We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Pizza”
Review of L'etna

L'etna
Ranked #182 of 337 Restaurants in Pau
Price range: $9 - $22
Cuisines: French, Italian, Grill
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I ate here with my family and friends and we had a fabulous meal. I ordered the Paysanne pizza, which I believe is an old traditional french pizza with a creme fraiche base, rather than a tomato base. It was delicious and certainly worth a second visit.

I would recommend this place for both families with small children or teenagers and couples. It is always busy so make sure you arrive early or be prepared to wait.

The menu had a great selection, the pizzas were wonderful and they served delicious cocktails too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LancashireBridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck T, Gérant at L'etna, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014
Google Translation

Merci pour votre commantaire gratifiant la qualité des plats confectionnés sur place à partir de produits frais et servis chaque jour à notre clientèle.
D'ordinaire le service est assez rapide, mais il se peut que, comme vous l'avez relevé, en période de grosse affluence il est préférable d'arriver tôt pour ne pas attendre.
Soyez assurés que nous mettons tout en oeuvre afin de réduire au maximum l'attente lors de services à grosse affluence.
Nous brieffons régulièrement nos serveurs afin qu'ils renseignent les clients sur le temps d'attente à prévoir en fonction du plat qu'ils ont commandé.
Au plaisir de vous revoir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 435 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

Staying in Pau overnight last week , we picked this place because it looks quite nice . That is unfortunately the only nice thing about it. Staff are surly and just bang the drinks and food down in front of you. I speak some French so there was no language barrier, but the staff don't care anyway. Pizza was not very nice and the pasta was just awful. Warmed up pasta with sauce on top and not very hot either. Saw someone actually pick up their plate of food and take it back to the waiter , presumably theirs wasn't good either. Avoid this place. The San Marco pizza restaurant is much better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank haymrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

The kids were hungry, it was Sunday so many restaurants were closed. We ended up here.

The service was terrible. Just not interested at all. But the food was actually ok.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank NotQuiteCockney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We visited the festival Estivoc and chose this restaurant as my sister is a vegetarian so she could have a choice of pizzas or a veggie pasta, also because we were hungry and wanted to see a particular band so didn't have a lot of time to eat. The waiting staff were ok but there was a harridan of a woman lurking in the doorway, sullen faced and very unwelcoming. We sat outside and our pizzas turned up, burnt black all around the edges. I said to the waiter they were a bit burnt and he replied " oui, nos excuses " ( yes, our apologies ) We did look around and saw that most were being served like that so rather than make a fuss and be late for the band ( which we should have done ) and return the pizzas, we ate them but left the outside burnt bits - silly move ! My husband assembled the burnt bits at the end of the meal and actually made one whole pizza out of them so when we'd finished, we called the waiter over and said we'd ordered 2 pizzas but had in fact only been able to eat one as the rest was burnt ( see photo ! ) He tried to take the plates but my husband asked to speak to the manager, The woman returned and we explained again why we were not happy. She took the plates without a word and left us. We asked for the bill and she grunted " a la caisse" ( at the till ). We again asked for the bill and were eventually brought it. We pointed out very politely that we had only had in effect one pizza so could they reduce the bill. At this point an incredibly rude man came out shouting at us and said all the pizzas were cooked like that as if they weren't burnt, they were not cooked properly ! We couldn't believe it and tried to politely reason with him but he just shouted over us and became more and more loud and angry. Outside, people were now being served with non burnt pizzas so were they uncooked ??? We should have paid for just the one but as we didn't know what our position would be, we were bullied into paying for the lot, inedible though it was. Terrible food and outrageously bad customer service. We really felt ripped off and bullied. DO NOT EAT AT THIS RESTAURANT UNLESS YOU LIKE BURNT FOOD AND RUDENESS !!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank FranceMilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck T, Gérant at L'etna, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014
Google Translation

Rappelez-vous !!!!!
Vous vouliez commander 2 pizzas pour 4, ce que nous avions refusé (faute de places assises) et qui vous a contrarié en premier lieu.
Vous avez insisté pour être encaissé à table alors que les encaissements se font au comptoir.
Vous avez prétexté que nos pizzas étaient complètement brulées pour vous en faire rembourser une sur les deux......alors que lorsque nous avons rassemblé, entre eux, les morceaux laissés dans votre assiette, il s'agissait du tour de pâte des 2 pizzas commandées, la garniture ayant trouvée grâce à vos yeux et vos ventres puisqu'il n'en restait pas trace !?
Nous vous avons montré comment sortaient les pizzas du four après un passage à 270° pendant 1 minute.........mais rien n'y a fait.
Nous vous avons expliqué qu'il ne nous était pas possible de servir une pizza à la pâte totalement blanche sans risquer d'avoir la sauce et la garniture froides et non cuites...........mais là encore vous avez niez l'évidence.
Vous déclarez que nous avons été grossiers avec vous mais vous oubliez de préciser que vous aviez tenté de fuir sans payer avant que nous ne vous rattrapions in-extremis !
SHOCKING !!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Went today ( Tuesday in August) and very busy. Food was good, pizzas and salads, but the service was very slow and they lost our order for a childrens portion and then again for ice creams for the children. So it took 2 hours 30 minutes to have a pizza meal with no starters and no desserts except for the children's ice creams. Won't go back again. Not recommended on busy days.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank UKMandA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'etna also viewed

Pau, Communaute d'Agglomeration Pau-Pyrenees
Pau, Communaute d'Agglomeration Pau-Pyrenees
 
Pau, Communaute d'Agglomeration Pau-Pyrenees
Pau, Communaute d'Agglomeration Pau-Pyrenees
 
Pau, Communaute d'Agglomeration Pau-Pyrenees
Pau, Communaute d'Agglomeration Pau-Pyrenees
 

Been to L'etna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing