We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“FABULOUS!!!!!!”
other travelers have booked this property
Path of Roses of the vegetable garden in June
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Path of Roses of the vegetable garden in June
La Chartreuse du Maine Facade of Chez Colette et Mimi, holiday house in La Chartreuse du Maine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Path of Roses of the vegetable garden in June
La Chartreuse du Maine
Facade of Chez Colette et Mimi, holiday house in La Chartreuse du Maine
Ground-floor Master bedroom Chez Colette et Mimi au Maine
Warm and stylish sitting room overlooking La Chartreuse du Maine vegetable garden
The kitchen ready for a cooking class!
Enjoy your diner!
Upstairs Master bedroom (the king size bed can be separate into 2 single)
Ensuite bathroom
Ensuite shower room
Away from it all swimming pool (to the song of cicadas)
Private patio to enjoy delightful diners al fresco
La Chartreuse du Maine vegetable garden in June
General view of La Chartreuse du Maine estate
Wonderful weather for a bike ride this morning! Bicycles are waiting for you in the courtyard.
View of La Chartreuse du Maine from the pool in fall
The typical stone village of Cubjac en Perigord
Market day in Périgueux in front of the 4th-17th C. cathedral
Beynac Fortress like in a fairy tale!
In Dordogne every bends of the roads has got a wonderful surprise for you!
La Roque-Gageac: here enjoy a boat trip on the Dordogne
Strolling in Beynac, one of the countless outstanding stone villages of the Dordogne
Wandering around Saint-Amand-de-Coly Abbey at sunset
Majestic Renaissance style Chateau de Losse overlooking the Vezere River
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Perigueux, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
JaffreyLa...
Hartfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FABULOUS!!!!!!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My husband and I stayed for a week at this beautiful tranquil place in the Dordogne. Catherine and Maxence our hosts, were extremely approachable and very willing to furnish us with any information that we needed. We felt very much at home, having the privacy we required but also the knowledge that we could ask for assistance at any time. Chez Colette et Mimi was extremely comfortable and totally matched up to the beautiful images we had seen on line. The location was perfect for walking into the quiet local town of Cubjac. We would just mention that you should make yourself aware of the opening times of the local shops. We have no hesitation in recommending Chez Colette et Mimi au Maine and hope one day to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Cubjac only had limited facilities but this is obviously a subjective opinionhe
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela N
Kingston Springs, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The place was spectacular and Catherine and Maxence were amazing hosts!”
Reviewed May 25, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We did not arrive until 10:30pm and both Catherine and Maxence were there to show us our place. I told Catherine - it looks better in person than on the website. In addition we were so hungry and they made arrangements for a local place called Le Cube to open their kitchen and provide meals for us. Impressed by the owners and Le Cube owners; a great welcome to our first night and trip to Southern France.

The grounds were absolutely beautiful with lilacs everywhere and peaceful. It was so breathtaking - both inside and out. The details and thought that went into decorating the home did not go unnoticed by us and made a very comfortable environment in which to stay. Catherine made arrangements for us to have a private French cooking class in our villa which was amazing and a lot of fun. I highly recommend doing this. You can cook, drink wine and enjoy a meal together without living your place. Wonderful memories.

The location was great because there were so many things to do and see and wonderful restaurants to enjoy near and in Cubjac. But on the days we wanted to venture out further for wine tasting in Bordeaux and Cotes de Bourg - it was only a couple of hours drive to the chateaus.

The place, the location, Catherine and Maxence, the area with so much to see and do couldn't have been any better. I highly recommend staying here because you will not regret it at all; in fact it will make your vacation far more enjoyable knowing you are in good hands staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan14417
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing retreat in the Bordeaux region”
Reviewed January 14, 2013 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Four of us (27-30 year old Americans) stayed at Chez Collete (in the two bedroom pictured) for one week in Sept 2012. We were looking for a spot in the Bordeaux region where we could easily drive to other areas such as Cognac, St Emillion etc. and settled on this property. As it turned out, the Dordogne region (which I was not familiar with prior) had so much to visit that we really stayed local most days. The gitte itself is fully renovated, meticulously maintained and exactly as presented here. The kitchen is well equipped (even laundry) and the bedrooms are comfortable. Our gitte had a private porch to relax or dine on. (The other two gittes also had their own private outdoor areas). Catherine and Maxence were excellent, friendly and helpful hosts. While booking the gitte they were very professional and responsive. Once we got there (late) they were welcoming. Throughout our stay they offered area insight, restaurant recommendations and ideas for local day trips. Although the town of Cubjac is rather small (typical French shops and a couple restaurants) it was a short walk from the property and had what we needed. There is a larger shopping center a short drive away. The drive from the center of Paris was easy (once you were out of Paris) and took about 5 hours. (Tip: if you're from America research the tolls and bring printed directions!) On our drive back to Paris we stopped in the Loire region and visited Chateau de Chambord so if you have the time there are certainly sites to see between Cubjac and Paris.
Overall I would highly recommend this property and location. I would also suggest not coming with a packed itinerary as there are many things in the area we hadn’t heard of prior to our trip but enjoyed once we were there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquil and relaxing property.
Liked least: Although I can hardly call it
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a wonderful discovery in a lovely, interesting part of France. Couldn't be happier.”
Reviewed November 6, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our week in Cubjac at Le Maine. Catherine and Maxence are lovely, informed hosts who provide whatever one could need. Le Maine is in the country, it is peaceful and lovely, the food in nearby towns has not been overrun with foodies, it's just good and local. The caves in the area provide all the cultural interest one requires. Each day can be spent driving to a new town, another part of a varied, rich region of France. The house itself is stylish and comfortable. I have often rented houses abroad and this is one of the nicest I have ever found.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of being away, in the country, and yet we were able to walk to town, and bike all over the countryside.
Liked least: Some of the towns nearby were shuttered and shut down, which is sort of sad.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrike70
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“What a relaxing and enjoyable place to stay”
Reviewed August 21, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

This was our 4th stay at Le Maine but our first in the house 'Chez Colette et Mimi'. And again we totally enjoyed our entire holiday. The house is beautifully furnished with a lot of love and a perfect sense for details and colour. It has two floors and on each is a double bedroom with a private bathroom. The kitchen is very well equipped and the living room has very comfortable furniture to chill in front of the fireplace. The terrace offers a lot of space for a nice table a bbq and deckchairs aswell. Also in the very privat yard in front of the house we found comfortable deckchairs surrounded by pretty arranged flowers and plants to relax on the green gras while looking into the blue sky. We hopefully come back soon....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anned1234...
co meath ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Peaceful & relaxing”
Reviewed July 25, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We stayed for one week in Chez Colette et Mimi in the beautiful village of Cubjac with wonderful hosts Maxence et Catherine. The house is immaculate and is far superior than the photos particularly the terrace which is a wonderful suntrap and a delight to have breakfast on. The kitchen has everything anyone would need to cook the foods from the local markets. The bedrooms and bathrooms are top notch with first class bed linens.
We have to say our children really enjoyed the pool. Excellent sunbeds and spotlessly clean pool.
We enjoyed a great night out in the local bar. Visited the Pizzeria (twice!) and the hairdressers, butchers and bakery. All the local people make you feel very much part of the community.
Maxence & Catherine are very welcoming people and arranged dinner reservations and provided maps and suggested places to visit. One of our highlights was our 9 course tasting menu in the Vieux Logis (Michelin Star Restaurant) approx 1 hour away.
We will definetly return to La Maine. We still miss the Donkey and the Sheep and Catherines wonderful garden of herbs & lavender.
Frank, Anne, Rachael & Sam, Co Meath Ireland

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the gardens
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottenIled...
Ile de France
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2018 for a stay in July 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing