We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Location”
Review of La Reserve

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Reserve
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Location”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We spent 3 days here in a "club room" which was very nice, it had been recently updated and was very light,clean and modern. The balcony was to the side of the room with a sea view and was private with 2 loungers. The pool area is lovely - plenty of loungers and with stunning views over the bay. The negatives - the price of breakfast 16 euros each, and the evening meals and drinks were also expensive. It is a lovely walk into town so spent our money in town at more reasonable establishments which there are plenty to choose from. We had taken a travel kettle which came in very handy, there was a refrigirator to keep milk etc.
We would have prob been better staying in the apartment block which is next door, and looks just as good as the hotel rooms.
St Jean de Luz is a lovely town with lots of lovely walks and also Biarritz is superb.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Liz52_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    228
    51
    29
    8
See reviews for
145
398
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

the hotel is perfectly located, the rooms are so clean and spacious, staff are so helpful and professional, we had straight access to the swimming pool from our room was so nice. saint jean de luz is a lovely town.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bouchra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Considerably less money than the last property we stayed and has a lovely view. The rooms are clean and comfortable, staff is super nice and accomodating. Great food at restaurant. 10 minute walk by path to town.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabiolaabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

La Reserve has two sections, one more motel like, the other a bit more upscale. The rooms were impeccably clean, but needed some painting/updating and the bedding is not up to par for a luxury hotel, thin pillows, and sheets, no comforters or duvets. The fitness area has some deferred maintenance also, holes in the wall, needs painting, etc, but the pool is incredible with comfortable chairs and sweeping views. The lobby area is small, but there is great seating outdoors. The service is mixed with some individuals at the lobby desk as well as the manager, extremely courteous and professional, but another individual very unfriendly. The hotel has a no-smoking policy, yet the individuals in the room next door were smoking on their balcony, and the smoke kept coming into our room, so although we had a lovely oceanfront room, couldn't utilize it because of the smoke. The front desk said they couldn't do anything about it, because they were smoking on their balcony, not in their room. The breakfast was quite nice, with great service, but the same thing every day, it would be good if they had variety every few days so the long term guests wouldn't have the same thing day after day. To speak on the hotel's behalf, it was near the end of their season, and perhaps the place was just showing some wear and tear. Overall, I would stay here again, in spite of these issues, because it is one of the better places in St Jean de Luz.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savvytraveler101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

My husband and I spent two weeks in October in this hotel. We occupied studio apartment.
Hotel is situated in quite, pickturesque place, but not far from town center. It was a bit difficult to find hotel first time, but later we did not have any problems (a lot of sign show the direction). Location is very good: 5 minutes drive by car to town center, 15 minutes walk.
Studio was clean and nice. It was cold in the night and we used heater.
The only remark: no kitchen towel, sponge and liquid for dishwashing.
We did not use any hotel facility: sauna, pool, even restaurant (a lot of fantastic places in downtown). Parking is very close to the building. Staff is polite and helpful.
I can recommed this hotel to families with children and couples, who wants to discover France and Spain.
Can recommend restaurant Le Dauphin (Moules Fritas is fantastic)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Userustus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We chose to ignore many bad reviews of this place as they seemed to come from before the hotel was renovated, we thought we would take a chance. However we were wrong. The hotel is situated on a lovely reserve area with views over the ocean and a nice swimming pool. Outside of that, the facilities and service were poor. We had looked forward to a nice relaxing break but in the end were happy to leave.

The restaurant prices were extortionate with something nearing on 20 euros each for a continental breakfast. We chose to get food from the supermarket in town for breakfast instead. We did buy 2 coffees with milk which cost us 10 euros - we did not make that mistake twice.
The dinner menu was in line with these prices so again we ate in town.

We wanted to do some laundry and were not sure if we could. I asked the reception staff if they had a booklet with details of the hotel facilities and things to do in the area (usually standard in any hotel). The woman said she did not have any spare, so what did I want to know. I asked about laundry and she just pointed in the general direction of the laundry (7 euro per wash, and powder extra) and also pointed in the general direction to town.

We did not feel overly welcome in this place and for the price we paid we left largely unsatisfied.
I would not recommend this place unless you are willing to pay a large amount of money for nothing special.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We had a great stay due to the perfect location of this property in St-Jean-de-luz. It is easy to get out of town by car and avoid traffic to discover the Basque country. It is located in a quiet residential area and it only takes a few minutes walk to get downtown. The coastal path being nearby, it gives also many possibilities for an easy discovery of the coast and ideas for walks along the alternate of cliffs and beaches in the surroundings. The heated infinity pool is simply amazing and directly overlooks the ocean (breathtaking cliff-edge view). We stayed in the Residence rental section of La Reserve which is next to the hotel building, is surrounded by a large garden and also gives direct access on ocean views. We were able to get connecting rooms since we needed 2 rooms. The facilities are well maintained and the atmosphere was very quiet and relaxing even in peak summer season. I would recommend it for the ocean views.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_maple_leaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Jean-de-Luz
0.4 mi away
Hotel Parc Victoria
Hotel Parc Victoria
#2 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
283 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Grand Hotel Thalasso & Spa
#3 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
542 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel les Goelands
Hotel les Goelands
#6 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Arena
Hotel Arena
#9 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
251 reviews
8.2 mi away
Le Regina Biarritz Hotel & Spa - MGallery Collection
1.7 mi away
Hotel Chantaco Golf & Wellness
Hotel Chantaco Golf & Wellness
#26 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Reserve

Property: La Reserve
Address: 1 Avenue Gaetan de Bernoville | Rond Point Sainte Barbe, 64500 Saint-Jean-de-Luz, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
#3 Green Hotel in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
#4 Family Hotel in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled magnificently above the Atlantic, Hôtel La Réserve offers an exceptional view of the ocean whose shimmering blue waters interact playfully with the rays of sun. With a spectacular clifftop setting, this charming hotel benefits from a breathtaking panorama where sea spray and salty breezes floating in from the ocean provide a soothing lull for romantic souls ... Surrounded by a park of 3 hectares, this typical Basque villa offers comfortable, elegantly decorated rooms with large bay windows, some of them featuring seafront balconies and terraces. Hôtel : Open : 1st of Marc 2017 Résidence: Open: 1st of July 2017 No swimming pool this year ( new one in 2018) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your La Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Reserve Hotel Saint-Jean-De-Luz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing