We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful dinner in a perfect setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Les Glycines

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Les Glycines
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner in a perfect setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Staying in Les Eyzies for 6 nights and wanting to sample the best restaurants, we walked to this hotel to scope out the possibility of an evening meal. The young woman on the reception desk could not have been more helpful and is definitely a major asset to the hotel! We had a coffee on the terrace and a look at the menu before booking a table on the restaurant terrace for that evening. The setting is delightful, overlooking their private gardens. The food is exceptional, with ingredients coming from their own garden. My husband described his starter as "world class". Not cheap, but impecable setting, service and food.

Room Tip: Good idea to book, as this is a very popular restaurant with an extensive wine list
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Food_Lover186317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    88
    26
    17
    3
See reviews for
40
190
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent two nights here on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis. The hotel is charming, our room was characterful, had a large bed and nice bathroom. The gardens and pool are lovely, very quiet and relaxing. The two dinners we had were outstanding, a very high standard of cuisine. The price of the wine however is eye watering, especially considering that the hotel is in the middle of a wine producing area! We avoided the bottle of Margaux at €1800 and went for the cheapest bottle at €29! We were slightly disappointed that by booking DBB we were not offered the main menu, but a shorter menu with only one choice which didn't attract a supplement. The cost of the package was expensive to start with, supplements we feel we're uncalled for. Likewise, breakfast was a very nice continental but a supplement was asked for if we wanted cooked eggs.
We would recommend this hotel, the dinners were a real treat. With regard to the 'no picnicking in room' rule - who takes any notice of that especially with bar and wine prices like they are?!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cat063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merelbeke, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed in the hotel Les Glycines in Les Eyzies de Tayac in France during the first week of august.
The hotel is at the border of the center of Les Eyzies where it is a quit place to overnight and has a huge and beautifull garden.
At evening you can dinner on the terrace facing this garden. The kitchen is realy superb! The cook Eric Jung knows how to make excellent menus. It is the best hotel with excellent restaurant we had since years. The staff is also very friendly and helpfull.
If I have to make one minor remark than it concerns the pricy wines on the wine-card.
But a good meal needs a good wine...
I would defenitly recommend this nice hotel to all the people who likes a clean romantic hotel with a superb kitchen!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc-Martine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Run, don't walk away from this hotel! I booked 2 rooms at this hotel, one for my husband and me and the other for a friend. My husband became injured on the trip and had to fly home the day we arrived here. Upon arrival at the hotel, I explained my situation and asked if there was any way we could have just one room for 5 days instead of 2. Pascal Lombard, the manager, replied "What do you expect me to do about it" not I am sorry, not one bit of compassion or humanity only concern for the money. He also said he could do nothing about it as we had booked through Splendia. I called Splendia and warned them that he would be rude. They called me back and said that he was, in fact, rude as rude as he had been to us and refused to budge. We were stuck with 2 rooms for 5 days and that was it. I understand the hotel's position, but I hoped that Lombard would have been a decent enough person to say that he would TRY to rent the extra room and if not we would be responsible or at least offer to give us a discount or throw in breakfast. Instead of making any effort to help, he was just a nasty person. When we accepted our fate and unpacked, I went upstairs to ask for wine glasses and ice and I was told we could not have any unless we bought the wine from them! Additionally, when my friend went to ask for ice the next day, she was told we already got some. We felt like we were in prison rather than on a vacation. I booked this hotel based on a picture of the pool where I had hoped we could relax for a few days. Little did I know. Pascal Lombard and his equally unfriendly front desk woman could use some lessons in hotel hospitality.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by our room and the meal we chose to have at Les Glycines, what a peaceful, lovely setting you forget there is a whole bustling world around you. The food was incredible and the room comfortable, while it is not cheap it was worth the money and we would return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We approached Les Eyzies from the Northwest on D47 on a drive thru the Perigueux. By that time I was exhausted since we started out over 7 hours previously in Paris, so the first decent looking hotel was game – but I was holding out for a pool. We just dove right up to Les Glycines on a large turn a few hundred meters from the town. Upon entering, you get the impression – look past reception, dining room, and terrace unto the large garden with pool in the middle. It was off season, so they made us a 115 euro price for one of their cheapest rooms – in the annex next to the main house. I was in the pool within 10 minutes of check-in.

Our room was sufficient and we could sleep with the window open. We were shown large rooms overlooking the garden at around 200 euros. As dinner was 45 euros, but included fresh vegetables from the garden, we ate at the local bistro in town, a nice 10 minute walk. Upon returning in the evening, we found most of the terrace filled with diners. Breakfast was 15 euros with no one around, and so we opted for the bistro once again, and paid 5 euros.

We canvased the town pretty much in the evening and previewed many of the other hotels. Hotel de France looked interesting with best rooms at about 85; L'Hôtel des Falaises looked adequate with rooms from 45 euros.
Having lived in France for 8 years, and having traveled thru most of the country, I found this particular town of Les Eyzies, along with the Les Glycines, one of my best experiences. It would be hard to go wrong visiting.

Room Tip: Splurge on a suite overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed in this hotel a couple of weeks ago with my parents, celebrating our wedding anniversary and my mother’s birthday. Les Ezyies and the hotel itself are fabulous but sadly I can’t say the same of management. After a warm welcome from Madame I went to reception to ask if I could put a bottle of champagne and a little cake in my parents’ suite as a surprise, explaining that we were celebrating. Had Monsieur had the manners to mention at that time that the hotel’s policy did not allow drinks or food from other establishments on the premises there really would have been no problem. Sadly this was not the case and after an inexplicably rude and rather uncomfortable reception at dinner (we were dinner, bed and breakfast guests), the following evening we found a poorly written message, in English only, in both rooms, from reception saying that had we read the Welcome booklet we would be aware that they do not permit picnics in the rooms but could provide glasses, ice and peanuts for 5euros a glass?!?! Personally the first thing I do when I arrive at a hotel isn't to read a booklet and its rules… And so we realised our mistake and that this was the reason for the treatment received.
I would have expected a hotel of this category to have handled the situation entirely differently and it is a real shame that what should have been a memorable couple of days was tainted by such an uncomfortable experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PINBEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
0.4 mi away
Hostellerie du Passeur
Hostellerie du Passeur
#2 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
10.7 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
9.8 mi away
Le Vieux Logis
Le Vieux Logis
#1 of 1 in Tremolat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Cro-Magnon
Hotel Restaurant Le Cro-Magnon
#4 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.6 mi away
Moulin de la Beune
Moulin de la Beune
#3 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
9.0 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Glycines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Glycines

Property: Hotel Les Glycines
Address: 4 avenue de Laugerie, 24620 Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Les Glycines 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Les Glycines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Glycines Hotel
Hotel Les Glycines France/Les Eyzies-De-Tayac-Sireuil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing