We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delight”
Review of La Reserve

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Reserve
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
East of england
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A Delight”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Driving back to the from the Quinta da Horta, Ferragudo, Portugal this was our second stop and what a delight.
The staff were polite and helpful, most spoke good English and were happy to do so.
The room was comfortable, clean and well equipped.
The gardens were beautiful, as was the outdoor infinity pool.
The food in the restaurant was excellent.

On the downside there is no indoor pool and we broke the record for our most expensive meal ever after 6 years (only by €4.25 mind you)

Room Tip: A sea view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    218
    47
    27
    7
See reviews for
133
384
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ostrava
Level Contributor
113 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I spent 3 days and night in this calm hotel with beautiful view to the Ocean. Hotel was very tranquil, smooth with very decent staff. Room was ordinary to a four star, bed was comfortable, I slept very well. Breakfast was buffet style, but lunch - it was amazing, tasty, wonderfull. I recommned this hotel .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliusO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culemborg
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stay in this beautiful hotel with our friends.
Nice hotel, very good situated, but we thought we should have diner in the restaurant, and when we came over the receptionist told me that the restaurant was closed because of a wedding....
That was a pitty for us..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hotel is in a fabulous location overlooking the Atlantic with an infinity pool.
We had a slightly more expensive club room which whilst was very good it just lacked a few touches that you might expect for the price..yes we had a little terrace with wooden loungers but no pads and once you sat on them you only could see a wall and not the beautiful view. Fridge in the room but no tea tray which ok is a very british expectation but when a large coffee is over 5 euros at the bar it would be nice to have the chance to make an occasional tea or coffee. Breakfast at 16 euros seemed pricey so we opted to take the beautiful walk down the coast path into the main town.
The staff were helpful and very professional.

Our room was very well sound proofed and even leaving the windows open at night the only sound was of the sea and the birds...idyllic.
May try an appartment in La Residence next time as these have use of the same hotel facilities but have some self catering options which may help extend the holiday budget whilst enjoying the beautiful location and view.

Will definitely return...

Room Tip: Club rooms have a side view of the sea and ocean rooms a more direct view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevs_and_Deirdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Great room with view on the Ocean. The swimming pool is great as well. Breakfast is excellent.
The hotel is 1km away from the city center but the path to go there is fantastic along the coast. The only negative point would be the crowd around the swimming pool with kids making a lot of noise. A pity when you are with your wife for a one-day break from your own kids....

Room Tip: select rooms with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xavier J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stayed 4 nights rooms clean. Budget room tight on space and could be noisy as you maybe located over the car park and entrance to hotel. Noise was not an issue for our stay. Did not use restaurant as better value in town. walk to town about 15 minutes very enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fair23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Jean-de-Luz
0.4 mi away
Hotel Parc Victoria
Hotel Parc Victoria
#2 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
269 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Grand Hotel Thalasso & Spa
#3 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
514 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel les Goelands
Hotel les Goelands
#6 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Le Regina Biarritz Hotel & Spa - MGallery Collection
0.9 mi away
Hotel de la Plage
Hotel de la Plage
#7 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
222 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Les Almadies
Hotel Les Almadies
#1 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Reserve

Property: La Reserve
Address: 1 Avenue Gaetan de Bernoville | Rond Point Sainte Barbe, 64500 Saint-Jean-de-Luz, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
#3 Green Hotel in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
#4 Family Hotel in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled magnificently above the Atlantic, Hôtel La Réserve offers an exceptional view of the ocean whose shimmering blue waters interact playfully with the rays of sun. With a spectacular clifftop setting, this charming hotel benefits from a breathtaking panorama where sea spray and salty breezes floating in from the ocean provide a soothing lull for romantic souls ... Surrounded by a park of 3 hectares, this typical Basque villa offers comfortable, elegantly decorated rooms with large bay windows, some of them featuring seafront balconies and terraces. Hôtel : Open : 1st of Marc 2017 Résidence: Open: 1st of July 2017 No swimming pool this year ( new one in 2018) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your La Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Reserve Hotel Saint-Jean-De-Luz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing