We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to promise not to tell anyone about this hotel. Ok?”
Review of Hotel de la Plage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de la Plage
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This was the second time we've been to this unassuming little hotel in the charming, quiet town of St. Jean de Luz on the Atlantic coast of France, just above San Sebastián and below Biarritz. Quiet is the key to this town. Pretty much closes down by 9:30. But the beach is great, as is the Basque food, great seafood, boutiques,and architecture. The hotel is right on the beach, one of the few so situated in town. It is clean and many rooms have decks. For an oceanfront room, with a deck it's around $200. Try getting that in the glitzier towns to the north and south. Staff is friendly, speaks English, and gives good advice. Breakfast is inexpensive and all you need. Just don' tell anyone, we may want to come back and want to make sure we can still get a room.

Room Tip: Try to get a deck. Think wine, foi gras, local cheese, an ocean breeze, out on the deck overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 238 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

A last minute reservation did not get us an ocean front room, but this is a great little hotel located right on the beach. The room was modern, very clean and spacious for a reasonable price. The personnel is very welcoming (French and English) and provided top quality service. There is parking for 10 euros a night and this is highly recommended. A definite "keeper" when we return. The breakfast was OK...a little expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach front room, but be prepared to pay more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EBLMontjoiFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

The staff and accomodations were excellent. The price was very reasonable. The location and view of the bay were extraordinary. Beautiful walking area all along the water and beach right out front of the hotel. Plenty of specialty shops and only 3 blocks from the center city plaza. Very clean, proud community. Ask for a room looking out on the water. Since we drove in, the GPS got us there, but we could have done it on the excellent city tourist signage alone. The staff assisted with luggage and provided excellent advice on places to eat a few doors away. Request parking if you need it, but a public, underground lot is also available 2 blocks away. This was the best location we had during our 15 days driving in France.

Room Tip: Ask for the beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

The perfect hotel for a stay in St Jean de Luz with its fabulous location right on the beach. A warm welcome from friendly and courteous staff, the entire building is spotlessly clean and furnished in a traditional style.
I stayed several nights in a junior suite on the second floor. This gave me a more spacious room, but the trade off was no direct sea view (although I could see it from my balcony). However, there's all day to stroll along the front and take in the magnificent view, so to me the space was more important.
Plenty of restaurants within minutes walk if you don't fancy the first class 'Le Brouillarta' attached to the hotel. The hotel breakfast is of very good quality and the attentive staff ensure that it's always fresh; it will set you up for a day enjoying the town.
The private, secure valet parking is, in my view, well worth booking in advance as, for €15 a night, it saves the trouble of trying to find a space.
This is a good hotel with traditional values of service and quality; I enjoyed an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Front rooms if you want a view over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in the family room, what an amazing view and walking distance to shops/restaurants. Nothing better to fall asleep with the sound of the sea and having breakfast overlooking the ocean. Rooms and overall everything was very clean. Will definately return!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Girodot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The perfect traditional French beach holiday hotel - warm welcome, spotlessly clean, traditional style. Fabulous location right on the beach. Within minutes of many restaurants and bars, but in quiet location. Idyllic. Plan to return,

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFG161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were ever so happy with this selection with an ocean front balcony! The front desk was incredibly accommodating and friendly. So many restaurants to walk to. We didn't use our car at all during the stay. Breakfast is worth paying for as outside options are very few. Quiet, clean, felt very first class! Best choice in this town for a place to stay.

Room Tip: pay the extra for an ocean front balcony and book way in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dchof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Jean-de-Luz hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Grand Hotel Thalasso & Spa
#2 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
626 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Parc Victoria
Hotel Parc Victoria
#3 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
297 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Reserve
La Reserve
#4 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Txoko
Hotel Txoko
#5 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Marisa
Hotel La Marisa
#8 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Helianthal
Hotel Helianthal
#13 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Plage

Address: Promenade Jacques Thibaud | 33 Rue Garat, 64500 Saint-Jean-de-Luz, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
#3 Family Hotel in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Price Range: $127 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Plage 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your room in front of the oceanIn the heart of the historic center of St jean de luz... The hotel de la plage, an exceptional situation in Saint Jean de Luz, close to the old harbour and the beaches of fine sand. At A few steps from the hotel, the lovers can stroll in the old quarters of Saint Jean de Luz and admire on their way the fish market. Gourmets will find on-site or in the neighbouring several restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de la Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Plage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing