We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect cottage and location with the best hosts...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Alison M
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage and location with the best hosts in the world!”
Reviewed October 12, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We visit every year because we love this cottage and the location so much, not to mention its lovely owners!

The cottage itself is well-appointed, comfortable and full of character. We only needed the two bedrooms but we rented three bedrooms this year just so that we had a bathroom upstairs and downstairs. The beds are really comfortable, with lovely bed linen. The kitchen has really everything you need, including a dishwasher. It’s set in a beautiful garden with fantastic views, and there is a lovely covered terrace where we spent a lot of our time. There is also a large and very clean swimming pool (with salt water so none of that horrid chlorine smell).

Tayac is a tranquil and peaceful hamlet on the edge of Les Eyzies, so it’s an easy walk to restaurants and shops, and there’s even a train station. You’re well-situated to see lots of the surrounding area too.

The owners are two of the loveliest people you could ever meet, really welcoming hosts, and so helpful. I had some French lessons with Chantal, who is just the best teacher, so kind and patient, and the lessons are tailored to the individual and lots of fun.

I really recommend this beautiful cottage, and we will definitely continue to visit every year! Thank you so much, Chantal and John.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DPX123
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay!”
Reviewed October 2, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We rate this Gite highly! It is wonderfully situated for visiting so many interesting places and is set in beautiful countryside on the edge of the village of Les Eyzies where there are excellent places to eat as well as interesting museums dealing with prehistory. The Vezere river runs past the village and is so beautiful having canoes/kayaks to rent. There's a small railway station too which is helpful for those without a car.
Your hosts, Chantal and John, are so welcoming and they couldn't do enough for us to make our stay such an enjoyable three weeks! The Gite is well appointed and spotlessly clean and is full of character. The on site swimming pool is fantastic and we swam in it everyday! The home made jams are delicious and the vegetables, being in season, we're so enjoyable! Should you wish to learn French, Chantal is qualified and will help in this area too, with great patience!
Thanks Chantal and John for such a wonderful holiday! David and Pam

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T
Burton-upon-Trent, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cozy romantic getaway in the south of France.”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Beautiful countryside views, a heated outdoor pool, quaint little town nearby with national historic museums and some nice restaurants. You couldn't my find a more relaxing getaway.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juliecoul...
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Outstanding Holiday”
Reviewed August 6, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This was an outstanding holiday.
The accommodation was clean and extremely comfortable. It was refreshing to have a comfortable good quality bed and bed linens.
Breakfast was always very tasty and fresh. The owner was so pleasant when we came to breakfast each day. It was a lovely way to start our day.
The location was perfect for exploring the many historical sites in the area. The owners were extremely helpful , advising us on which sites we could see and helping provide the information we needed.
It was the perfect spot to go for a country drive and visit the many quaint and historical villages in the area. We were able to also enjoy a quiet walk to the local village where there were many lovely cafes and restaurants, often with pretty views of the river.
At the end of the day , it was wonderful to enjoy a relaxing swim in the pool. The pool was quite large and always very clean, with comfortable sun loungers provided.
This was an extremely memorable holiday for us and we would highly recommend this place to stay. Serene, peaceful and great location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azjayhawk...
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Everything you need or want, and in a charming stone cottage.”
Reviewed June 29, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A central location for the Périgord Noir! In the quiet hamlet of Tayac, you are a ten-minute walk (past the 12c fortified church) into Les Eyzies, with its world-class museum, shops and restaurants. Two comfortable bedrooms in a quiet setting, with the covered porch overlooking a spectacular garden, you have walking paths which start outside the gate and lead to cliff-top overlooks of the Vezere River or over the old bridge and towards the Gorge d'Enfer and various archeological sites and a wonderful cavern. You are within a half-hour drive-time of most of the important Paleolithic caves, troglodytic villages, and medieval towns as well as a number of the 'Plus Beaux Villages de France' and numerous Michelin-rated restaurants and 11-12c Romanesque churches. We stayed for almost six weeks: it was our second visit to the area, and we were so busy we never turned on the flat-screen TV in the livingroom nor made full use of the fully-equipped kitchen. French lessons - and good ones, for any level - are available, as are cooking classes (really improves your restaurant French!). The hosts, Chantal and John, are knowledgeable, helpful and amazingly kind. We were there too early to enjoy the large pool, but it looked marvelous. We have recommended this place to all our travelling friends, as it could not be more perfect - I could live here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2017
Thank you for the great review. Your comments on the region are much appreciated. We are so pleased you enjoyed staying at Gite St Martin. It was a pleasure meeting you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue B
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay!”
Reviewed September 25, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This is our third visit to Les Eyzies and we would not stay anywhere else except at Gite St Martin. We stayed in the gite, although there is also bed-and-breakfast available in the main house. Chantal and John are wonderful hosts, and could not have done more to make our stay wonderful. The gite is fully equipped with everything you could possible need, including, this year, a dishwasher! There is a bathroom with shower downstairs and two comfortable double bedrooms upstairs. The main room downstairs has a gorgeous stone fireplace and there is also a cosy lounge with satellite TV. There is also Wifi. Outside is a covered area and a garden. There is also a pool. We were fortunate this year to receive fruit and vegetables straight from the garden! We cannot recommend Gite St Martin highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it!
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stocall
Melrose, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A place like home”
Reviewed September 14, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have stayed with Chantal and John on 2 occasions now and achieved 100% satisfaction on both occasions. Next year we return with my mother and father in law and the following year we will return , and on and on and on.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and tranquility
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2016
Thank you. We are really looking forward to seeing you again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing