We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we stayed 3 nights instead of 1 as planned”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Pau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Everything about this hotel was excellent. We came by motorbike, would recommend it to anyone, on foot, car, bike... Very good sushi at YouSushi on the same road. Double bath in bathroom for soaking travel-weary limbs. Breakfast great.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca_was_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBristol64, Propriétaire at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Many thanks for you comment !

We try to do the best for our guest.
We hope to see you again very soon in your next traval in Pau with your motorbike !

Very Cordially

Michèle And Charles Fernandes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 394 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

First stay at the Hotel Bristol in the centre of Pau. We arrived in Pau in the dark at around 10:30pm on Sunday 2nd September 2012 after a long 9 hour drive up from Valencia in Spain, enroute to the UK. We chanced upon the Hotel Bristol when driving around the historic district of Pau, our only reference on Pau was that we had seen it on the TV during the Tour de France.

The hotel manager greeted us very warmly, made us up a tray of fresh coffee and bottles of cold water so that we could relax on the verandah at the from of the hotel before we turned in for the night. Very welcoming. He also spoke Spanish which was a big bonus as we do too!

We chose room 307 which was recently refurbished, very well appointed with new furniture, comfortable double bed, big ensuite bathroom with new fittings, loads of space and a view from the third floor windows in the bedroom and the bathroom.

Free wifi was a welcome facility and also the excellent car parking which we felt very secure about as the main gate was locked at 11pm overnight.

Excellent fresh continental breakfast in the bright sunny breakfasting room.

The staff at the hotel were genuinely warm and friendly. Hotel is very well appointed and spotlessly clean.

The Bristol is well situated close to the historic centre of Pau, we enjoyed a morning walk to the Chateau de Pau before breakfast.

Also before we departed to the UK the manager arranged another tray of coffee for us on the verandah - a nice touch.

We will return to this hotel again and again in the future on our frequent drives from the UK to our home in Spain.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 307 which was very spacious with a great ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBristol64, Propriétaire at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you very very much for your comment

We try every day to give to our guest the best service.

We hope to see you again when you'll return in Pau

Cordially

Michèle Fernandes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent a night here in early September on our way down to the Pyrenees with our bikes. The building is beautiful, the car park expansive and the charming, elegant owners gave us a warm welcome. The room was fine if a bit basic for the price. Two real complaints: First, to store our bikes securely in the hotel overnight the owner wanted €10 per bike. When we suggested this was a bit steep he pushed back hard, refusing to negotiate. This seems to me a massive rip-off, un connerie, designed to exploit cyclists following the traditional route down to the Pyrenees. Is it normal? I certainly have never been charged for bike storage at any other hotel. Second, there was no hot water for showering before bed. I let the water run for 5 minutes in hope, but no hot water arrived. The next morning the owner brushed off my complaint with a wink and a smile, explaining that the hotel is an old building and sometimes it takes a while for the plumbing to kick in, which was not exactly the apology I was looking for. I would like to stay here next time I visit Pau so I hope they can iron out the creases in an otherwise great place.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank bigjoemuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBristol64, Propriétaire at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Reply to your comments:

First regarding bicycles.

After several disappointments with cyclists disrespectful, to whom we had left their bikes to their room, where we found grease on the carpets and bed linen.

After that we decided to make a secure bike shed, which is 10 € per day.

I do not think this is a scam, since you been warned upon arrival. You could leave your bike in your car inside our parking is free and secure.

You forgot to say that Mr. the day of your departure, you are left to Lourdes bikes, and you leave your car in our free parking up in the middle of the afternoon.

We have proposed with great pleasure.

Regarding hot water know that we are not rationing. But actually our house dates from the 19th century, hot water arrives after a few seconds, refaitent Installations have been there less than 7 years.

Sorry that our house did not give you satisfaction, I invite you to retry another stay at Bristol during the next trip.

Cordially.

Michèle Fernandes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is very convenient and very reasonably priced. We stayed because of the other good reviews and were not disappointed...easy arrival with on-site parking, and very convenient to the historic center and the major attractions of Pau. Good breakfast, although there was an extra charge. Large rooms and very up-to-date bathroom. Ask for higher floors for better view.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaFrancophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBristol64, Propriétaire at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Sure, Tripadvisor is the best way to find a good hotel !

We are very happy that you had a great stay in our hotel.
When the sun is shining, the view of the 4nd floor is effectively excellent !

We hope to see you again in Pau.

Very Cordially

Michèle And Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed for three nights in August 2012. The hotel is well-located a short walk from the centre of Pau, ideally located from restaraunts, histotic sights and shops. The hotel has been tastefully renovated, maintaining period charm with modern facilities. Our room, 105, was large and comfortable with a large, modern bathroom. The air conditioning was quiet and efficient. Our hosts we charming and welcoming. The breakfast was fine. Overall we enjoyed our stay. I would certainly stay in this hotel again and recommend it highly to other travellers.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBristol64, Propriétaire at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

How fortunate for us that our house was delighted.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write all these compliments.

London is not so far away, maybe return you to our beautiful city of Pau, in this case we always happy to see you again.

Good luck.

Cordially.

Charles and Michèle Fernandes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Easily one of the best little hotels I have ever stayed in. My family spent 4 days last July while
following the The Tour de France.
The rooms were immaculate, the service by the owners was outstanding and the location
could not be better.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicolas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBristol64, Propriétaire at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

What an honor for us, all these compliments.

We thank you infinitely, and will be delighted to welcome you next time.

Good luck and lots of good things.

Sincerely,

Charles et Michèle Fernandes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Stayed at Hotel Bristol for one night to catch Tour de France. Fantastic choice - the room was clean and comfortable to fit family of four. Stylish interior. The bathroom was modern and spacious (unusually large). Service friendly and courteous - assisted with booking a restaurant for us. In consideration of all the hotels we stayed at in France this was value for money. No issues with car park and within walking distance to town centre and other attractions. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBristol64, Propriétaire at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Dear Madam,

We are delighted that all the services the hotel has contented you.

We hope to see you again at Pau, and we thank you for your review.

Sincerely,

Michèle Fernandes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pau hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Parc Beaumont
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Pau Centre Bosquet
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roncevaux
Hotel Roncevaux
#8 of 32 in Pau
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Continental
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Gramont
Hotel de Gramont
#13 of 32 in Pau
182 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inter-Hotel Villa Montpensier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: 3 rue Gambetta, 64000 Pau, Communaute d'Agglomeration Pau-Pyrenees, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Bearn-Basque Country > Communaute d'Agglomeration Pau-Pyrenees > Pau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pau
#3 Business Hotel in Pau
Price Range: $92 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bristol 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the 3-star Hotel Bristol. This 19th-century building, which was formerly the property of the Betharram Fathers, then of the bishopric in 1851, became a hotel in 1903. The hotel has been completely renovated since July 2006. Enjoying a central location in Pau, the hotel features 24 spacious soundproof bedrooms, equipped with telephone, free WIFI access, TV flat screen, TNT, canal+ and cable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Pau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing