We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the Crisp Rösti Potatoes-meal here”

Hotel-Restaurant Stechelberg
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Try the Crisp Rösti Potatoes-meal here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Lovely and authentic restaurant at the last bus stop in the Lauterbrunnen valley. The best place to enjoy crisp Rösti. Try it with ham or eggs. Friendly atmosphere, locals also love this place. Reasonable prices. Nice hiking posibilities from Stechelberg before the meal, for instance pretty steep up to Oberberg

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cecilie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    26
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A good restaurant in a very special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We reached this restaurant after a short hike from Lauterbrunnen. The hike is beautiful but the end of this valley (Lauterbrunnen) is the most rewarding bit. Right there stands this restaurant. The weather was perfect so we sat outside in the patio. Food is great, service very friendly. What else can you ask for ?

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nano2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good value food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

I have not stayed here but had two meals there last week when camping at Camping Rutti (stay there if camping, one of the best campsites I have been to in the Alps). The food at lunch times is your average hotel food but service is great and friendly (even when I sat for 3 hours waiting for my boyfriend to get back from scaling the Schilthorn).

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kv_wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

This was the perfect pit stop after emerging from an all day hike in the mountains. Lovely patio and very friendly service.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank KaraRoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A very special place to stay and eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

I am a returning visitor having stayed here on my own during a stunning walking holiday, once with the whole family (8 of us!) and once just with my wife. The Hotel is situated at the very end of one of the worlds most be beautiful valleys with views to match. You have to make the effort to get here as the hotel is at the end of the road, but this should not put you off. By car it is easy, there is a local good bus service and you can arrive by train from Interlaken up a winding mountain railway that in its self is worth the trip. It deposits you in Lauterbrunnen, one village away where you can then change to the bus for the last couple of miles. The hotel sits at the end guarding the gateway to a hidden national park that extends (if you make the effort) up through valleys of cold rushing steams, climbing up through beautiful forests, rising above to upper plateau's of green before becoming rocky and mountainous. At its end (some 4 hours walking) you reach the ice and snow line with views for miles out over the mountains! It is worth ever last sore foot and exhausted lungs. I know this review is about the hotel/restaurant but putting it in context is important in understanding its charm. The Hotel is for those who enjoy the outdoors and look for good hearty meals and local beer and wine (all good) served by a friendly local staff. The Hotel is run by The family Otto And Marianne Gertscha who's family have been here for generations. They are very experienced hosts, taking an interest in all guests needs. The hotel building houses some comfortable rooms and across the small road from the main building is a chalet with additional rooms. I would describe the rooms as simple but comfortable. This is not a five star type of hotel with swimming pools and lounges with panoramic double glazed windows - that can be found down the valley in the Interlaken with the tourists! This hotel is about its location, the surroundings, the atmosphere, the quiet way of life. We have stayed in most of the rooms and they all have a different charm. The catering is provided by the hotel restaurant which is spacious with a view down the valley or you can eat in the wooden tabled bar which is lovely and often full of interesting locals sipping beer and playing dominoes. When the weather is good you can eat outside under the trees or on the terrace. The food is good. You can choose to eat from early in the morning through to late at night and the choice is varied, catering for all tastes and my vegetarian wife. All the food is fresh and well cooked. This again reflects where you are - if you want pretty food then stay in Interlaken! Having said that, the presentation and service is second to none and you can tell that the chef (Herr Otto Gertscha) knows a bit about cooking! His wife is a natural host and will look after you well. She speaks very good english, so for those worrying about how to ask for certain things she is able to help. I will continue to revisit this gem and have suggested it to friends and others over the years who have all returned saying it to be one of the most beautiful and restful places they have ever stayed. Some have camped in the local little campsite and used the hotel for all their food and drinking. If you love the outdoors and want somewhere REAL to stay then this is the place. I feel sort of home-sick for it, even now while sitting here in the UK writing this!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AKDDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel-Restaurant Stechelberg also viewed

Stechelberg, Jungfrau Region
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
 
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
Gimmelwald, Bernese Oberland
 

Been to Hotel-Restaurant Stechelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing