We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean basic hotel, no elevator”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Petit Trianon
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Reviewed October 18, 2013

the GOOD: excellent location, free parking on the street, crisp linens, friendly staff, clean rooms, a/c, free internet, decent sized room (for Europe), boulangerie/patisserie down the street for breakfast.

the BAD: no elevator, no in-room coffee/tea, no desk in room, spotty internet.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lamome108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Petit Trianon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 150 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

Good location but oh so noisy, room is nice but the traffic noise out side is driving me crazy as is the noise from the other rooms. I can hear every foot step, every conversation, every door, every one who is climbing the stairs. Reception is closed so I cannot see anyone to change rooms.
On the positive ten young lady on reception when I checked in spoke excellent English and they have a garage for me to secure my bike

Room Tip: Get one at the back
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We booked a triple room for one night for our stopover in lovely Saint Jean de Luz. The hotel is in a great location, a short walk to the train and bus station, shopping area and the beach.
The room itself was adequate, a double and a single. The bathroom was small but fine, however the overall smell in the room was musty and the decor needs updating.
Breakfast was overpriced, eight euros for croissants and a small selection of cheese, ham, toast and warm yogurts.
The staff were very helpful and the wifi connection was too weak to use, however there is a very pretty terrace for sitting out in and the lobby is quaint and very typically French. If your looking for basic accommodation in a good location then this hotel is fine and will do the job.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We took the family room (1 double bed 2 single beds) at the top of the hotel (no lift); the room was remarkably spacious, and perfect for 2 adults and two children (13 and 11). Bathroom privacy was a bit limited, with the thin sliding door sometimes drifting ajar, but we could live with that for the price, space, and location. It was quiet when we stayed (pre-season) but on our final night my wife was woken by the snores coming from our neighbours' room, so ear-plugs may be in order for the light sleeper. Otherwise friendly, helpful, and would certainly stay again. Breakfast was perfectly adequate, too. 2* France at or near its best. Didn't need a/c, so no info on its efficacy in high summer.

Room Tip: Top room great for families with children, though no lift, so not good for anyone who may struggle c...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugecans_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

I agree with other reviewers. This clearly feels like a budget hotel. Has what you need and is well located, clean and safe,bed comfortable, but decor is very dated. It was what was available. But they were very accommodating in securing the rooms we wanted, helping with parking of our large van, and asisting with restaurant reservations. No complaints. If you want more , pay more somewhere else.

Room Tip: Some of their "superior doubles" are actually triples )extra small bed, same price). If y...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JanetFtMyersFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Most of the trip advisor recommendations were full and got a last minute deal for a family of 4. Great, charming, clean hotel - a few minutes walk to town, parked next to a police station. We had a family room (2 adjacent rooms) with a bathroom on the very top floor. Only drawback is no elevator - a little difficult transferring luggage for a family of 4, top floor. Tall people might have a little problem with this room, but not us. About 300e for 2 nights.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gonzfamilyexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

This hotel definitely exudes a sense of “budget” lodging, but it was clean and mostly quiet. There was some shared room noise like doors and footsteps, but no street noise (at least not from the “courtyard” side). The pluses are that it is convenient to the train station and to the town/waterfront, and very good price. But the room is VERY tiny (even compared to travelling throughout France for 3 weeks) as is the bathroom and shower. I won’t stay here again, or recommend this hotel, because it was much too cramped for me, and again - while clean, had a bit of a dingy feel to the decor - but if you really just want ultra-budget convenience to the train station and to the activity of the town without being in the heart, then this offers good price.
Another plus was the front desk service was very polite and friendly.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank UnsheepishlySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Jean-de-Luz hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel les Goelands
Hotel les Goelands
#6 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
448 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Arena
Hotel Arena
#10 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
261 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Reserve
La Reserve
#4 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel de La Poste
Grand Hotel de La Poste
#12 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Relais Saint Jacques
Hotel Le Relais Saint Jacques
#11 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Paris
Hotel De Paris
#14 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Petit Trianon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Petit Trianon

Address: 56 boulevard Victor Hugo, 64500 Saint-Jean-de-Luz, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Price Range: $90 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Petit Trianon 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Le Petit Trianon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing