We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but perhaps not for small kids”

Grotte du Grand Roc
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Have to say that once you have seen some caves and stalagmites/tites you think have seen them all.... but this was so much closer. The guide did only speak French but we are .... In France!!

We were given a guide to the tour and our 3yr old was amazed at the closeness we could get to the crystals and at 6ft2 I only bashed my head twice in the whole trip.

The staff at the cafe by the entrance were very pleasant too as was our refreshments.

Worth a visit but perhaps not with kids!

1  Thank DaveNelson_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semitour, Responsable relations clients at Grotte du Grand Roc, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for giving us your feelings about your visit. We hope to see you again in Dordogne with Les Grands Sites du Périgord !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 214 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

Seen one cave seen all. Tour was ok except guide did not even ask if everyone spoke French. Competent commentary. If you have seen other caves this ine was not that great.

Thank TeePodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semitour, Directeur général at Grotte du Grand Roc, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Your comments help us improve ourselves. It is true, cristallizations are all the same... at first sight. Le Grand Roc is exceptional because it shelters excentrics and a large diversity of other cristallizations in a small space.
Keep in touch with us on social networks or Les Grands Sites du Périgord.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Drove past on a scorching day and thought the place looked interesting so decided to stop. We went to pay and were told our 13 year old was counted as an adult. So 1st tip at the booking office say all your kids are 12 and younger, however it is a disgrace that kids over 12 are counted as adults?

In fairness our guide did speak in French and English and the tour lasted about 30 mins. Not sure young kids enjoy it. There was another part to the site which was outdoors but it was to hot to do that as well. Overall a nice place but bitter taste left in mouth by charging me adult price for a 13 year old. Oh and lots of steps up to the entrance to the cave.

1  Thank PaulMM1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semitour, Responsable relations clients at Grotte du Grand Roc, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for the time you took to leave your impressions after the visit.
Keep in touch with Le Grand Roc on social networks and on semitour dot com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Whilst this is obviously a geological wonder and therefore worth seeing you have to go in groups and at the start the guide asks all the French people to go to the front. You are then taken into the cave in a single line, because it is very very narrow. At that point you realise you are only going to be spoken to in French, which is fine if you know in advance but not once you are inside. As it happened a couple of our group spoke reasonable French so it would have been nice if Frenck speakers rather than just French people were given an equal opportunity to hear what the guide was saying. The blatant favouritism, at a time when there willl be less tourism money in the local economy, took the edge off what was otherwise an interesting visit.

1  Thank BigMac58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semitour, Directeur général at Grotte du Grand Roc, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Thanks for this comment which is really important to ameliorate our services. We are sorry for the inconvenience. We usually distribute brochures in english to provide you a interesting visit. We wish you a pleasant stay in Dordogne, we hope to see you soon in Les Grands Sites du Périgord !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

It was fun and easy to do with kids. I would recommend this for anyone.

1  Thank scotch22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grotte du Grand Roc also viewed

Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil, Dordogne
Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil, Dordogne
 
Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil, Dordogne
Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil, Dordogne
 

Been to Grotte du Grand Roc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing