We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gracious Welcome to Peace with Luxury in a small...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Perigueux, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Lee T
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gracious Welcome to Peace with Luxury in a small town in Perigord”
Reviewed January 6, 2015 for a stay in November 2014

We recently had the pleasure of our second stay at Le Maine. It is hard to capture the ambience of this place in simple terms. The accommodations are impeccable. Catherine and Maxence have done a remarkable job of renovating and decorating these 3 gites on their Chartreuse property. The combination of the pastoral beauty of the very large property, the luxury of the accommodations, the proximity to so many interesting places in the area and finally the help and company of Catherine and Maxence is unsurpassed in our experiences renting in France. We have enjoyed the major towns of Sarlat, Bergerac, Montingac and Perigeuex but the real fun is the surprises we find on the way. The little villages, the small markets, the hospitality, the beauty all keep us coming back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners, the environment, everything!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tintina
florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What a magnificent stay at Maison de Marc”
Reviewed October 24, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We recently had the good fortune of staying at Maison de Marc for 5 days.

First of all, may I say that you could not ask for better hosts than Catherine and Maxence. As soon as we arrived, they warmly greeted us, showed us through the beautiful maison, and not only left us a bottle of wine, cheese, etc. but also freshly cut dahlias from their garden. The kitchen is so charming and rustic (as noted in pictures) and very well stocked. The bathroom with its stone wall was lovely as well. Building a fire in the living room fireplace and sharing a bottle of wine on the private patio made the end of every day so special. Their property is absolutely gorgeous. Being that we are animal lovers, it was delightful to walk down the property to greet Zebuyon, the donkey, and Mouton Rothchild, the sheep, every morning and evening.

Dordogne area has so much to explore - the different villages of Perigeaux and Beynac, just to name a fews. The stay would have not been complete without canoeing down the Dordogne River, admiring the hilltop villages along the way.

What a beautiful place to stay. I would highly recommend it and our hope is to return to Maison De Marc soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amenities, hospitality, location and beautiful VRBO
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeTX
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“charming”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What a beautiful place to stay. We had a beautiful cottage with private outdoor areas, comfortable beds, lovely linens, new kitchen, spa-like bath, and were only moments to all the food, sights and shopping of the Dordogne. This rental is moments from the city of Perigoux, the hosts could not be more helpful. Dining out options abound, but if you want to have your own foie gras with a glass of Bergerac wine then a few steps outside your own door there are private areas to savour this little corner of the world--it is all easily arranged! The rental was spotless, we had wi-fi, and a 5 minute walk for fresh morning croissants.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte...
Ilkley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just Lovely!”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here - Catherine and Maxence gave us a very warm welcome (even though we arrived late at night due to our flight being delayed) and left us bread, cheese, strawberries and wine which were very gratefully received! The grounds of the cottage are lovely and the pool area is beautiful with amazing views.

The surrounding area is beautiful with lots of gorgeous villages/towns to visit. Maxence gave us a map with places marked out and was very helpful with suggestions as to where would be good for us to go, as we had our 9 month old daughter with us.

We would thoroughly recommend Le Maine and hope to visit again in the future!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie H
1 review
“Utterly enchanting”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Superb accommodation in a really lovely spot. The cottage is extremely pretty, comfortable and well equipped - the owners have lavished huge care and attention in restoring, decorating and furnishing it. (It's also all on one floor, which made it ideal for my elderly mother, with just a couple of steps into the house). The extensive grounds of the Chartreuse are beautiful and tranquil, though our favourite place was our delightful private back garden, which was a perfect sun trap. Catherine and Maxence are excellent hosts, and we particularly appreciated the local cheese, strawberries, walnut bread and wine that they'd kindly left in the kitchen for our arrival. It's a great base for exploring the northern Dordogne, but we often didn't go as far afield as we'd planned, because we were always so keen to get back to the Maison de Marc and spend time enjoying its charm and peace. We wish we'd stayed longer, and we certainly hope to go back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan P
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Our response to this holiday is that same as all others I have seen, you will not be disappointed. Catherine and Maxence are warm, welcoming and above all helpful hosts. They are happy to share their fabulous home with all of their guests and how lucky we were that they did. We cannot recommend Le Maine highly enough, it is in a lovely location on the edge of Cubjac, a very pretty typical French village. There is so much to see and do in the Dordogne, go and find it for yourself.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick S
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fantastic find!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

La Maison de Marc, set within the grounds of "La Chartreuse du Maine", certainly has the "wow" factor. We could not believe our luck in finding such an idyllic place to stay for our holiday in the Dordogne. This charming cottage was beyond our expectations and more than lived up to its description. It is beautifully furnished, very comfortable and well equipped. It was so welcoming we immediately felt at home.
It was a pleasure to meet the owners, Catherine and Maxence, on our arrival. They were charming hosts and could not have been more friendly and helpful.
We highly recommend La Maison de Marc as a place to stay in the Dordogne.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Personal touch.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing