We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing evening”

Le Clos Saint Front
Reserve with
Le Clos Saint Front is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 213 Restaurants in Perigueux
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Edmonton Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing evening”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

In the courtyard in mid September the setting was charming but exceeded by the owner's attention and help to non- French speaking guests. We had a menu that included matching wines with each of the courses. This was intriguing and a delight to the palate. The food included subtle spicing,local ingredients,and difficult choices to make from amongst attractive options. My favorite course may have been the cheese course with the eat the cheese in a very precise order with the wines and each cheese being complemented by nuts, honey, and a balsamic cream. It was a very special birthday indeed! One of the finest dining experiences for a fair price given the exceptional food and wines.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 10833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    154
    39
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not good”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Expensive, not clean, poor service and menu

I don't recommend this restaurant at all
At 40 euros menu, it was expensive for what was average food , poor service, poor ambience and not the cleanest place I've eaten in

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A work of art”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

The venue confuses the senses - much about it is very tasteful - location, space, lighting, but then the quirky crockery - painter's palette and square plates with up-turned corners - unnecessary - keep it simple. The service was excellent with great attention to detail and ensuring we understood and appreciated what was placed in front of us. The food too was excellent up until the dessert which was our fault - I do maintain 'leave pannacotta to the Italians' but we tried it anyway - stick to the cheese; it looked wonderful.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“High quality and innovative, a total dining experience”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The four of us enjoyed a superb Sunday lunch on a very wet day in Perigueux. Far too wet to sit outside, the dining rooms were full of a complete cross-section of mostly French diners: young and old couples, a group of six 30-somethings, families with young children and us tourists who stumbled in by chance. From amuse-bouche to the coffees and bonbons at the end, we were treated to a very assured and wide range of dishes. Outstanding were the sot l'y laisse-based soup starter, the 'boil in the bag' turbot, seared beef, and rolled chicken breast mains, and a pannacotta on raspberry sorbet dessert that arrived on a weight-sensitive disc of flashing blue and red LED's. So, something of a romp, with helpful staff overseen by Patrick (owner and former chef), whom other reviewers have described well. The wine list is very good; we were able to choose a good value and delicious bottle from a selection of my personal favourite wineries in St Estephe.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cicer0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, uneven dining experience”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We have eaten here 3 times in the last 6 years on various trips and have had very different impressions every time.

Our best experience was in 2006, our worst in 2009 and our latest in June 2012 was somewhere in the middle.

The setting in the inner courtyard is the best aspect of this restaurant, quite unique in our experience. Really a lovely place to enjoy a leisurely dinner. Service was very good all 3 times, very professional and the staff speaks some English, which can be quite helpful. Wine selection is very good and the head waiter (owner?) is knowledgeable and will help you to choose a suitable accompaniment to your meal.

The food has been out of this world or disappointing, depending on when we have come. The menu has changed to a more unconventional cuisine over time, with varying success. Best dishes have often been the more traditional, however even the magret dishes are hit or miss regarding preparation. Our latest dining experience featured an excellent chaudree of noix St-Jacques, but my magret was not as good as my partners and the accompanying vegetables were ho-hum. We had the Vigneron option with different wines selected for us for each course, a good value at 63 euros per person wine included and were happy with the wines selected for us. Still, this is an upscale and fairly expensive place to eat and we were not 100% enchanted with the food in view of the price.

All in all, I would recommend the courtyard dining and excellent service, and would suggest more traditional menu options.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nanbro_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Clos Saint Front also viewed

 
Perigueux, Dordogne
Perigueux, Dordogne
 
Perigueux, Dordogne
Perigueux, Dordogne
 

Been to Le Clos Saint Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing