We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful place to stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The bedroom upstairs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
15 reviews
The bedroom upstairs
At night
La Cité Church
Saint Front Church
Christmas is already here...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Perigueux, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Jackie B
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed September 17, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Fantastic place just 5 minute walk from Perigueux town centre - we stayed in a 1 bedroomed property based over 2 floors with lounge, kitchen, bathroom with wet room all recently refurbished with use of swimming pool and large garden. Stunning town with its cobbled streets and many squares filled with restaurants with outside seating/eating places. Perigueux has many old sites to view plus you must visit Brantome also known as Little Venice and Sarlat le Caneda to name but a couple. Laure & Dominique are extremely welcoming hosts and also live on site - would certainly recommend and hope to go back as there is so much to see in the area

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it - stunnung
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2016
Thank you Jackie and David for your review. It was a great pleasure to meet you. We hope you have had a good travel to come back home and hope it was not to difficult go back to work for you Jackie !
In awaiting the pleasure to see you soon,

Cheers,

Laure & Dominique
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
699meredi...
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A perfect hideaway in the Centre of Perigueux”
Reviewed September 1, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Cannot speak highly enough of our beautiful apartment and gracious hosts at Le Clos de Vesone, Perigueux. We have just spent a wonderful week there and were sad to leave. The apartment is fully renovated and modern, in a 17th century building, adjacent to the owners quarters. Fully equipped kitchen, dining and lounge downstairs with loft bedroom and ensuite. Fabulous walk in shower - just like Antipodeans like it!
Laure and Dominique were wonderful and only too willing to share advice etc.
Perigueux is a great town to be in, in the Centre of the Dordogne. It is large enough to be interesting and have all the services and restaurants needed. Fabulous old town and great river waking track for morning exercise.
Beautiful swimming pool and loungers back at Le Clos,for when hot and tired.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2016
Thank you Meredith for your review. It was a pleasure to meet you. Hope see you soon,

Laure & Dominique
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF1000
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing stay in the Perigord region!”
Reviewed August 20, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a really enjoyable two weeks' holiday at Le Clos de Vesone in July/August. The location is great - in a quiet area but just 5 minutes' walk into town and 10 minutes to the old medieval town! The apartment itself is small but perfect for a couple. The kitchen was well equipped - no oven but there is a good induction hob and a variety of pans to use so it was fine for us. The pool area was lovely, with loungers, umbrellas and towels provided; most of the time we had it to ourselves. Laure and Dominique were very friendly and helpful, and drove us to the station at the end of our trip. A fan was provided in the bedroom which kept us nice and cool, and the Velux window was convenient too. There is a lot of helpful information in the apartment on visiting the Dordogne area. One suggestion based on other reviews: the final cleaning could be included in the price or paid at the start so everyone is clear about what is expected. I think it always works best, as it did for us, when guests leave the place neat and tidy and then the owners provide the cleaning service. Overall it was a great stay and we found both Le Clos de Vesone and the town of Perigueux itself a very good choice for a holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2016
Thank you Clare and Robert for your kind review. It was for us nice to meet you and we are happy to know that you have spent a good time at Le Clos de Vésone. Thank you for your comment about the final cleaning. We take it into account ! It's not always easy to add it in the price (especially when some guests come just for one night !) and we prefer let the choice to our guests but we promise to think about it... We hope see you soon...

Laure & Dominique
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CragRat_9...
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment, holiday spoiled by restrictive rules and no privacy”
Reviewed August 3, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
3
people found this review helpful

The apartment, pool and garden are beautiful. The owners are nice people, but the rules and complete lack of privacy ruined this as a "romantic location" for us.
On holiday we like our own space, that's why we don't go to hotels and big complexes. We were looking forward to a complete un-wind and de-stress in our own space. Not here! The owners live here. It's THEIR house, THEIR pool, THEIR garden and we felt we were invading their space, not the relaxing, unwinding break we had hoped for.
The house rules are very restrictive. We totally understand things like not taking glasses into the pool area, we are reasonable people, but......... We were not allowed to eat in the garden (even though the family have their own dining area in the garden) we are forbidden to take plates or food out of the apartment, we could sit in a lovely area of the garden, but it is fully overlooked by the house and again we cannot take food out there. It was very hot and we had to eat in our kitchen with our door wide open - onto the passageway that the family come in and out through.
Other more minor issues were:
It said there was a washing machine - there isn't, the owner will do a wash load for you - for €12 a load!!
The extractor fans in the toilet and shower room didn't work.
The only toilet (ground floor) has no wash hand basin and the shower room is upstairs!
Most places we rent, and we have rented many over the last 10 years, give a "Welcome" bottle of wine, here there were a choice of 4 bottles, each with a price tag of around €15 - €20.
The final insult came when we mentioned that as we had a very early departure (06:20am) could we have our sizeable (€350) security deposit back the night before. Apparently that wasn't possible as they had to "Check the apartment before we give you the money." So we stood like naughty children having a room inspection at 06:15am before it was deemed that they couldn't slap any more charges on us (other than the mysterious "Tourist tax" and the additional final cleaning of €35)

Overall we were very disappointed and really felt that although they were very happy to take our money and find ways to charge us extra, they actually didn't really want to share their beautiful home at all. We felt very unwelcome and certainly wouldn't recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2016
Dear Jenny and Gordon,
We are sincerely sorry that you have had bad holiday. You are well first to complain and it is unfortunate that we do not have your expectations, we might have helped you to improve your stay. We are very surprised to read your negative remarks so that on several occasions we asked if everything was going well and that at no time, you have seemed dissatisfied. Listening to you, everything was perfect ! We have discussed together, have pleasant time, baked your bread for you, rendered services... Nothing seems to be unpleasant... thank you for your hypocrisy and for your bad faith ! Regarding the house rules, we are sorry that you could feel assaulted. Unfortunately, sometimes face to some people, it is essential to remember some basic things! Regarding the washing machine, it is clearly stated in the announcement that our guests can use the washing machine of the property under certain conditions. I regret that you did not read it. ... You mention that the VMC was not working in the toilet and the bathroom. It is so quiet that you have not noticed, but I assure you it works, it is new! Finally, you do not appreciate the fact that we pay you the deposit on the day of departure. It seems a logical thing, the current situation is making the check-out of our guests. We are not accustomed to pay extras for fun and you should consider yourself fortunate to have pay only a sum so small for the final cleaning in relation to the state where you left the apartment! We were ashamed for you !!!! Perhaps the reason why you wanted to have your security deposit back without checking... Small thing, the stay tax is a tax that we cash and that we donate to the city of Perigueux. We can provide the invoice if you wish. Moreover, the price for the final cleaning (which is an option and not mandatory) was clearly indicated on the website and on our booking's confirmation and the local taxes too ! It was not a surprise and we have proposed you to make the final cleaning yourself but you have refused it. So please, be honest next time... Be sure, we will not recommend you to dirt you demonstrated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffers5...
Hockley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect accommodation”
Reviewed August 11, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved the apartment from the moment we arrived. It was very clean and modern with everything you could want. It was also very quiet,
There are plenty of good restaurants within a few minutes walk and the historic old town is beatiful. Make sure you visit the market.
Laure and Dominique are great hosts, nothing is too much trouble.
If you like self catering, note that there is no oven.
I highly recommend the apartment and will definitely visit again. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of apartment
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whforster
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Welcoming and professional”
Reviewed June 16, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A very well thought out design that gives maximum space and comfort to the guests.
We felt comfortable the moment we walked through the door. There are a lot of personal touches and ideas in the set-up. Plenty of room for 2 people to move around, prepare a nice meal with ingredients from the amazing market in the city. We enjoyed Périgueux a lot. Plenty of restaurants as well, churches and museums and a pleasurably walk along the river. It is as lively or relaxing as you want to make it. I must not forget Laure and Dominique our hosts, a most friendly, charming and helpful couple, which made our stay special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The personal approach and involvment of the owners.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 17, 2015
Hi Werner and Helga,
Thank you for your kindly review. We hope meet you again to have a diner together... We keep in touch !
Cheers

Laure & Dominique
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing