We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcoming, home-like base for exploring Pau and the Pyrenees”
Review of Hotel Montilleul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Montilleul
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Pau
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We cannot say enough positive things about this delightful hotel--more like a B&B--just 20 minutes' walking time from the historic section of Pau. Gabriel and Marie-Paule (plus Sam, their dog) made us feel right at home with conversation, good advice on transportation and sightseeing, and down-home friendliness. The hotel is on the busline to the historic area, so walking is not necessary, and there is also good-sized parking lot at the hotel if you have a car. The hotel rooms are simple and small, but adequate, and are well cared-for. There is free wi-fi, though ours was a bit spotty in the room. However, our hosts allowed us to sit in the breakfast room or small salon, where all worked fine. Breakfast was delicious, with a variety of items: the standard croissants and pains au chocolat, but also local cheese, yogurt, cereal, and fruit, plus two kinds of juice and of course hot-drink options.

Marie-Paule and Gabriel do all the work, from preparing and serving breakfast to cleaning the 20+ rooms. But they always have time for a talk (in French, German, or English) and advice.

The hotel is very convenient for getting out into the countryside or the mountains to the south (which you can see from the city on a clear day. All in all, a lovely and very affordable place to stay. My only recommendation would be that the rooms be equipped with small fans for hot weather--which we experienced (and which might be unusual).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maryland_Mike55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 68 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

Excellent lodgings, with a warm welcome by the genial owners, who were glad to help us with driving directions to our sightseeing destinations around Pau. (They also speak English and German.) The hotel is in a 100-year old villa in a residential area a mile out from the historic district. We stayed three nights in Chambre 16 with a view of big old trees. At dinnertime we drove down to the big free parking at the Place de Verdun and walked a few blocks to restaurants in the historic district.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatonsvilleGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is a clean, cozy bed and breakfast situated in Pau, a tiny historic city in the heart of Pyre´nee´s-Atlantiques, on the banks of Gave de Pau a tributary of the River Ardour. It is walking distance from the University of Pau as well.
The bed and breakfast is run by a wonderful couple, communicating with us in spite of our rather rudimentary French giving us a lots of information about the place and ways to get around, including lending us their detailed road maps, tips and warnings about weather, tour de France, other issues, in short treating us like family. The rooms are clean and functional including a good wi-fi; there’s free parking space in the front as well. We grew fond of this place and Monsieur et Madame, and will recommend to anyone who wishes to go to this part of the world.
A little bit about Pau: Pau is about an hour to a couple of hours drive from Lourdes, Gascon, Toulouse and the Parc National Des Pyrenees. A gorgeous medieval castle called Chateau de Pau where King Henry IV was born in 1553 is walking distance (20-30 min) from Hotel Montilleul. There are some really wonderful restaurants near this area as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pow J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for just one night on our way to Bordeaux. The hotel was in a good location, about a 20 minute walk from the main town of Pau. There was plenty of parking and the owner was very helpful. The room was quite small and basic but extremely clean and as we were only staying one night, it did not matter. The bed was comfortable. I would describe the hotel as quite quaint and rustic.

The only negative was that our en-suite did not have a door between it and the bedroom but a curtain to separate the two rooms, which was not as private as we would have wished!

Breakfast was typically French - croissants, jam, bread, cheese and ham and you got offered a choice of tea or coffee.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if all the rooms were the same but try and get the one without the curtain separati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AM7772013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst visiting the Pyrenees.
We were made to feel very welcome from the start. We had terrible weather and Gabriel was very eager to suggest what we might do instead of walking in the mountains.
The room was clean and quiet with a very reasonably priced breakfast. The free parking was a great help.
We drove into the centre of Pau on two evenings as the 20 minute walk in the rain was not appealing and found it easy to park at no cost.
We found that Pau is a very good base for visiting the Pyrenees and there are plenty of restaurants to choose from in the evening.
The owners really seem to care about their guests and take a pride in their hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zen123102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

A great family-run hotel! Very nice owners and a big friendly dog too! The gentleman who owns/runs it can speak a little English and is very helpful. The hotel is quaint, clean and quiet. It is a great value for the money. Breakfast is optional, costs about 8 Euros extra, and well worth it. The hotel is about 20 minutes walk from the beautiful Chateau de Pau and there are many restaurants around that area. If you are arriving to Pau by train, you can hire a taxi to take you to the hotel for about 10 Euros, or you can take the p5 or t3 bus for 1 Euro, the bus stop is across the street from the train station and stops almost right in front of the hotel. You could walk to he hotel, but it's all uphill.

The location is best for those with their own transport or for those who are comfortable walking or taking the bus to/from restaurants and the train station.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adventurista_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had a very pleasant one night stop at the Hotel Montilleul which is about 15 minute walk from the town centre. There is free parking on the hotel property. The room we had was a good size - they obviously vary as one would expect in an old building - with a large bathroom. It was comfortable and the free internet access was excellent.

The hotel is run by a very friendly couple who speak English well and were very understanding of our attempts to use the little French we have. Breakfast was good with the usual range of pastries, bread, cheese and jams.

We were given helpful instructions on how to find the town and where we might find nice restaurants. As a result we found a very pleasant restaurant in the commercial centre.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelalot2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pau hotels
1.1 mi away
A l'Hotel
A l'Hotel
#11 of 32 in Pau
82 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Altica Pau
Hotel Altica Pau
#5 of 32 in Pau
124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Postillon
Hotel Le Postillon
#30 of 32 in Pau
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Appart'hotel Victoria Garden Pau
1.0 mi away
Hotel Bosquet
Hotel Bosquet
#9 of 32 in Pau
110 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Quick Palace
Hotel Quick Palace
#19 of 32 in Pau
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montilleul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montilleul

Address: 47 avenue Jean Mermoz, 64000 Pau, Communaute d'Agglomeration Pau-Pyrenees, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Bearn-Basque Country > Communaute d'Agglomeration Pau-Pyrenees > Pau
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Pau
Price Range: $48 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Montilleul 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Montilleul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing