We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Trip! Outrageous views and overnight experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stechelberg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Berggasthaus Obersteinberg
Certificate of Excellence
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
178 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip! Outrageous views and overnight experience”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Definitely worth the hiking effort to come and stay here. It can be done in a long day-trip back and forth from Murren or Gimmelwald, but you'd miss out on the full experience of this lovely berghaus. Much has been written about this online and I read it all before we came here. It is most definitely true.

We came by way of Tanzbodeli (great hike by itself--see TA reviews) and then back down to Stechelberg via the valley--there are actually several trails up/down. But all of them include a 2000 foot climb to get to Obersteinberg.

We got here in time for Happy Hour in the sun on the 2nd to last weekend they were open for the 2013 season. We sat on the cliff just drinking in the enormous views as well as our bier. It was very popular with over 50 people staying there that night. They do now have some electricity--but only for the kitchen area. You still dine by candlelight for dinner and ambient light for breakfast. But no electricity in the rooms--there is a small dim light in the bathrooms. Bring your flashlight or head light for use at night.

You get a huge down comforter which really does keep you very warm at night. We highly recommend upgrading to a private room---they all have views directly out to the mountains, which seem so very close here. And it does get chilly at night so bring your warm clothes.

Rooms were very clean with wonderful wood everywhere--see pics. You have a shared bath room (toilet only, no shower) on each floor. You leave your dirty boots at the door when you go in, so slippers are suggested--but they do have some you can use also.

Food was very fresh with many ingredients right from the dairy farm--cheese, milk, butter, yogurt, veggies, herbs, etc. For dinner we were presented a soup, huge salad and stroganoff with egg noodles. You could have as much as you wanted---they kept asking of we wanted more. Wine is available for purchase by the bottle of half-bottle. Breakfast continued with traditional Swiss breakfast of Muesli, milk, yogurt, cheeses and sliced meats and breads. Hot chocolate (our favorite thing across Switzerland) was also available if you asked, as well as coffee/tea. You'll probably share a table with another couple or two, but they do their best to spread everyone out....just depends how many are there the same night you are.

We were the only English-speaking couple this night. The main host had enough English to get by---the main English-speaking daughter was away this night to the Cheese competition in Stechelberg.

In summary, you really need to see this place--way out in the middle of the mountains. Stay overnight if you can for the full experience. Enjoy the hike there and back as well---it's all part of the fun.

Due the publicity, Obersteinberg is very popular so be sure you have a reservation (phone only) and confirm it. The other option close by is Berghaus Tschingelhorn. We might check that one out next time.

Room Tip: Spend a bit more for the private rooms over the dorm rooms. Private rooms all face directly at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vgroten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    7
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
582 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

While it was cold and wet out, the Obersteinberg made up for it in its hospitality, quaintness and genuine Swiss charm. Loved coming off our hike and finding our hotel in the most lovely setting possible. To see it settled in with the the magnificent mountain range in 360 degree view was amazing. Hotel staff was very accommodating and did not question how we hung our clothes up to dry and air out. Dinner and breakfast was lovely with the local fare served (ie. butter and cheese) while giving us the favor of the local Swiss food. We were treated to a tour of their cheese operation which was very cool indeed. Rooms had what you needed and while it was cold when we went to bed, the comforters kept you just right. The views.....priceless!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pglaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We highly recommend this hotel. We loved the warm atmosphere and the friendly owner and staff. The views were the most spectacular of our 10 days in Switzerland. And the food was phenomenal! Dinner and breakfast are included in the price of the stay, and it was a good value for all that we got. I had made a mistake in our reservation, but they were willing to accommodate us with our own room in the dormitory since the hotel rooms were booked. Even the dormitory was relatively comfortable and did not detract from our visit. The hike from Gimmelwald was steep but beautiful, and the hike the next day up to Oberhornsee and then around and down to Stechelberg was gorgeous. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night in July 2012. It was our first hike in the Bernese Oberland, we had no idea what to expect...and we loved it! This is a lovely quaint place which indeed feels like travelling back in time 100 years ago. We travelled from Geneva, so we took the "short" but steep direct hike up to this place - the views are spectacular! We arrived quite "early" around 4:30 pm and checked into our room. We had booked a private room (we did not see the dormitories, so we can only speak for the private room), which was lovely with an amazing view on the waterfall (see picture). The room is very basic with washstand pitchers, but well-sized. Don't expect any luxury though - there are no showers, two toilets to share between the private rooms, and it can get quite chilly even in July, so bring some warm clothes for the night. However, to us it was a truly memorable and romantic experience, candlelight and all :-). We paid CHF 80 per person per night, including a 3 course dinner (very rich after a long hike), which consisted of a delicious asparagus soup, some Rosti and "Geschnetzeltes" and Merengue for dessert. The waitress was lovely and my husband even got an extra serving :-). The breakfast is very basic (bread and jam), but good enough :-). This is a price that is hard to beat - I am saying this because we just returned from one night's stay at another "Berggasthaus" - Faulhorn - where we paid CHF 80 for a worse accommodation and were charged CHF 26 each for dinner and a horrendous price for a bottle of still water (CHF 13 each!!) - so this stay really made us appreciate even more the hospitality of the Obersteinberg :-)).

The following day we continued on to the Oberhornsee and took the more difficult (red and white path) back into the valley - this is a great walk, where we crossed a couple of waterfalls, which we had seen on our way up the previous day. The views were spectacular - at some point we had a view over the entire valley with I don't know hoy many waterfallls - it reminded me of the movie "the land before time", when the little dinosaurs eventually reach the promised valley :-)).

We will definitely be back ^_^

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Caro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The climb up to the Obersteinberg Hotel may be steep and tiring - but worth every effort. We spent two days there and did not get tired to look at the panorama of the snow covered mountains right in front of us - we even saw the Jungfrau from our bed thru the window. From Breithorn to the Jungfrau you see them all. Accommodation is very clean and homely. There is a jug and bowl in the room so you can wash up. Food was excellent throughout the two days. I also enjoyed the freshly baked fruit tart with a Kafi-Schnaps in the afternoon. Due to the lack of shower, we recommend a maximum of two nights. There is a lavabo in the toilet, but the water was truly ice cold- must have come straight from the glaciers! The beds are super comfy and warm. Bring a pair of hotel sleepers as you are not allowed to go up into the hotel with your mountain shoes. There are three different ways up to the hotel (all equally steep and tiring sorry) but you can have a different way up and down the mountain. Highly recommend a visit to this hotel. You will not regret and never forget.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kuede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed one night at Obersteinberg during a multi-day inn-to-inn hiking trip. Obersteinberg is well worth the effort required to reach it. Besides being a working farm, with cows, pigs and a donkey, it’s also an inn and restaurant. The rooms in the guesthouse offer comfy beds with massive eiderdowns in either a few private rooms or in the bigger bunkroom. Every window has a view out on the valley and the mountains across the way. You also get a great view of famous Schmadribach Falls, one of more than 70 waterfalls in the Lauterbrunnen Valley.
Visitors can sit and relax, take in the view, explore the farm, or head out to explore a few nearby trails. One popular option is to hike over to Oberhornsee, a little mountain lake about an hour past the farm.
If you opt to relax, you may want to bring a book. There’s no electricity at Obersteinberg for television or radio and just enough running water for a communal sink and toilet in the pine-paneled guesthouse. Though with majestic mountain peaks rising all around, and the active farm behind you, you may find it hard to keep your eyes on the page. I found myself sitting on a bench staring across the valley despite a light misting rain, and was delighted to see a rainbow form as the sun broke through the clouds. We were also thrilled to get a visit from a small herd of ibex, mountain sheep with huge curving horns.
One of the biggest advantages of staying on a farm is the fresh food. We watched in the evening as Hans and Vicki called in the cows. Some time later, Hans walked from the stone barn to the house carrying a deep pail: fresh milk for our dinner of fresh-baked bread and homemade rouladen and spatzli. In addition to cheese, the farm makes its own cream and butter, all delicious.
With fresh air, fresh food and fantastic views, Obersteinberg offers visitors a true taste of Switzerland.
Because there are no roads or trains to Obersteinberg, there’s also no baggage transport. You’ll need to carry up your gear with you. Be sure to bring a hat and gloves and a warm sweater – at such high elevation, Obersteinberg can get chilly, even in the summer. A headlamp or flashlight is also helpful, as the inn has no electricity. Candles are provided.
A warning: the trail between the inn and Gimmelwald or Murren has a steep drop-off and may not be appropriate for all hikers or in all weather.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott48572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
2 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Our family of 5 enjoyed a one night stay at this wonderful rustic lodge during our summer trip to Europe. Our rooms were clean and nice. The staff were very helpful, kind and considerate. The food was wonderful! The scenery was amazing. A highlight of our trip. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTayl0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stechelberg
0.0 mi away
Stechelberg
Stechelberg
#1 of 1 in Stechelberg
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
556 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#6 of 11 in Murren
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#7 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
777 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berggasthaus Obersteinberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berggasthaus Obersteinberg

Property: Berggasthaus Obersteinberg
Address: Geschwister von Allmen, Stechelberg 3824, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Stechelberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Stechelberg
Number of rooms: 28

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing