We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, interesting staff, room modest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostellerie du Passeur
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This place is located on the city square with a lovely terrace near the river. The room was a bit small and the bed a slightly lumpy double. Decor and style lovely and meals OK. The hotel itself is obviously a classic old building , nicely decorated.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrePX1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Hostellerie du Passeur
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 164 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2014

The staff was very outgoing and congenial and led me to my room before 11:30 am the day I arrived. The hotel is in the middle of the small town of Les Eyzies and roughly 15 minutes' walk to the train station or 20 minutes' walk to the entrance of Font du Gaume. Lots of patisseries and coffee shops are very nearby as well. A large grocery is a 10 minute walk in the direction of Font du Gaume. (The one in town had bad oranges.)

The room was a typical size for European hotel, ie, smaller than American rooms, but well arranged. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean and modern, and the decor was bright and colorful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoe17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This corner of France is absolutely enchanting. I found this hotel on Trip Advisor and fussed about where to stay since I was traveling solo. I always try to double check my travel dates, however messed up this time. I arrived a day later than my reservation. The wonderful hotel manager did not charge me for my mistake. Great locale. Museum is steps away, just across the street. Font Gaume is also an easy walk. I was very impressed with breakfast. Not your usual baguette and preserves. Oh yes, a lovely dinner featured foie gras, of course.
Don't hesitate to stay here. The only negative would be the lack of air conditioning, which was not a problem for me.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FRISBEES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Here you are in the centre of Les Eyzies, a real tourist trap. So I did not believe that a genuine, family-run business could exist and would be offering good value for money. I was wrong. We went there for lunch in between visiting Font de Gaume and Les Combarelles. The food was excellent. When we told the staff that we had very little time for lunch as we had to be at Les Combarelles for 14.00, they pulled out all the stops and gave us priority even though they had a full house in the restaurant.

We made it to Les Combarelles with plenty of time. Afterwards I made a point of thanking the staff at the ticket office (for Les Combarelles and Font de Gaume) as they had given me the recommendation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AtelierdeLaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Friendly and helpful staff.
Good location next to the river and museum.
Room was quite small and in need of redecoration / modernisation.
I fear the bed had either fleas or mites as I awoke very badly bitten in the morning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CHDB186274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This hotel was perfectly located to see the cave art and medieval cities of the Dordogne. Food and service were excellent and a feeling of the charm of France without the excessives costs. Would highlyrecommend

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smerser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

My husband and I have been touring various similarly priced hotels in the dordogne region. This hotel has been among the best. Room was bright, very clean, comparatively spacious, small but much appreciated bathtub. Extremely friendly and professional staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cleon1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Roches
Hotel des Roches
#5 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moulin de la Beune
Moulin de la Beune
#4 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Glycines
Hotel Les Glycines
#1 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Du Centenaire
Hotel Du Centenaire
#6 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Cro-Magnon
Hotel Restaurant Le Cro-Magnon
#2 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
102 reviews
14.9 mi away
Chateau de la Fleunie
Chateau de la Fleunie
#1 of 1 in Condat-sur-Vezere
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie du Passeur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie du Passeur

Address: Place de la Mairie, 24620 Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil, France (Formerly Hotel du Centre)
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
Price Range: $89 - $695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie du Passeur 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostellerie du Passeur sits on the banks of the Vezere river in the famous perigourdine village of Les Eyzies de Tayac, covered in Virginia creeper is an ancient Bourgeois residence that sits opposite the ferryman’s house where once it was possible to get a passage across the Vezere river.The Hotel greets you to an intimate universe of refined comfort and authenticity ; ideal qualities tht make it an ideal place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostellerie du Passeur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Du Passeur France/Les Eyzies-De-Tayac-Sireuil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing