We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An absolute delight!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Perigueux, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
devoted2t...
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An absolute delight!”
Reviewed June 18, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment was one of the highlights of our recent trip to Europe. An immaculate apartment in the heart of ancient Perigueux, it had everything. Marianne and Jean Pierre were accommodating and very knowledgeable. They gave us some great tips on places to visit and had a comprehensive folder of local information. The apartment lacked nothing; it was very comfortable, large and felt immediately like home.
Local restaurants were plentiful and excellent; parking was close; the area was very safe and quiet and the boulangeries and fois gras shops were at the door. Great cafes too. We could easily have spent our time entirely within the old city.
After each day's travel - and we went as far east as Bordeaux - the apartment was a restful haven. I would return here at any time and hope to do so soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to say; it was almost the perfect holiday apartment
Liked least: The stairs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia...
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“OUR FAVORITE APARTMENT IN PÉRIGUEUX!”
Reviewed January 19, 2016 for a stay in October 2015

In October we returned to France to explore some new areas and happily revisited a very charming and favorite city. Périgueux continues to beckon us for many reasons but one of the most important being this wonderful apartment which feels like "home" to us. It was our third stay in Le Castel Saint Front and we enjoyed every moment. The owners, Marianne and Jean-Pierre, are truly generous hosts and welcomed us with a special bottle of wine, John-Pierre's delicious homemade confiture/jam, and other food treats. They always make us feel very special and do everything they can to insure that our stay is a happy and memorable one. Their apartment has every amenity and convenience for which we could hope. It is spacious, beautifully furnished and decorated, includes a delightful terrace, and is in a most convenient location with plenty of nearby parking. In the well equipped kitchen we can reheat prepared items or cook a meal from the wonderfully fresh local market items. The bedding is very comfortable with lovely linens and we have made good use of the washing machine in the bathroom that has both a tub and a free standing shower unit. Even though we are becoming quite familiar with Périgueux and the surrounding areas, for more new ideas we enjoy referring to the helpful brochures, books and handwritten notes offered in the apartment's well-stocked library. From the dining room window we like to observe some of the remains of the ancient city wall which remind us of the interesting history of Périgueux. We always look forward to the welcoming chimes from the bell tower of Saint Front Cathedral and the bustling sounds of the large outdoor market on Wednesday and Saturday mornings plus the smaller daily markets. This city offers an enticing array of specialty foods from the Périgord region, including the famous black truffles and foie gras. There is so much to see and do within the city and the areas surrounding it. The Vesunna Gallo-Roman Museum, which is a pleasant walk from the apartment, is one of our favorite in-city attractions. There are also many fine restaurants for dining out plus various food shops for freshly baked treats, cheeses, chocolates, whatever one craves. In addition to the wonderful markets, boutiques are everywhere selling such things as books, clothing, kitchenware and gourmet items. Périgueux is a delightful walking city and each of our visits has treated us to new and interesting discoveries. So we are looking forward to returning, settling into Castel Saint Front once again and saying, "Oui, how nice it is to be back "home"! Thank you, Marianne and Jean-Pierre, for your lovely apartment and for all that you do to make it such a special place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The apartment is beautiful and in an excellent location.
Liked least: Having to depart when our trip was over!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn F
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautifully appointed interior in a perfect central location.”
Reviewed September 17, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We loved our stay here.
So often the accomodation does not live up to our expectations but not here.
Everything was fantastic. Incredibly clean, beautifully decorated and spacious ..... and lots of nice touches to make this apartment feel like a home away from home.
The kitchen was incredibly well equipped to cook up goodies sourced from the charming little market at the end of the laneway
(this apartment is right in the centre of town, with everything you need literally on your doorstep).
Marianne and John-Pierre are just lovely, welcoming us with a lovely bottle of red wine and some awesome home made peach jam.
The location is fantastic.
We cannot recommend this accommodation highly enough,
and it is exceptionally good value for money considering the excellent location and beautifully appointed interior.’’

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTeatdrin...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A fantastic apartment”
Reviewed August 22, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Having lived and travelled in Europe for many years, I was very pleasantly surprised by this apartment in the old part of Perigueax. The kitchen and bathroom were modern and well appointed, everything was new and well renovated and the living area was spacious and comfortable. It even has a lovely little private balcony. you are a minute's walk away from most Old Town attractions and there are a number of fantastic restaurants within 3 minutes' walk, the best we experienced were Le Clos de St Front and Le Epicurean. The hosts are knowledgeable and there is a wealth of information about local attractions that they have provided which was very useful. Parking is tricky but once you work it out is actually not a problem at all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Immaculate furnsihed apartment in a great location
Liked least: Having to work out the parking arrangements
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia...
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A truly special and lovely apartment!”
Reviewed June 27, 2015 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have fallen in love with the beautiful, inviting city of Périgueux! And we have found a most charming and very comfortable “home” residence - “Le Castel Saint Front”. We have now stayed here twice and look forward to returning whenever we can. We appreciate the many fine features of this apartment and it definitely is our favorite of any in which we have stayed anywhere. Its location places it within walking distance to the things we enjoy - colorful markets, wonderful shops and restaurants, museums, everything that historic Périgueux has to offer. Marianne and Jean-Pierre are very welcoming and generous hosts and have provided us with many ideas and interesting information for exploring Périgueux and its surroundings. The apartment's layout and furnishings are exceptionally inviting and comfortable reflecting Marianne's good taste, attention to detail and caring attitude. There is nothing we would wish to change since every amenity is here in this very clean and well maintained residence. We have stayed in the late fall and early summer and both the heating and air conditioning work very well and efficiently. Also there is a wonderful, quiet terrace for enjoying a meal, a glass of wine or just some restful time. It is a lovely and unique feature for a historic city apartment. Our two stays in Périgueux have not seemed long enough so we hope to remain longer with each succeeding visit. We travel more now that we are retired and in our late 60's and we prefer to stay in apartments since it makes us feel that we are part of the local community. Residing in an apartment also allows for a variation of meal choices. For breakfast we enjoyed freshly baked croissants from the nearby boulangeries accompanied by Jean-Pierre's tasty fruit jams. Usually we ate lunch out whether we were remained in Périgueux or traveled to places like the Caves of Lascaux, Sarlat or Brantôme. However, the apartment's kitchen is so well equipped and the markets provide such delicious produce, cheeses, seafood and meats, that we enjoyed most dinners at "home" accompanied of course by wine. Marianne and Jean-Pierre provided us with a special bottle during each visit. And in the evenings after dinner, we loved taking leisurely strolls to admire the well preserved, Medieval and Renaissance architecture while observing other people enjoying the city life. When our stays ended, we felt very sad to be leaving but we are so happy that we have met Marianne and Jean-Pierre and have discovered their beautiful apartment. We have treasured our time here and eagerly anticipate returning to our most lovely “home” which beckons us back to Périgueux.
We are sincerely grateful to our dear hosts for our two wonderful stays.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is a most comfortable apartment in an excellent location.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia...
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A beautiful apartment in a wonderful location!”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I feel very fortunate to have returned to what we consider our special "home" apartment in beautiful Périgueux 6 months after our last stay. We enjoyed it so much before that we wanted to return to see and do some things we had missed. We quickly contacted our wonderfully kind and generous hosts Marianne and Jean-Pierre and worked our schedule around their apartment's availability since we wouldn't have considered staying elsewhere. Both times they have provided us with many ideas and much information for making the most of our time in Périgueux and its surroundings. We love the location of this apartment which is within walking distance to everything we enjoy - colorful markets, wonderful shops and restaurants, historical and cultural sights, everything historic Périgueux offers. And the apartment's layout and furnishings are exceptionally welcoming and comfortable which reflect the thoughtful care, knowledge and good taste of the owners. No detail has been omitted and nothing could have made us happier staying there so for a second time we felt it was our "home". This time we stayed for 8 nights but wished it had been much longer so hope to return. We travel more now that we are retired and in our later 60's and prefer to stay in apartments rather than hotels whenever possible. And this is our favorite apartment of any in which we have stayed. It is very clean and well maintained and the furnishings are truly comfortable. Since we have been there in winter and now summer, both the heating and air conditioning work very well. With wonderful boulangeries right around the corner providing delicious breads and croissants plus Jean-Pierre's tasty fruit jams, we ate breakfast in. Usually we had lunch out whether we were doing things in Périgueux or traveling to places like the Caves of Lascaux, Sarlat or Brantôme. However, the apartment's kitchen is so well equipped and the markets provide such delicious produce, cheeses, breads, seafood and meats, we enjoyed many meals at "home" with a lovely bottle of wine. Marianne and Jean-Pierre provided us with one such bottle! And in the evenings after dinner, we took leisurely strolls to admire the beautiful architecture while seeing other people enjoying the offerings of the city. As our stay was ending, we felt very sad to be leaving but were so happy to have seen Marianne and Jean-Pierre again and treasured our time in this lovely apartment.
Until we return, many thanks ~ Patricia & John

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and location of the apartment
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewed February 8, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing