We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels we've stayed in!”
Review of Hotel La Marisa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Marisa
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Watford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels we've stayed in!”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I have stayed in hundreds of hotels and this is one of the best. It is clean, comfortable, very well appointed, and above all the owner and staff are some of the friendliest and flexible I have encountered. They really did their best to make our holiday as enjoyable a possible. Also St Jean de Luz is a very busy resort but La Marisa provided us with an oasis of calm and peace whilst being just 50m from the beach.

I am looking forward to going back there again as it is a really special place - Brilliant!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndygWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    72
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
263
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We visited from Canada and stayed for several days and had a fabulous time. This is a comfortable, clean and charming hotel. Wonderful breakfast and lovely garden patio. Sylvie and her staff enhanced our visit with their friendliness and great tips. We will be sure to return and recommend La Marissa to all who visit St Jean de Luz.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan154992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

A charming hotel, with amazingly personal and attentive service. The rooms have character and the location, near the beach and many activities, can't be beat. The proprietress was truly concerned with the needs and happiness of each guest. Lovely small courtyard for breakfast. Rooms on the street, while noisier, also catch the ocean breezes. The ones in the back are peaceful, but could use some AC in summer. Still, a great choice overall. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diotimadancing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

What a lovely little hotel. An excellent location, close to sea and town centre, very friendly staff, well furnished and attractive rooms (rare in French hotels). One word of warning, take the parking option at 11 Euros a day. Parking is a nightmare in St Jean de Luz, and this gives you a pass to get in and out of a multistory park 5 minutes away as often as you like. Breakfast was delightful in their little courtyard.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDSDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thalwil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Top notch service sets this hotel apart. From the moment of arrival until departure, we were treated exceptionally. The location is very good - - 2 minute walk to beach, shops, cafes. The rooms were nicely done, and very clean. The patio area is very nice. We had breakfast one day, and it was nice, but given the additional price for it, we ended up preferring to breakfast at a local cafe. Charming, relaxing and just an overall great place to stay - wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpatInCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Excellent location, close to the beach and city center. Sylvie and Mehdi are more than helpful. They make you feel at home at once.
They help you out with everything you need. This is a place you will go back to because of the friendly atmosphere. Lovely little garden, full of flowers. Book a parkingspace for the car. They are reallly hard to find in SJDL. Enjoy

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarinaUrban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

A good value, centrally located hotel with very friendly staff and comfortable rooms.
What more could one want in the expensive town of St Jean?
We worried that as our room was by the lift we would be disturbed by noise. In fact it is hydraulic and was absolutely silent. The bedroom was slightly cramped as was the shower, but as another reviewer stated this is to be expected in lower cost French town hotels.
Our only gripe is that the breakfast room gets overloaded in bad weather - which we had plenty of! There is a charming small garden and terrace where one can breakfast in good weather.
A warning is that the hotel is very difficult to find by car - satnavs are useless as there are lots of small one way streets - and parking is very difficult. Make sure you book car parking arranged by the hotel in a close by public car park before your arrival. There is a convenient reserved bay outside for loading and unloading luggage.
The staff are all charming with particular mention of the charming lady in charge and Mehdi who was most helpful and accommodating.
We thoroughly recommend this sweet convenient hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Jean-de-Luz hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Plage
Hotel de la Plage
#7 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Txoko
Hotel Txoko
#5 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Grand Hotel Thalasso & Spa
#3 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Relais Saint Jacques
Hotel Le Relais Saint Jacques
#10 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Parc Victoria
Hotel Parc Victoria
#2 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
268 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Reserve
La Reserve
#4 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Marisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Marisa

Property: Hotel La Marisa
Address: 16, rue Sopite, 64500 Saint-Jean-de-Luz, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
#2 Green Hotel in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Marisa 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Marisa is an hotel of charm, 3* star, located idyllically in the historic center, within 30 meters walking to the beach.Taking into account every traveler's needs, we put a lot of effort, so that you feel home. You will note that our rooms are all personalized where the old and the modern mix well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel La Marisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Marisa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing