We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ambience and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Casa Amaia

La Casa Amaia
Cuisines: French, Spanish
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Uk
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good ambience and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were surprised to see so many negative reviews for this restaurant. We visited on a quiet Sunday evening and were impressed with the friendly service. It's a small place with tables quite close together but we felt this added to the atmosphere.

To start, I had beignets de calamare which were delicious and a generous portion, Mr T had a plate of lovely garlic shrimps and sardines. For the main I had pork which was thinly sliced and very tender and a generous portion of frites. Mr T had the hake which was OK with a pepper sauce.

For its position, right next to the harbour, we felt the price was reasonable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank silvertravellerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    40
    20
    27
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, UK
Level Contributor
187 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great paella when the lights went out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We chose this restaurant because I wanted paella but many places will only do it for a minimum of 2 people and my husband's not keen. The paella here did not disappoint - it was enormous and topped off with a big fillet of a white fish (pollack?). They do wine in a 0.5litre jug too. The place gets busy and the service is a bit slapdash and their power supply cut out twice while we were there. But the food was good, plentiful and fresh - it's also cheaper than many places nearby.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jazzers45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good food, really fun ambiance!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

I ate here in mid-November with my daughter and a friend. We sampled the moules and frites, the chipirons cooked in a red Basque sauce with potatoes, and the monkfish sauted with garlic. The food was tasty, the portions great, the prices reasonable for St Jean de Luz, and the service was good. The atmosphere however, was a blast. We seemed to be the only UK/American group, most of the other patrons were local. When they learned one in our party was a Welsh football fanatic, we had a rousing discussion with 3 tables involved in faltering french, about what might happen at the matches. This simple camaraderie made our evening delightful, one of the most fun we had at St Jean de Luz. With even the owner getting involved in the discussion.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank savvytraveler101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich UK
Level Contributor
423 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“Generous and good value Basque cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

This relatively small establishment down at the Place Louis XIV was doing good trade on a wet November Tuesday lunch time - patronised by local shoppers mainly - and looked to be the busiest in that area. We picked it on a whim, Goodness Knows there are enough eateries here to choose from, but we wanted something simple, regional, tasty - and were quite hungry. It's no gourmet experience but does offer a range of Basque dishes prepared freshly and presented with good grace and efficiency. There's a 19 euro lunch menu, but we had 2 of the house specialities, their paella - exceedingly generous in ingredients (and just to mention that - reading another review - the mussels along this coast from Arcachon southwards are always quite "small"), proper saffron used - and the blanquette de Lot, again very generous, maybe a bit over-done. Most people, like us, shared a mixed tapas starter. Sensible limited choice of wine and, again like us, everyone picked a 50cl bottle of the house Navarra bianco or rosada. Desserts - usual choices, the Basque gateau was average and probably bought-in. Overall easily met our requirements that day.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Welcoming atmosphere on a damp November night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

Most restaurants looked cold and empty on a particularly unpleasant evening. Here with a good crowd of customers was La Casa Amaia. Warm and welcoming with friendly service. The food was generous - only complaint was that the moules were a little small but there were plenty and the frites were excellent. Hadn't seen it in an English guide - no other English there. Most of the customers seemed to be local.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thewilson99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casa Amaia also viewed

Saint-Jean-de-Luz, Basque Country
Saint-Jean-de-Luz, Basque Country
 
Saint-Jean-de-Luz, Basque Country
Saint-Jean-de-Luz, Basque Country
 

Been to La Casa Amaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing