely based on previous reviews, our expectations were high. Disappointed is not the word. We both had prawns in garlic for starters, for a place awash with fish, we expected far better. Virtually tasteless and rubbery. Main course fish was a little better, but Confit Duck was way over-cooked. The frites were frankly awful. It might be energetic and there is a lot of banter, but the food is just not good enough.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JST001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    215
    37
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Memory”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

Every now and then you stumble across a very foreign restaurant in which you feel you were raised as a child at a family table. On a cold, rainy Sunday afternoon, my wife and I were treated as family guests in a packed and energetic dining area where locals were truly enjoying themselves and the wonderful home cooking. Grilled sardines and potee au veau (raised on the proprietor's farm) filled us, but the sincere warmth of those seated around us and serving us made the lasting memory of a great time and place.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank finder45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Authentic and unpretentious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Chez Pablo allows you to kid yourself that you're not really a tourist ......... for a minute or two, you've lived in Saint-Jean-de-Luz for years ....you speak French like a native .......... your mates will be arriving in 5 minutes. It's utterly fabulous. Great ambience - and when we ate there it was lively, full and vibrant , a full-on lunchtime session. The interior is charming in a non-pretentious, down to earth way. The greeting, seating and service is friendly and efficient. The food, proper Basque cuisine, no frills - just home cooked, tasty dishes. You have to try it.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bibs28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“My Kind of Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

This place is what I always look for when I travel. A place with outstanding food, a place were the "locals" actual go and fair pricing. As other reviews have stated this place is nothing fancy so if you are looking for a touristy place that looks good this is not your place. But if you want excellent local food in a unpretentious surrondings this is the place. Be adventurious and order something you would not normally order....you might be surprised.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Basque Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

My partner and I are driving up the Basque Country and currently find ourselves in St. Jean-de-Luz. Steps from the old town Chez Pablo promises an authentic Basque menu without the stampede of tourists shopping through the narrow pedestrian paths. The owner, a charming man with a great sense of humor personally greets all incoming patrons. The menu is simple and based on supply, but offers plenty of variety. If a lover of seafood try the "assiette Pablo", a sampler of shellfish. The morue a la tomate (cod) is exquisite. Be sure to arrive at a reasonnable hour!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Zasfresco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Chez Pablo also viewed

Saint-Jean-de-Luz, Basque Country
Saint-Jean-de-Luz, Basque Country
 
Saint-Jean-de-Luz, Basque Country
Saint-Jean-de-Luz, Basque Country
 
Saint-Jean-de-Luz, Basque Country
Saint-Jean-de-Luz, Basque Country
 

Been to Restaurant Chez Pablo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing