We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Electic style - well worth visit”
Review of Hotel de Gramont

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de Gramont
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Pau
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Electic style - well worth visit”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Ticks all the boxes for location, cleanliness, room size, bathroom and breakfast. Loved the character of the place - A mix of modern and old styles and decor but it works! From the games room downstairs to the helpful staff - all great. Parking close by and free. Can definitely recommend.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julesfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    61
    31
    7
    4
See reviews for
39
59
14
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

There is something pleasingly old fashioned about this well placed hotel in Pau. The service over the phone when we booked in France was helpful and appropriate. The reception when we arrived was similar. This place is not Manhattan chic but it is comfortable! The decor in the bedroom is a bit dark and weird but the room worked fine and was a decent size, as was the clean bath/shower room. We were glad we had booked in here rather than at the better appointed but more than double the price competition which was not as convenient to the amenities of the town. The bed was comfortable, the room was soundproofed from traffic and we got a decent breakfast. We would come here again and it was great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leonard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I recently spent 4 nights at the Hotel de Gramont and was very happy with my choice overall.

For me, the LOCATION was perfect! I loved the view from my window and I was surrounded by shopping, dining, and sightseeing opportunities in every direction. There must be over 50 great restaurants and 100 specialty shops within a 10 minute walk. In the same area you’ll also find community plazas, Chateau de Pau, and the Avenue of the Pyrenees! Parking was also easy once I found the free community parking lot just 1 block away.

The staff was outstanding! They couldn’t have been more friendly and accommodating, especially considering that I cannot speak French at all (and too embarrassed to try).

WiFi worked well for me and I was even able to find international (English) CNN on the TV.

The feel of the place is more like a family visit than a standard hotel. I found this to be comforting but you will be known, and your schedule will be noticed so if you like to be anonymous this may not be the right place for you. Also, it’s a historic building so the hallways aren’t spacious and for some reason they were kept pretty dark. The hotel has a very nice elevator and good sized rooms. They even had reasonable minibar prices!

This hotel is well run by nice people and offers a great location at a good price.

Room Tip: My street side room (#24) had extra noise blocking shutters that work very well so you can enjoy the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hotel is just PERFECT! It telling you how "Home away from home" means. The style of hotel is very unique, quiet and the room is perfect decoration. The staffs was very nice, helpful and the place is very convenient to access nearby historic, near the beautiful castle and you can see Pyrénées from there. Also you can walk to shopping center if you are a shopping lover. I would love to recommended this hotel to everyone and more than sure that you will enjoyed your stay in this hotel while discovering such a beautiful city .. PAU :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BesPhimnaphas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Friendly staff. Liked the bed. Rather quiet. Walking distance to everything. Great local restaurants. Free parking when not full and nearby public parking. I would go back and stay here again. No problem sending friends or family. Good bang for the buck.

Room Tip: If you are a very light sleeper ask for a room in the back. We stayed there twice and I preferred th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyRascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night. The room is quiet and nice and it has character. The hotel is situated near the Castle in the city center. Ideally to explore the city. In every room there is Wifi available.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbierens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiama
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. Plenty of cafes close by and nearby the historic old part of the town. The shopping was surprisingly good. DFS Galleria had a sale on (bonus). Had a lovely lunch at the cafe three doors down. Wish we'd had more time to use this as a base for day trips. We will definitely come back to Pau. The bathroom was big enough for two people to use at the same time (unusual for Europe). The room decor was a bit dated (it is an older style hotel) but the room was very comfortable and well set out. Bit of a grand old lady.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richam6364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pau hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Roncevaux
Hotel Roncevaux
#6 of 32 in Pau
146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Continental
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Pau Centre Bosquet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Parc Beaumont
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bosquet
Hotel Bosquet
#9 of 32 in Pau
105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Pau Centre
Ibis Pau Centre
#19 of 32 in Pau
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Gramont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Gramont

Property: Hotel de Gramont
Address: 3 Place Gramont, 64000 Pau, Communaute d'Agglomeration Pau-Pyrenees, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Bearn-Basque Country > Communaute d'Agglomeration Pau-Pyrenees > Pau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Pau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Gramont 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de Gramont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Interhotel De Gramont Pau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing