We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Place ! Bad management and burnt pizzas AVOID !!!”
Review of L'etna

L'etna
Ranked #231 of 366 Restaurants in Pau
Price range: $9 - $22
Cuisines: French, Italian, Grill
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We visited the festival Estivoc and chose this restaurant as my sister is a vegetarian so she could have a choice of pizzas or a veggie pasta, also because we were hungry and wanted to see a particular band so didn't have a lot of time to eat. The waiting staff were ok but there was a harridan of a woman lurking in the doorway, sullen faced and very unwelcoming. We sat outside and our pizzas turned up, burnt black all around the edges. I said to the waiter they were a bit burnt and he replied " oui, nos excuses " ( yes, our apologies ) We did look around and saw that most were being served like that so rather than make a fuss and be late for the band ( which we should have done ) and return the pizzas, we ate them but left the outside burnt bits - silly move ! My husband assembled the burnt bits at the end of the meal and actually made one whole pizza out of them so when we'd finished, we called the waiter over and said we'd ordered 2 pizzas but had in fact only been able to eat one as the rest was burnt ( see photo ! ) He tried to take the plates but my husband asked to speak to the manager, The woman returned and we explained again why we were not happy. She took the plates without a word and left us. We asked for the bill and she grunted " a la caisse" ( at the till ). We again asked for the bill and were eventually brought it. We pointed out very politely that we had only had in effect one pizza so could they reduce the bill. At this point an incredibly rude man came out shouting at us and said all the pizzas were cooked like that as if they weren't burnt, they were not cooked properly ! We couldn't believe it and tried to politely reason with him but he just shouted over us and became more and more loud and angry. Outside, people were now being served with non burnt pizzas so were they uncooked ??? We should have paid for just the one but as we didn't know what our position would be, we were bullied into paying for the lot, inedible though it was. Terrible food and outrageously bad customer service. We really felt ripped off and bullied. DO NOT EAT AT THIS RESTAURANT UNLESS YOU LIKE BURNT FOOD AND RUDENESS !!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank FranceMilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck T, Gérant at L'etna, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014
Google Translation

Rappelez-vous !!!!!
Vous vouliez commander 2 pizzas pour 4, ce que nous avions refusé (faute de places assises) et qui vous a contrarié en premier lieu.
Vous avez insisté pour être encaissé à table alors que les encaissements se font au comptoir.
Vous avez prétexté que nos pizzas étaient complètement brulées pour vous en faire rembourser une sur les deux......alors que lorsque nous avons rassemblé, entre eux, les morceaux laissés dans votre assiette, il s'agissait du tour de pâte des 2 pizzas commandées, la garniture ayant trouvée grâce à vos yeux et vos ventres puisqu'il n'en restait pas trace !?
Nous vous avons montré comment sortaient les pizzas du four après un passage à 270° pendant 1 minute.........mais rien n'y a fait.
Nous vous avons expliqué qu'il ne nous était pas possible de servir une pizza à la pâte totalement blanche sans risquer d'avoir la sauce et la garniture froides et non cuites...........mais là encore vous avez niez l'évidence.
Vous déclarez que nous avons été grossiers avec vous mais vous oubliez de préciser que vous aviez tenté de fuir sans payer avant que nous ne vous rattrapions in-extremis !
SHOCKING !!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 541 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

Went today ( Tuesday in August) and very busy. Food was good, pizzas and salads, but the service was very slow and they lost our order for a childrens portion and then again for ice creams for the children. So it took 2 hours 30 minutes to have a pizza meal with no starters and no desserts except for the children's ice creams. Won't go back again. Not recommended on busy days.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank UKMandA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Been coming to this pizzeria for a number of years. Last year ownership changed ( would have been 4-5 star before only let down by being too busy at times), all waiting staff seem too have jumped ship ( most are now at restaurant opposite. Prices have increased and pizzas are not as good as before. Restaurant much less busy - people voting with their feet?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank asterix_et_oblelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I had the set 3 course meal for 22euros: goats cheese salad, steak and lovely chips followed by ice cream. Huge portions and lovely quality. Would highly recommend the Jurancon wine and my daughter said the Duck in the honey sauce was the best meal she had ever eaten!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SUZANNE N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We went there on St Valentine's night without a reservation and were happily invited in. All other restaurants had increased their prices dramatically as it was St Val's - not L'Etna. They were very busy and yet we got served quickly. Daughter enjoyed her Spaghetti Bolognese, hubby and I both had a massive steak and chips (ffrites) and a coke and a jug of house red (75cl of very nice wine) cost 30 euros. We asked for the steak to be Medium but was a bit red. Maybe best to ask for well done next time! Massive servings. Very attentive staff. Near the Chateau of Henry IV. Has an upstairs so worth checking if they have spaces even if it looks full. We will return

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'etna also viewed

Pau, Communaute d'Agglomeration Pau-Pyrenees
Pau, Communaute d'Agglomeration Pau-Pyrenees
 
Pau, Communaute d'Agglomeration Pau-Pyrenees
Pau, Communaute d'Agglomeration Pau-Pyrenees
 
Pau, Communaute d'Agglomeration Pau-Pyrenees
Pau, Communaute d'Agglomeration Pau-Pyrenees
 

Been to L'etna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing