We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostellerie du Passeur
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Really enjoyed our stay here in this beautiful part of France. Hotel was very clean, staff were very friendly and the A/C worked well (when we had it on). Our room overlooked the restaurant and the square the market is held in on Friday nights and I enjoyed leaving the window open to listen to the sounds. We also had a view of the river off to our left.

We didn't have a problem finding the hotel, but you do have to watch for it as the sign isn't that big and it is kind of behind a public parking lot. Parking for the hotel is free but down a narrow roadway and along the river, basically behind the hotel. We were shown how to get there and the hotel sent someone down to help with our bags, much appreciated.

I can't comment on the food as we didn't eat there but the restaurant was full both nights we were there. We also had cappuccino in the afternoon on the patio which was nice and relaxing.

We really enjoyed the town and the surrounding area. We visited Sarlat and Audrix and had a good time in both. I would recommend this hotel and this area of France for some relaxation.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agoraphobic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 167 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2008

We've just stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed everything about the place. The hotel was easy to find and we were able to park right outside. It is very pretty being covered in ivy and sitting right beside the river. Dining outside in the evening was a real treat.

The rooms must have just been remodelled and ours was very clean and comfortable, although we did find the bed to be a little on the hard side. The bathroom was stunning and was very clean, bright, and modern. All the staff were very, and it was great that they didn't speak too much English as we had a great time practising our French with them.

The restaurant and service was excellent although it was a little on the expensive side. Having said that we ate there three of our four nights and felt that we'd had good value for money every time. The choice of dishes was wide and the presentation and quality of the food was superb and imaginative.

The town is fairly quiet in the evenings and there are a few other places to eat as well that all looked very nice. We will definitely be planning to return for a weekend stay at some point soon.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SLKmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2006

We booked this hotel from the Logis de France website. It was in the area we wished to visit in the Dordogne, and had vacancies when we wished to go!
The hotel is not easy to find, even though it is right in the centre of town. It lurks off the main road behind a public car park. Oh there is a car park? Well, yes, but you have to pay for that one. Otherwise you need to explore a narrow lane running alongside the river. This gives access to the rear of the hotel and, if you are lucky, you may be able to park there...
The hotel itself has rooms on the 1st to 3rd floors. But no lift...though a waiter did offer to carry our cases up to the top floor. The hotel looked a little tired, while our small room was reputedly decorated in a traditional way. We were situated in the roof and it was hot. It was very hot! There was an overhead fan, but this was no match for the 30-31C temperatures in the day.
There was a restaurant in the hotel, but we ate at the restaurant next door, that was less pricey. Breakfast was the usual Continental breakfast.
The town, and the area around was full of prehistoric caves, some of which now sported facades, giving the appearance of normal houses, but behind this is basically a hole in the cliff adapted for modern living. I bet their caves weren't nearly as hot as our bedroom!
A visit to the medieval town of Sarlat is a must if you are in this area, as too is La Roque Gageac, where you can take a boat trip or rent canoes. This is a beautiful part of France, with wooded valleys and rivers, but it's charm has made it somewhat busier than other parts of France.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Banupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Pierre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dominique V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank nat17420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank LADMYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Glycines
Hotel Les Glycines
#1 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moulin de la Beune
Moulin de la Beune
#4 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Cro-Magnon
Hotel Restaurant Le Cro-Magnon
#2 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Chateau de la Fleunie
Chateau de la Fleunie
#1 of 1 in Condat-sur-Vezere
222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Du Centenaire
Hotel Du Centenaire
#6 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Roches
Hotel des Roches
#5 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie du Passeur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie du Passeur

Address: Place de la Mairie, 24620 Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil, France (Formerly Hotel du Centre)
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
Price Range: $87 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie du Passeur 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostellerie du Passeur sits on the banks of the Vezere river in the famous perigourdine village of Les Eyzies de Tayac, covered in Virginia creeper is an ancient Bourgeois residence that sits opposite the ferryman’s house where once it was possible to get a passage across the Vezere river.The Hotel greets you to an intimate universe of refined comfort and authenticity ; ideal qualities tht make it an ideal place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostellerie du Passeur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Du Passeur France/Les Eyzies-De-Tayac-Sireuil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing