We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of a Swiss adventure”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stechelberg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Berggasthaus Obersteinberg
Certificate of Excellence
Schenectady, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Highlight of a Swiss adventure”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed one night at Obersteinberg during a multi-day inn-to-inn hiking trip. Obersteinberg is well worth the effort required to reach it. Besides being a working farm, with cows, pigs and a donkey, it’s also an inn and restaurant. The rooms in the guesthouse offer comfy beds with massive eiderdowns in either a few private rooms or in the bigger bunkroom. Every window has a view out on the valley and the mountains across the way. You also get a great view of famous Schmadribach Falls, one of more than 70 waterfalls in the Lauterbrunnen Valley.
Visitors can sit and relax, take in the view, explore the farm, or head out to explore a few nearby trails. One popular option is to hike over to Oberhornsee, a little mountain lake about an hour past the farm.
If you opt to relax, you may want to bring a book. There’s no electricity at Obersteinberg for television or radio and just enough running water for a communal sink and toilet in the pine-paneled guesthouse. Though with majestic mountain peaks rising all around, and the active farm behind you, you may find it hard to keep your eyes on the page. I found myself sitting on a bench staring across the valley despite a light misting rain, and was delighted to see a rainbow form as the sun broke through the clouds. We were also thrilled to get a visit from a small herd of ibex, mountain sheep with huge curving horns.
One of the biggest advantages of staying on a farm is the fresh food. We watched in the evening as Hans and Vicki called in the cows. Some time later, Hans walked from the stone barn to the house carrying a deep pail: fresh milk for our dinner of fresh-baked bread and homemade rouladen and spatzli. In addition to cheese, the farm makes its own cream and butter, all delicious.
With fresh air, fresh food and fantastic views, Obersteinberg offers visitors a true taste of Switzerland.
Because there are no roads or trains to Obersteinberg, there’s also no baggage transport. You’ll need to carry up your gear with you. Be sure to bring a hat and gloves and a warm sweater – at such high elevation, Obersteinberg can get chilly, even in the summer. A headlamp or flashlight is also helpful, as the inn has no electricity. Candles are provided.
A warning: the trail between the inn and Gimmelwald or Murren has a steep drop-off and may not be appropriate for all hikers or in all weather.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott48572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    7
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Utah
2 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Our family of 5 enjoyed a one night stay at this wonderful rustic lodge during our summer trip to Europe. Our rooms were clean and nice. The staff were very helpful, kind and considerate. The food was wonderful! The scenery was amazing. A highlight of our trip. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTayl0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at this hut one night as part of a week hiking trip in the Lauterbrunnen valley in Switzerland. My boyfriend and I had the trip organized by a company that booked this hut/guesthouse. This one night was to experience a hut to hut hiking trip. 




Transportation

 - The only way to get there is to hike! No cars or trains or buses! It is a steep 2 hour hike up straight from the last town before reaching it. But you are rewarded once you get there!

Room & Bathroom (photos included) - We stayed in the actual house. There is an annex to the guesthouse were there are other rooms. The room is simple and clean. There is no running water (no shower) or electricity which is part of the experience. For the rooms inside the house there is a shared toilet with running water to wash your hands and to drink from. If you have to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night it is best to bring a flashlight with you. They do provide candles for you in the room which you can take to the toilet with you if you do not have a flashlight. You are asked not to wear your hiking shoes in the rooms and they do provide slippers but I brought my own. All rooms in the guesthouse have a view of the mountains and since you are elevated the temperature does drop at night. The rooms get cold but the comforters for the beds keep you very warm.

Service - The host was very nice and they do speak English. There is no internet or fax or anything that confirms your reservation on paper. Since we booked through a company they called our reservation in. When we arrived after our long hike we were able to enjoy the seating area outside with some beers. There are small snacks as well as cigarettes for sale. Dinner is served exactly at 19:00 (7pm) which you know it is time by the bell. The dinner was a three course meal - we had soup, pasta with tomato sauce and pudding. All were delicious. I am vegetarian so they were able to arrange a tomato sauce with no meat for me. They were told ahead of time that I am vegetarian. In the morning we had a simple but delicious breakfast - break with butter and jam and cheese and coffee.

We enjoyed our experience. Since we are not part of the alpine club this was a great way to experience a hut to hut type of hike. One night worked well as we used the luggage transfer system at the train station (to our next location) and so we brought a day hiking backpack with us. Staying here completed our hiking holiday in Switzerland!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms inside the guesthouse and not in the annex for a more comfortable stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank EUEx-pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We hiked from Murren to Obersteinberg via Gimmelwald and Tanzbodeli. A challenging hike for sure, but the views at the inn are well worth the blood, sweat and tears (oh yes!) endured to get up there! The beds are plush with the huge down comforters, and the 3-course meal for dinner was over the top. We were a family of 4 with kids ages 9 & 10. This experience will rank as one of our most memorable family adventures ever. It was truly that great!

Room Tip: If you can get a private room, it is worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KaraRoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

This was exactly what we were hoping for! RUSTIC, but spotless! 15 of us for dinner, 5 French, 3 Americans, 1 Brit, 2 Aussies, 2 Canadians, 2 Germans. The food was simple, but good...very basic breakfast. 1 english speaking staff. Vicky at the dairy gave us a tour of the cheese making "hut"/barn. Sunset on the mountains/glaciers spectacular! Look out your bedroom window and see the glaciers and waterfalls. Access by foot only. 2 different routes, one easier, one harder

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Our stay at the Berggasthaus Obersteinberg was arranged for us as part of a self-guided hiking tour by Alpenwild. This was a wonderful destination for us, starting in Lauterbrunnen, vising the Trummelbach Falls, then hiking from there to Obersteinberg. The scenery is fantastic and the hiking trail is in great shape. The hotel itself is relatively rustic, with no electricity, just candle light for dinner. The food was excellent and plentiful. We had a private double (two beds), and had a great time talking with people and hiking in the area (up to Oberhornsee). Lots of cows and goats along the paths, with bells around their necks making clanking noises that you can hear well before you see them. It was rainy the day we went, but we thought it added to the moodiness and grandeur of the place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank namefunnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stechelberg
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
615 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#6 of 11 in Murren
352 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
576 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#11 of 11 in Murren
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berggasthaus Obersteinberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berggasthaus Obersteinberg

Property: Berggasthaus Obersteinberg
Address: Geschwister von Allmen, Stechelberg 3824, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Stechelberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Stechelberg
Number of rooms: 28

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing