We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over-blown and poorly located.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Navarre
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Pau
carrickfergus
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Over-blown and poorly located.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We received a cool reception and then had a long hike to a rather depressing room. Despite claims on the web-site that the hotel has a view of the Pyrennes this was certainly not the case from our room. The hotel is in a quiet location but is peculiarly neither country or town. Not in the country but also inconveniently far from shops and restaurants. We were hugely irked when on dressing for dinner and presenting ourselves we were told that the were "complet" due to a private function! Why was this not revealed on booking or even on arrival? Had to dine in solitary state in the empty bar. The food was fine.
Next morning we were wakened early as two types of two types of power appliances were at work in the garden - a leaf blower and a huge ride-on lawnmower. This went on interminably. That tipped the balance and we forthwith announced our intention to leave after one night of our proposed two night stay. We considered breakfast too expensive at 19e.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank esler c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    60
    46
    30
    7
See reviews for
20
102
7
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

The building and garden are nice. The interoir is not good at all, the staff "mwah" or not present, the facilities bad (at the best) to horrible (mostly). The room was quit big, but really old and worn down. The corridor to the room smelled strongly like mold (from the pool), at diner time the room filled with strong food smells for hours; which changed at the end of the evening to sigaret smoke: under our window outside was a place where guesst were smoking. No. Don't.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mister M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pau hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had the room n°9...and everything was perfect!
The personnel was so kind and helpful...
The building itself is very beautiful. The hotel is well located closed to the downtown without been to close. The park is beautiful and we had a tremendous view on the Pyrenees mountains.
The bathroom was large enough (shower and bath!) with separate toilets. It is well furnished.
The room itself is also well furnished (flat screen TV, water boiler, etc...) and the bed was very confortable. The hotel was also very quite.
There is a spa in the hotel and a swimming pool as well.
We will definitively come back!
Do not hesitate, it is THE hotel!

Room Tip: Room n°9 !! Tremendous view on the park and the Pyrenees!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tougne64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oloron-Sainte-Marie, France
Level Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed here for one night recently as we had a late function in Pau . It was excellent . The hotel is a large villa which is absolutely lovely set in its own extensive park , yet close enough to the town centre to walk there in 10 minutes . Our room was enormous and furnished with lots of lovely antique furniture . The bathroom was one of largest I have ever seen in a hotel . The hotel also has a nice spa which is an extra treat when you are just having an indulgent relaxing stay. The service was excellent , but not in your face - staff are not around all the time and you sometimes feel you are staying there alone as it is so large and peaceful. However as soon as you request something it is is delivered . All in all a very pleasant oasis of calm - and a very enjoyable night with a wonderful breakfast in bed the following morning . Will use again. The cost was not cheap but was appropriate for the standard.

Room Tip: We had room 4 which was enormous and had a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darling10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

Very pretty gardens and building on the outside and helpful, friendly staff inside. The resturant for dinner was expensive and a bit stuffy. The indoor swimming pool is very short (7 - 8m) so a lot of time is spent turning. Both mornings I ordered a room service breakfast it came late and wrong - although the second day less closer to that requested. When I went to the breakfast room, there was a large display of the usual suspects (bread, fruit, cereal, etc.) although some colleagues said there was little there at the advertised start time. The hairdrier produced what can only be described as a cool breeze. A new internet access code is required every day, but once on it is at least as good as I've had anywhere.
Would love to recommend this place and stay here again, but too many inconviences for the business traveller, so integrity wont let me.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gibsonsarah261171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pau hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Parc Beaumont
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Pau Centre Bosquet
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel de Gramont
Hotel de Gramont
#13 of 32 in Pau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Roncevaux
Hotel Roncevaux
#7 of 32 in Pau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mercure Pau Palais Des Sports
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Navarre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Navarre

Property: Hotel Villa Navarre
Address: 59 avenue Trespoey, 64000 Pau, Communaute d'Agglomeration Pau-Pyrenees, France (Formerly Mercure Villa Navarre)
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Bearn-Basque Country > Communaute d'Agglomeration Pau-Pyrenees > Pau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Navarre 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Navarre or the Lifestyle otherwise... The Villa Navarre is a charming five star hotel set in its own mature parkland of over two hectares. The 30 bedroom hotel has views towards the Pyrenees and is one of the most historically important buildings in Pau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Navarre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Navarre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing