We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveler rating
89
8
1
2
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
8
1
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hostsspacious roomhighly recommend a stayflowering plantsopen to the publicbook in advancelovely swimming poolvezere valleymikeantiquesfridgegardenvillagecavesfrancevoicecountryside
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 105 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2010

There is a quiet passion in Les Eyzies and Ferme De Tayac. We are still filled with it. Our host and hostess are 2 of the nicest and most gracious people, as well as the people who live and work in the little town of Les Eyzies. Neither Richard nor I speak any French, but we were overjoyed with the helpful kindness we were shown wherever we went within 30 miles and more. We rode on horseback thru prehistory w, Herbert, the handsome German who lives on his estate at the end of the lane. We visited 4 caves full of amazing prehistorical art. We visited markets nearby 3x and toured a couple of wonderful homes for sale and dipped in their beautiful pool.Yes-we could live in this place of timeless, serene beauty. We have tears of joy and will always be looking ahead for our return to Tayac! K & R Mitchell Annapolis MD USA We think of Suzanne & Mike every day! Thank you two!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KATHLEEN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

This was one of the best B&B's I have stayed in, usually preferring the anonymity of a hotel. Perfect location for exploring the Dordogne and Vezere valleys. Mike and Suzanne were excellent hosts, couldn't do enough for you, and I especially liked the room - bed was fantastic, best sleep I have had in years. The old monastery has been lovingly converted and you could easily spend your week lazing about in the gardens and by the pool. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vas-48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

We had an opportunity to visit this wonderful area and found that Ferme de Tayac was everything we wanted in a B & B and more.
The bedrooms are wonderfully decorated with plenty of room and comfortable. Each comes with their own separate bathrooms that are very nice.
The beautiful great room downstairs is full of gentle music and on cool days, a warm fire.
Outside there is a clever patio area with room for you and friends that you meet to visit with a bottle of wine and some local cheese and bread.
Breakfast is amazing and the coffee, well, it's probably the best coffee we ever had!
We had originally planned to stay only three nights, but ended up staying eight because it was so perfect.
Mike and Suzanne do an outstanding job of making your stay enjoyable. If you are anywhere near Sarlat in the Dordogne, you could not pick a better place to be.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthernTravelers89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

People may not know that the size of tour groups to caves and abri (rock shelters) in the Dordogne are very limited. Mike Lamars, innkeeper at Ferme de Tayac, offered to pick up our tickets in advance - a tremendous advantage for people who are serious about seeing these sites while they are still open to the public! Everything else about the Ferme de Tayac has been said by other reviewers: it exceeds expectations. You'll never want to leave!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

We love this place! Owners Mike and Suzanne renovated the buildings themselves, with the help of their son Paul, to create a welcoming B&B in the heart of this culturally rich area. A short walk from town, and even shorter walk from the train station, Ferme de Tayac offers easy access to town services while giving guests a quiet place to come home to every evening. Decorated with whimsy by Suzanne, the rooms are comfortable, clean, and nicely appointed. The main room -- large, airy, and softly lit -- was especially nice during our stay; it rained nearly every evening, so the fire that Mike kept burning in the wood stove welcomed us back from our day trips along the Vézère River valley. We were too early in the season to try the swimming pool, but the grounds around the hotel are very pretty, with some interesting ruins in the back garden, including an old bakehouse. Mike, Suzanne, and Paul were happy to recommend local sights, many of which weren't in our guidebook and were well worth visiting. If you like dogs, you'll love Lily, the resident English bulldog (if you don't, don't worry: Lily keeps to the family's private quarters). We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nomadshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews