We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretend you're a medieval lord or lady”
Review of Chateau d'Urtubie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau d'Urtubie
Certificate of Excellence
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pretend you're a medieval lord or lady”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

The Chateau d'Urtubie is a unique "b&b" in that it is a beautiful castle dating to 1341. Our lovely room - decorated with toile linens and antiques - had an adjoining bath that was in the turret of this lovely venue. And the bath was spacious and modern with lovely green tile. We were greeted by the Count (the owner) , who is charming and helpful, and is a direct descendant of the original family which built the castle. We stayed here for five days, loving every minute of it, and exploring the coast and the Basque countryside as well as venturing into Spain to see the Guggenheim Museum in Bilbao, only an hour and a half drive. It was fun to see all the French tourists coming to see the castle, but it did not interfere at all with our privacy or the quiet of the place. Don't miss the private chapel and l'orangerie. A car is a must here as there is really nothing within walking distance except the very good restaurant owned by the Count's brother. This is a bit of a disadvantage, but St. Jean de Luz is only a ten minute drive at the most. We would definitely stay here another time.

Room Tip: I imagine all the rooms are good from a comfort and attractiveness point of view. Our room overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katalin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    30
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
25
119
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We only stayed one night but wish we had more time to stay for longer! This is one place we will definitely be coming back to. The room was large, full of character, clean and comfortable, with a lovely view. Huge bed which was very comfortable. The host was very charming and helpful. The breakfast was tasty, lots of choice and able to have as much as you wanted. We enjoyed our meal at our host's brother's restaurant, however his estimate of the restaurant being a 5 min walk from the chateau, was a little ambitious! We did it at a smart pace in the dark in 15 mins and we would advise having a torch as there were no lights across the field!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

My wife and I booked here based on trip advisor. We wanted to visit the Basque area of France and several beaches. This Chateau is exceptional in every way!! We have stayed in other chateaus but this is a level above. Met by the owner ( in family since 1341) and given a personal tour and then sought us out to say goodbye night before we left. The entire staff is most gracious and helpful with recommendations. The owner's brother's restaurant is not to be missed! Great young and creative chef at a great price point. The hotel bedrooms were exceptionally maintained and modern. Walk the grounds in morning for a special experience. Can't say enough about how helpful Charlotte, hotel manager, was. Fluent in at least three languages, she is an exceptional source of information about chateau and surrounding area. This Chateau is not to be missed!! We are already looking forward to returning!!

Room Tip: Try to book a room overlooking garden for total experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

There are lots of hotels with , no doubt, better views or bigger swimming pools. To think like that would be to miss the point: this is not so much a hotel as a piece of history in which a few lucky people can, for a few days, imagine themselves to be living there. The agreeable feature of having a key to the tower, rather than having to pass by reception, fosters this illusion; so does the relaxed hospitality of M de Coral, and even the slightly, charmingly, faded grandeur of the rooms. It was a real treat [in France] to be shown the tea/drinks cupboard, fresh milk included, tucked under the staircase in the tower.
Our room, with large bathroom, was larger and far more attractive than any comparably priced room in a standard hotel. The essentials [comfortable bed, plumbing, and excellent sound insulation] have been added to a setting that looks otherwise much as it would have done any time in the last two centuries. In an age where hotel rooms are either blandly identical or overtly design-conscious it is a peculiarly relaxing place.
As others have said, the breakfast is good [in a rather dark room]; we also highly recommend the family restaurant, c800m away down a nearby lane.
Some inconsiderate highway builders have, sadly, run the main road and motorway to Spain right past the chateau. This is a cause for regret when outside, but the noise isn't an issue within.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finnbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahamas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed 3 nights at this amazing Chateau, lovely property, you are personaly welcomed, rooms are very comfortable and very good french breakfast, fresh croissants and baguette, highly recommend it and will try to go back, because Saint-Jean De Luz is such a beautiful place to visit, it was the hi.ghlight of our trip

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zaragovia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Oh, my word, what a fabulous place to stay! This is truly a castle, on which building started in 1341 and is still owned and lived in by members of the original family. We were met and welcomed and then given a guided tour by the present owner, the Comte de Coral, who is a charming host who takes great trouble to ensure his guests enjoy their stay in his home. He has done an excellent job of providing accommodation to meet the requirements of discerning, 21st century travellers without detracting from the character of the wonderful old building. Our room was spacious and comfortable with modern bathroom and WC facilities yet it retained the fascinating feel of being in an ancient, history laden building. We loved being given our own key to the castle, for late evening access: a large brass key to open the centuries old lock on the solid wooden door!
We dined at the nearby restaurant which is owned by the count’s brother and another first-rate establishment: they will book a table for you from the chateau. We so enjoyed our 2 night stay here that we shall almost certainly return, like an Australian couple who were staying at the same time as us and had returned after their first visit 11 years ago.

Room Tip: Ask Laurent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterwarne3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Imagine ..... you're a very special guest in a beautiful 500 year old chateau .... that is a living museum (with numerous 400 year old tapestries and armour) .... owned and operated by the same proud and noble French family for 14 generations....
This is Chateau d'Urtubie, located near the fashionable seaside resort of St Jean de Luz, only 10 minutes drive West from the heart of the most magnificent Basque countryside. The chateau is surrounded by 200+ year old trees and some beautiful gardens (+ swimming pool) and it provides the best possible base from which to explore this fascinating part of the world. The rooms were tastefully and traditionally furnished with antiques (I think our bed was dated 1666) and the hosts (Laurent & Odile) speak fluent English and are charming.
We leveraged off their local knowledge to find the best restaraunts and day trips.
The breakfast provided each morning was excellent and we had the opportunity to use their extensive gardens at our leisure.
We travel often .... and we return to this chateau ... as it stay stands out as something really quite special for us ..... and fortunately for us, nothing much seems to change.

Room Tip: speak to Laurent (we stayed Green Room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrueAussieBattler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Jean-de-Luz hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Parc Victoria
Hotel Parc Victoria
#3 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Grand Hotel Thalasso & Spa
#2 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Reserve
La Reserve
#4 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Le Relais Saint Jacques
Hotel Le Relais Saint Jacques
#9 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Les Almadies
Hotel Les Almadies
#1 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel les Goelands
Hotel les Goelands
#7 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau d'Urtubie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau d'Urtubie

Property: Chateau d'Urtubie
Address: Urrugne, 64122 Saint-Jean-de-Luz, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau d'Urtubie 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the beaches of Saint Jean de Luz on the Spanish border, this fortified castle has belonged to the same family since it was built in 1341. Louis XI once visited the château, now renowned for its fine 16th and 18th century architecture and splendid 17th century lounges. It was raised to the status of Viscounty by Louis XIV. In the carefully restored interiors, it is easy to imagine the past splendour of the place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Chateau d'Urtubie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau d`Urtubie Hotel Saint-Jean-De-Luz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing