We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good position but very hot rooms with flimsy curtains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel de La Poste
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

our room was clean and smallish but adequate except that the lack of air conditioning made it that we had to open the window which then made it that we could hear all the street noise. that coupled with the fact that the curtains are white with no backing material so all the street lighting as well of course as the sun in the morning made for a very poor night sleep, and we were up with the sun and the town rubbish collection truck. we only stayed the one night obviously.
expensive room for the lack of good night sleep.
very pretty but very touristic little town well worth the detour

Room Tip: ask for a room away from street lighting and if it exist with air conditionning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 212 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed 5 nights here and were delighted with our room and the staff.
Our room was well fitted, clean and bright with a sparkling bathroom with a roomy shower.
The staff were helpful and friendly and breakfast offered a wide range of fresh food.
The hotel is centrally placed but peaceful and calm.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie crowle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

It all depends on your perspective..... Now, personally, I like old furniture and a bit of quirk and character, so I was happy with the admittedly-not-so-Grand Hotel de la Poste. Room was large and clean, breakfasts were good, car park directly beside hotel, pedestrian area of St Jean de Luz started just 50 metres down the street, and the fabulous markets (with the excellent Cafe des Halles) were a couple of hundred yards away. The hotel reception staff were great, and gave us excellent advice on restaurants and tours. There is a comfortable lounge with newspapers and magazines just off the lobby, an excellent spot for members of our small group to meet up and relax.

Room Tip: No lift, so ask for 1st floor if stairs are a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Balisand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

I have been deliberating whether to give this one or two stars and have settled on two!

This is because the location was very good!

The room itself was just about average. Large enough for the four of us - we have two children - aged four and two. Very old furniture, mould in the bathroom, no curtains at the window. Extremely hot at night and very noisy. The wallpaper in the corridors is peeling off.

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, preferring to go out. There is no bar although the lounge downstairs is quite nice.

Not really much more I can say about the place really. It didn't spoil our experience of St Jean de Luz but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michelehughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Stayed here in 2009 , so they may have decorated. It's a fantastically characterful building , the entrance hall and breakfast room are grander than the accommodation on offer. It is basic - carpet a bit tired .... didn't want to stand on it in bare feet. It's a place to sleep - in a clean , but ageing bed. 3 nights were sufficient. Convenient for town and parking. I loved breakfast , it was the best thing about the place. Staff , very lovely. I don't mind old and shabby , so it didn't upset me too much . It just needs a huge , major , makeover.

Room Tip: no idea !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bibs28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Bedroom was OK but noise from street cleaners and other services early in the morning was disturbing. Said to have impeccable bathrooms. Not so. We had scalding water in the shower after a long wait for it to heat up and then after the first shower only cold water for the rest of our stay. The receptionist said that we would receive an e-mail from the management but nothing has arrived. Reported it but nothing was done about it. No lift and two very long staircases to climb to our room.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bateyBordeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Stayed here one night in early January, 2002. Would consider staying there a 2nd time, not for a long stay, though.
Below is a recollection of memories of my stay. Don't read if you want objectiveness.
That was the time the Euro currency came into effect and I was curious to see how they were coping with it.
Having driven alone all night long some 1100 kms in a small car and feeling obviously very tired, after entering France my priorities were to take some rest and find somewhere safe to park the car. But the weather was quite good for the time of the year, curiosity took over and I ended up between Cabourne and St. Jean de Luz, which I only knew from a distance while travelling on the Hendaye-Paris train.
Can't remember many details about the hotel, but here´s a few:
spacious, clean, well heated and quiet room on 1st floor (there was something wrong with the first room I was given, but they quickly gave another one). Small windows, no balcony. Private toilet, small, no bathtub. Small TV-set, no cable, no English-spoken channels.
Did not need to use the lift, nor did I have breakfast in the house. Probably there was an extra charge for it, but can't be sure.
Two wide fligths of stairs connect the fairly wide lobby (Grand Hotel, isn't it?) with the 1st Floor. Thick red and dark blue carpet everywhere, from the entrance to the rooms, same pattern everywhere.
Friendly reception staff, told me to park my car at a one-way street behind the hotel building (no parking meters at the time, if I can recall). They allowed me to check out a bit after 12 o'clock noon and leave my luggage near the reception.
Can't remember how much I paid for the room, but since it was off-season, shouldn't have costed much. I paid with Portuguese debt-card.

No Euros were accepted in the hotel back then, unlike the cafés, restaurants and commerce in general - remember, this was the transitional period when both currencies were circulating. I remember having seen huge queues outside the Post Office that stretched around the block. They consisted mostly of old people waiting to collect their monthly pensions; but there was P.O. staff alongside the queues assisting them, handing out brochures and providing explanation about the new currency.

Good location, very close to the pedestrian area and not far from the market hall.
Suspect that that "Grand" was added up later, when I stayed there it was just Hotel de la Poste, but can't be 100% sure about this.

I love this small town. Good fish and seafood, oysters, a glass of cold Bordeaux white wine, a stroll along the beach and harbour bay make up for some good memories.
I assume it is a very crowded place during the season, so avoid the main getaway periods if you can, but definitely worth visiting.
As for the hotel...see my title again. Hope you enjoyed this posting,
thanks for reading.

Room Tip: Sorry, no idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank this_traveller011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Jean-de-Luz hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Relais Saint Jacques
Hotel Le Relais Saint Jacques
#11 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Paris
Hotel De Paris
#14 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Grand Hotel Thalasso & Spa
#2 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Reserve
La Reserve
#4 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
725 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel les Goelands
Hotel les Goelands
#6 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Txoko
Hotel Txoko
#5 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de La Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de La Poste

Address: 83 Rue Gambetta, 64500 Saint-Jean-de-Luz, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Price Range: $80 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel de La Poste 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel de La Poste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing